Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Questioning Studies: Primary Sources

Library resources for researching LGBTQ issues and completing the final project for FEMST 162: Queer Theory.

ArchiveGrid

PRINT ARCHIVES

Need help determining the location of specific archival materials, or which institutions have what  primary sources? Use ArchiveGrid.

California Archives

  • AIDS History Project (UCSF) - in 1987 as a collaboration of historians, archivists, AIDS activists, and others collaborating to promote the preservation of historically significant resources relating to the beginning of the AIDS Epidemic in San Francisco, focusing on the responses by community-based organizations (CBOs) within the city, as well as activists' coalitions
  • GLBT Historical Society (San Francisco) - archives and manuscript collections consisting of letters, diaries, manuscripts, photographs, costumes, and other artifacts. These collections document the lives of both “average” people and community leaders. They also include the records of many community organizations, businesses, and political campaigns.
  • James C. Hormel Gay and Lesbian Center (San Francisco Public Library) collections documenting lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered history and culture, with a special emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area
  • ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives (Los Angeles) - international in scope, but the collection focus is on the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender history of Los Angeles; archives, subject files, audio visual materials; books, magazines and journals.

Other Notable Archives:

UCSB PRIMARY SOURCES


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies