Select LGBTQ Reference Books
Below are select LGBTQ reference books. All are located in the Ethnic and Gender Studies Collection Reference Area (2nd floor, Ocean Side). There are many others shelved near these, as like materials are shelved together in the library.
Before Stonewall by Call Number: EGS REF HQ76.5 .B43 2002 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1560231920Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780313348600Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Gay Histories and Cultures by Call Number: EGS REF HQ75.13 .G37 2000 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0815318804Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaCall Number: Access OnlineISBN: 0684312611Publication Date: 2003
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006 by Call Number: EGS REF HQ73 .G74 2007 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1587652633Publication Date: 2006
Gay and Lesbian Americans and Political Participation by Call Number: EGS REF HQ76.3.U5 S59 2002 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1576072568Publication Date: 2002
The Gay and Lesbian Atlas by Call Number: EGS REF HQ76.3.U5 G355 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0877667217Publication Date: 2004
Gay and Lesbian Issues by Call Number: EGS REF HQ76.25 .S748 2003 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1851093729Publication Date: 2003
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780684325576Publication Date: 2018
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian Liberation Movement by Call Number: EGS REF HQ76.5 .M94 2003 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0810845067Publication Date: 2003
LGBTQ Americans in the U. S. Political System: an Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1440852774Publication Date: 2019
LGBTQ America Today by Call Number: EGS REF HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780313339905Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Politics by Call Number: Main Library HQ1236 .O99 2013 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199751457Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Global LGBT and Sexual Diversity Politics by Call Number: Main Library HQ76.5 .O94 2020 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780190673741Publication Date: 2020
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780415522533Publication Date: 2014
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture by Call Number: EGS REF HQ76.96 .R68 2006 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0415306515Publication Date: 2006
Why Use Reference Books?
Use reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries etc.) to get an overview of topics you may be interested in researching. The more background information you have on a topic of interest, the more you will be able to think of promising research questions. The information in reference books tends to be factual or widely accepted information, rather than critical and or debatable information and ideas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- a collection of reference books
- something on most topics
- a good starting point
Related Interests
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Call Number: Access Online & EGS Reference HQ16 .E53 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780028661155Publication Date: 2007 (online) & 2004 (print)- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1412964512Publication Date: 2009
Sexuality and the Law by Call Number: EGS REF KF9325.A7 L46 1993 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 082403421XPublication Date: 1993
Men and Masculinities by Call Number: EGS REF HQ1090.3.M436 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1576077748Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Call Number: EGS REF HQ16 .E53 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 030647770XPublication Date: 2003
