Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Feminist Studies: Reference

This guide is designed for all researchers, beginning and advanced. It is a starting point for all aspects of women's, feminist, and gender studies research. FEMINIST STUDIES 182 and 280A students are especially encouraged to start here.

Why Use Reference Books?

Use reference books (encylopedias, handbooks, dictionaries etc.) to get an overview of topics you may be interested in researching. The more background information you have on a topic of interest, the more you will be able to think of promising research questions.  The information in reference books tends to be factual or widely accepted information, rather than critical and or debatable information and ideas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • a collection of reference books
  • something on most topics
  • a good starting point

Biographical Encyclopedias and Dictionaries in Print

Below are reference books arranged in alphabetical order by title. Other feminist studies reference books can be found in the Ethnic and Gender Studies Collection Reference Area (2nd floor, Ocean Side). There are many others shelved near these, as like materials are shelved together in the library.

Encyclopedias, Guides, & Handbooks

Below are select encyclopedias arranged in alphabetical order by title. Other feminist studies reference books can be found in the Ethnic and Gender Studies Collection Reference Area (2nd floor, Ocean Side). There are many others shelved near these, as like materials are shelved together in the library.


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies