Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Feminist Studies: Home

This guide is designed for all researchers, beginning and advanced. It is a starting point for all aspects of women's, feminist, and gender studies research. FEMINIST STUDIES 182 and 280A students are especially encouraged to start here.

UCSB Library Search is now UC Library Search

Wordmark for UC Library Search

UC Library Search is here! UC Library Search replaces UCSB Library Search and Melvyl, making it easier for you to discover items across the University of California System. 

See the latest news and more information on the:

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian!

Chat online with a Librarian

  • Open 24 hours a day,
  • 7 days a week.

Email a Librarian

  • Get help by email within 24 hours.

UCSB Library FAQs

  • A list of common library questions arranged by popularity, or search for your particular need.

COVID-19 Response

fm

Welcome to the library research guide for FEMINIST STUDIES. Use the tabs above to find both print and electronic resources pertaining to women's, feminist, and gender issues across the disciplines as well as techniques for conducting research.
 

This guide is also intended to be the best starting point for FEMINIST STUDIES 182: FEMINIST METHODOLOGIES, where students are trained in interdisciplinary feminist methodologies.

Don't waste too much time trying to figure things out on your own - PLEASE ASK FOR HELP.  Librarians are available 24/7 via chat to assist you.  You can also email or schedule an appointment to talk with us. 

Happy Researching!

Photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/doviende/ / CC BY-SA 2.0

From the Online Archive of California

Margarita

Title: Margarita

Creator/Contributor: Rodríguez, Favianna, Artist

Date: November 13-17, 2001

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Genesis (woman symbol)

Title: Genesis (woman symbol)

Creator/Contributor: López, Alma, Artist

Date: 1992

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Untitled

Title: Untitled

Creator/Contributor: Ramírez, Christopher, Artist

Date: 2001

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Rosie Series

Title: Rosie Series

Creator/Contributor: González, Yolanda, Artist

Date: July 2001

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

V.G. Got Her Green Card

Title: V.G. Got Her Green Card

Creator/Contributor: Martínez, Isabel, Artist

Date: February 8-15, 2001

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Women Know Your Strength

Title: Women Know Your Strength!

Creator/Contributor: González, Yolanda, Artist

Date: 1992-11-13

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Night Vision

Title: Night Vision

Creator/Contributor: Ancona Ha, Patricia, Artist

Date: ca. 1992

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Blue Venus

Title: Blue Venus

Creator/Contributor: Pérez, Elizabeth, Artist

Date: 2001

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Revelation Revolution

Title: Revelation Revolution

Creator/Contributor: Gamboa, Diane, Artist

Date: May 14-18, 2002

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Untitled

Title: Untitled

Creator/Contributor: Norte, Armando, Artist

Date: 1983

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Feeling the City

Title: Feeling The City

Creator/Contributor: López, Aydee, Artist

Date: 2000

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Rhony

Title: Rhony

Creator/Contributor: Villa, Esteban, Artist

Date: May 11, 2000

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Santa/Maguey

Title: Santa/Maguey

Creator/Contributor: Cárdenas, Cristina, Artist

Date: March 20-24, 2001

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

The Fruit of Discord

Title: The Fruit of Discord

Creator/Contributor: Pullini Brown, Ada, Artist

Date: 1995

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Be Love

Title: Be Love

Creator/Contributor: Flores, Lysa, Artist

Date: 2000

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

We the People

Title: We The People

Creator/Contributor: Espinosa, Carlota, Author

Date: 1988

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Big Girls Don't Cry

Title: Big Girls Don't Cry

Creator/Contributor: Rodríguez, Spain, Artist

Date: n.d.

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Songs of the Auvergne

Title: Songs of the Auvergne

Creator/Contributor: Fernández, Licita, Artist

Date: July 22, 1981?

Contributing Institution: UC Santa Barbara, Special Research Collections

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Heather Nisen
Contact:
UCSB Library
Reference Services Suite, 2nd floor Oceanside
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010

Pronouns: she/her/hers
hnisen@ucsb.edu
(805) 893-3026

Attribution

This guide was created by Heather Nisen and Sherri Barnes at the UCSB Library and licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies