Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHEM 184/284 (Chemical Literature) - Huber - Winter 2021: Home

A two-credit course in the techniques and tools for effective searching the literature of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related fields.

introduction

This is primarily the lecture notes for students taking CHEM 184/284 (Chemical literature), about which, see below.

Secondarily, it may be useful for anyone seeking information on the research strategies, the primary literature oc chemistry and related sciences, and the use of tools such as Reaxys, Web of Science, and SciFinder.

Library Award for Undergraduate Research

Enter your research for a chance to win $750!

The annual UCSB Library Award for Undergraduate Research (LAUR) recognizes students who produce a scholarly or creative work that makes expert and sophisticated use of the collections, resources, and services of the UCSB Library.

LAUR logo

Chem 184/284 - Chemical Literature

Chemistry 184/284 is a two-credit course in the techniques and tools for effectively searching the literature of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related fields. Students will be introduced to how information is organized in the chemical sciences, including data collections such as Reaxys and indexes to the literature such as SciFinder, as well as the different types of primary literature and other resources useful to the chemical researcher.

Undergraduates should register in Chem 184; graduate students in Chem 284.  The course is taught each Winter Quarter, and meets twice weekly from 2:00-3:15pm on Tuesdays nd Thursdays. We will be meeting synchronously via Zoom. The Zoom meeting link will be available on the course's GauchoSpace page.

Syllabus - Winter 2021

This is the definitive syllabus for the quarter, and may be updated or changed as necessity requires. Lecture quizzes are to be completed and turned in by the following lecture. Quizzes should be answered in GauchoSpace

Monday, January 4, 2021 -Winter Quarter begins

Tuesday, January 5 - Lecture 1: Overview of the Organization of Information

Thursday, January 7 - Lecture 2: Techniques of the Efficient Information Searcher

Friday, January 8 - Last day to drop courses without a fee.  Last day to add courses without an approval code.

Tuesday, January 12 - Lecture 3: Part I: Library Catalogs vs. Article Databases vs. Search Engines; Part II: Finding Books in the Library: Call Numbers, and the UCSB Library Search and Melvyl Catalogs.

Thursday, January 14 - Lecture 4: Data Collections, Part I 

Friday, January 15 - Last day to add courses or change grading options without a fee.

Monday, January 18 - Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday

Tuesday, January 19 - Lecture 5: Data Collections, Part II: Beilstein + Gmelin = Reaxys

Mid-Term 1 Given Out Today.  Due: Tuesday, February 2!

Thursday, January 21 - Lecture 6: Primary Literature, Part I: Journals, Copyright, Open Access, Repositories, Preprints

Monday, January 25 - Last day to add classes.

Tuesday, January 26 - Lecture 7: Primary Literature, Part II: Conference Papers, Patents, Technical Reports, Dissertations nd Databases for Science and Engineering

Brief description of term project topics due by Thursday, Jan. 28!

Thursday, January 28 - Lecture 8: Indexes and Databases for Science and Engineering

Brief term project descriptions due TODAY!

Monday, February 1 - Last day for undergraduates in Letters & Science or Engineering to drop classes.

Tuesday, February 2 - Lecture 9: Citations Part I- Searching Them, Web of Science, Part II - Creating and Managing Them, EndNote Web, Part III - Evaluating2with Citations, Impact Factors and Journal Citation Reports

Mid-term Exam 1: DUE TODAY!!

Thursday, February 4 - Lecture 10: Chemical Abstracts Service and the Legacy of Print

Tuesday, February 9 - Lecture 11: SciFinder,/SciFinder-n Part 1 - Introduction and Exploring References by Author

Thursday, February 11 - Lecture 12: SciFinder,/SciFinder-n Part 2 - Exploring References by Research Topic 

Monday, February 15 - Presidents' Day. holiday

Tuesday, February 16 - Lecture 13: SciFinder/SciFinder-n, Part 3 - Exploring Substances: Substance Displays, Name Searching, Molecular Formula Searching and Property Searching, Biosequence Searching

Thursday, February 18 - Lecture 14: SciFinder/SciFinder-n, Part 4 - Exploring Substances by Structure Searching

Tuesday, February 23 - Lecture 15: SciFinder,/SciFinder-n Part 5 - Exploring Organic Reactions; SciPlanner

Mid-term Exam 2 given out today; due Tyeday, March 9

Thursday, February 25 - Lecture 16: The New Web and Mobile Science 

Friday, February 26 - Last day for undergraduates in LAS or Engineering to change grading options.

Tuesday, March 2 - Lecture 17: Altmetrics

Course Evaluation as ESCI. Ends Friday, Mar. 13

Thursday, March 4 - IN-CLASS PRESENTATION of FINAL PROJECTS  

          Mid-term Exam 2 DUE TODAY!!

Tuesday, March 9 - IN-CLASS PRESENTATION of FINAL PROJECTS

Thursday - March 11 - IN-CLASS PRESENTATION of FINAL PROJECTS

Friday, March 12 - Last day for graduate students and students in CCS to drop courses or change grading options.

Monday, March 15 - Submissions open for Library Award for Undergraduate Research (LAUR) Submissions close April 30.

 Tuesday, March 16, 2021 - WRITTEN FINAL PROJECTS must be turned in NO LATER than 11:59 pm!!

© 2021 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu

Course Guide

Profile Photo
Chuck Huber
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies