CHEM 184/284 (Chemical Literature) - Huber - Winter 2022: Chem 184/284: Chemical Information Reference Sources in the UCSB Library

A two-credit course in the techniques and tools for effective searching the literature of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related fields.

Chem184284: Chemical Information Reference Sources in the UCSB Library

Allen, Frank H. and Hoy, Vanessa J.
"Cambridge Structural Database" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 1, pp. 155-157, © 1998
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 1
Good article on the most important database of organic, organometallic and coordination compound crystal structures.

Barcelon-Yang, Cynthia S., et al.
"Information Retrieval" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 14, pp. 220-276 (© 1995)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 14
Good, but dated chapter on electronic resources in chemistry.

Barth, Andreas
"Online Databases in Chemistry" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 3, pp. 1968-1981, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 3
Good, if dated, overview article.

Bergerhoff, Günter
"Inorganic Three-Dimensional Structure Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 1, pp. 155-157, © 1998
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 2
Good article on crystal structure databases of inorganic compounds and metals.

Bigalow, H. James
"Market and Marketing Research" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (online version ©2005, (Earlier version by Edward Tarnell is available in print in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 15, pp. 1056-1071 (© 1996)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 18
This topic is primarily of interest to chemical engineers and industrial chemists, but may be of interest to anyone who may be considering starting up a chemical or biochemical business.

Dröge, Thomas and Sass, Richard.
"Chemical Engineering Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryNew York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 1, pp. 316-323, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 1 
Good, somewhat dated, article on electronic sources for chemical engineering.

Fisanick, William, et al.
"Chemical Abstracts Service Information System" in Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryNew York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 1, pp. 277-315, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 1
Excellent article by key CAS staff members on CAS databases and research activities. There have been many advances in the CAS databases since it was written, but it's still good on basics.

Hopkinson, Glen A.
"Structure and Substructure Searching" in Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryNew York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 4, pp. 2764-2771, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 4
Technical article on the algorithms used for structure searching. A good introduction to the subject if you're really curious about the nuts and bolts of structure databases.

 Lawson, Alexander J. and Jochum, Clemens J.
"Factual Information Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryNew York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 2, pp. 983-1002, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 2 
Excellent article by two of the award-winning creators of the electronic Beilstein database.

Neudert, Reinhard
"Spectroscopic Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry,
New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 4, pp. 2632-2646, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 4
Excellent overview article, concentrating on the use of these databases for structure elucidation and prediction.

Paris, C. Gregory
"Structure Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry,
New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 4, pp. 2771-2785, © 1998
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 4
Good article on how databases of chemical structures are created and searched, though some aspects are dated.

  Ridley, Damon D.
Online searching: a scientist's perspective: a guide for the chemical and life sciences / Damon D. Ridley. Chichester ; New York : Wiley © 1996
Z 699.5 .S3 R53 1996
An excellent how-to manual for searching the STN International database system (especially Chemical Abstracts Online.) It doesn't have the latest bells and whistles, but the basics of the databases still hold true.

Rusch, Peter
"Nomenclature Searching" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 3, pp. 1876-1881, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 3
An excellent, brief article on the considerations in chemical nomenclature and how to search using it, by a noted expert.

Smith, Michael B. and D'Angelo, John
Hybrid Retrosynthesis: Organic Synthesis Using Reaxys and SciFinder  New York City: Elsevier, Inc. © 2015 (http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/book/9780124114982)
This book is more focused on proactical organic synthesis thanon chemical information, but it does show how to apply Reaxys and SciFinder to synthetic problems. Aimed at a graduate student level.

Warkentin, Eberhard, Kuhn, Peter and Olbrich, Gottfried
"Inorganic Chemistry Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 2, pp. 1313-1320, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 2
Good, brief article by staff of the Gmelin Institute.

Willett, Peter
"Structural Similarity Measures for Database Searching" in Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryNew York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 4, pp. 2748-2756 © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 1

Article on how similarity structure searching works. Rather technical, but if you want to know how the "black box" works, this is a good source.

Williams, Martha E. and Grant, James L.
"Databases" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 7, pp. 905-927 (© 1993 approx)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 7
Interesting overview of scientific databases, with lots of statistics for the early 1990's.

Zass, Engelbert
"Reaction Databases" in Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry, New York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 4, pp. 2402-2420, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 1
Excellent overview article by a world-renowned chemical information specialist.
 

 

© 2021 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu

Bunin, B. A., Siesel, B., Morales, G. A., and Bajorath, J.
Chemoinformatics: theory, practice and products / Bunin, B. A., et al., Dordrecht, London: Springer, © 2007
QD 39.3 .E46 C45 2007
The first chapter, on "theory" is a good introduction to what chemoinformatics is and does. The rest of the book gets into practical applications.

Chemoinformatics: A Textbook / Johann Gasteiger and Thomas Engel, eds. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmBH & Co., © 2003
QD 39.3 .E46 C45 2003
"Chemoinformatics" is defined as "The use of informatics methods to solve chemical problems." This one-volume textbook is an excellent introduction to the field, with brief chapters on a wide range of topics. See also Handbook of Chemoinformaticsbelow.

Handbook of Chemoinformatics / Johann Gasteiger, ed. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH Verlag GmBH & Co., © 2003.
QD 39.3 .E46 H 36 2003 (Vol. 1-4) Ref
This is a vital reference work. Gasteiger is one of the most important researchers in chemical information, and he has assembled chapters from other leading lights, many of whom have other references on this page. Volume 1 has excellent chapters on the computer representation of chemical structures, reactions and data. Volume 2 has outstanding chapters on various types of chemical databases and on searching chemical structures. Voluem 3 covers comutational methods in chemistry, while Volume 4 focuses on computers in synthesis design and drug design. HIGHLY recommended!

Leach, Andrew R. and Gillet, Valerie J.
An introduction to chemoinformatics
; Dordrecht, London: Springer, © 2007
(http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-1-4020-6291-9).
This recent handbook focuses on the mathematical and computational techniques of chemoinformatics.

Villar, Hugo O.
"Cheminformatics" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., New York: John Wiley & Sons copy; 2010
This article is not available to us in print.
A fairly recent, brief article on some aspects of cheminformatics (note the variant spelling!), though even it is out of date of some small points. Good bibliography.

© 2021 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu

Baykoucheva, Svetla
Managing Scientific Information and Research Data
2015, Amsterdam: Elsevier
URL: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/book/9780081001950
The title does not begin to indicate the wide range of chemical information topics covered by this useful book. It is more about scientific publishing, information literacy, metrics and altmetrics and the like.

Chemical information for chemists: a primer / edited byJudith Currano and Dana Roth, eds. Cambridge, UK: Royal Society of Chemistry, © 2014
QD 8.5 .C44 2014 (URL: http://pubs.rsc.org/en/content/ebook/978-1-84973-551-3#!divbookcontent)
An up-to-date guide to the primary and secondary literature of chemistry, and searching techniques, written by some of the very best chemical information librarians in the world. Highly recommended. 

Chemical information mining: facilitating literature-based discovery / Debra L. Banville, editor. Boca Raton : CRC Press, © 2009
QD8.5 .C475 2009eb (URL:http://uclibs.org/PID/142080)
A fairly recent book on data mining, a method of extracting information from electronic text - very different from traditional literature searching. A good introduction to the topic, which is mostly beyond the scope of this course.

The Future of the History of Chemical Information / Leah R. McEwen and Robert E. Buntrock, eds. (ACS Symposium Series, vol. 1164) Washington, DC: American Chemical Society, © 2014 (URL: http://pubs.acs.org/doi/book/10.1021/bk-2014-1164)
This collection of essays by leaders in chemical information proides both historical perspective, as well as a look forward at where chemical information is headed. It is based on a symposium presented at the American Chemical Society National Meeting in Philadelphia in Aug., 2012

 Integrating Information Literacy into the Chemistry Curriculum; / ed. by  Charity Flener Lovitt, Kristen Shuyler,Ye Li
ACS Symposium Series, Vol. 1232
2016, Washington, DC: American Chemical Society
URL: http://pubs.acs.org/doi/book/10.1021/bk-2016-1232
Papers based on a recent symposium at an ACS Nationsl meeting on developing chemical information literacy.

Maizell, Robert E.
How to find chemical information : a guide for practicing chemists, educators, and students / Robert E. Maizell. 3rd ed. New York : J. Wiley, © 1998.
QD 8.5 .M34 1998
One of the better textbooks available on the subject, and excellent, though sorely in need of an update.

Powell, Warren H.
"Nomenclature" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
,
© 2005 (Earlier version by Peter A. S. Smith is available in print in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 17, pp. 238-259 (© 1996)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 17,
A useful description of the history and state of the art of various types of chemical nomenclature, including inorganic, organic and polymer nomenclature, with lots of good references.

Warr, Wendy A. and Suhr, Klaus
"Information and Documentation" in Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 5th ed., Weinheim: VCH, Volume B-1, pp. 12-1 to 12-119 (© 1989 approx)
TP 8 .U57 1985, Vol. B-1
Lengthy, detailed article by two experts in chemical information. Covers primary and secondary literature, printed and online reference works. Highly recommended for its time, though significantly dated. Note: This article is no longer available in the online version of Ullman's.

Wiggins, Gary
Chemical information sources / Gary Wiggins. New York : McGraw-Hill, Inc., © 1991.(Electronic version is available free of charge at http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Chemical_Information_Sources and is now being updated by a team of experts in chemical information.)
QD 8.5 .W54 
An excellent, comprehensive source, though the print versin is showing its age; organized by the type of search more than by the source. Chapters of this work are recommended reading to supplement the lecture notes for this course.

 

© 2021 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu

Ackerman, Marc E. and Bogdanos, Claudia T.
"Trademarks" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, (online version, © 2003) (Note: In print, see: Deinard, Lile H., Stathis, Nicholas J., and Rasenberger, Mary E, "Copyrights and Trademarks: Trademarks", Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed.,New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 7, pp. 532-547 )
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 7
A good, brief introduction to this aspect of intellectual property for scientists.

ACS Committee on Patents and Related Matters
What every chemist should know about patents., 4th. ed., 2019
https://www.acs.org/content/dam/acsorg/about/governance/committees/patents/what-every-chemist-knows-patents.pdf
Newly updated, concise introduction to patents, aimed at chemists, written by patent expers.

Anawalt, Howard Clarke
Idea Rights: A Guide to Intellectual Property Durham, NC: Carolina Academic Press © 2011.
KF 2979 .A745 2011
An introduction of all areas of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, trade secrets) with lots of historical background and illustrative examples.

Atkinson, Benedict and Fitzgerald, Brian
A Short History of Copyright: the genie of information / London: Springer ©2015 (URL: http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-319-02075-4)
For those interested in the background of modern copyright, a nice recent introduction.

Cass, Ronald A. and Hylton, Keith N.
Laws of creation: property rights in the world of ideas Cambridge , MA: Harvard University Press, ©2013
K 1401 .C375 2013 (http://www.degruyter.com/viewbooktoc/product/184494)
A recent overview of all the various forms of intellectual property under United States law - copyright, patents, trademarks and trade secrets.

Gordon, Thomas T., Cookfair, Arthur S., LoTempio, Vincent G., and Lillis, Brendan S.
Patent fundamentals for scientists and engineers, 3rd ed.  Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, © 2012 (http://www.crcnetbase.com/doi/book/10.1201/b12982)
Fairly recent book on patents and patenting for the practising scientist. Includes good chapters on patent searching, and patent information on the Internet.

Gresens, John J.
"Patents and Trade Secrets" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed.,New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 18, pp. 61-101 (© 1996)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 18
This excellent article focuses on the definition and management of patents and trade secrets from the patent assignee's perspective.

Heines, M. Henry
First to File: Patents for Today's Scientist and Engineer New York : John Wiley & Sons, ©2014 (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9781118933169)
A recent work aimed at the potential inventor, focusng on questions of prior art and patentability.

Intellectual Property in Academia: A Practical Gude for Scientists and Engineers / ed. by Kata Reingand
New York: CRC Press, 2011
URL: https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781439837016
A recent work with a good introduction to patents (with one chapter or copyright) aimed at academic scientists and engineers. Good insights on the rights of inventors vs. those of their university employers.

Kennedy, Joseph P. Watkins, Wayne H. and Ball, Elyse N.
How to Invent and Protect Your Invention: A Guide to Patents for Scientists and Engineers
New York : J. Wiley, © 2012.
(URL: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/book/10.1002/9781118410103 )
Recent book on patent basics for inventors. Includes changes to US patent law in the 2012 America Invents Act, international patent application, and specialized patents (biotechnology, business methods, software.)

Knight, H. Jackson
Patent strategy for researchers and research engineers, 3rd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K: John Wiley, © 2013
This recent work introduces basic intellectual property concepts, as well as recommendations for research practices, filing, working with attorneys, etc. Extensively referenced.

Koenigsberg, I. Fred
"Copyrights" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed.,New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 7, pp. 521-532 (© 2003 online, 1993 print)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 7
A good, brief introduction to this aspect of intellectual property for scientists. Note that the online version has been recently updated.

Lupu, Mihai; Mayer, Katia; Tait, John, and Trippe, Anthony J.
Current Challenges in Patent Information Retrieval / Mihai Lupu, Katia Mayer, John Tait and Anthony J. Trippe. Dordrecht, London: Springer, © 2011
(http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-642-19231-9)
Excellent book on the present and future of patent searching. Two chapters deal specifically with chemical information in patents.

Maynard, John T.
Understanding chemical patents / John T. Maynard. 2nd ed. Washington, DC : American Chemical Society, © 1991
T 211 .M39 1991
This is a very good source for background on chemical patents, especially for the would-be inventor. Chapters 1-3 are recommended reading to get a feel for the value of patents as reference material.

Miller, Chris P. and Evans, Mark J.
The Chemist's Companion Guide to Patent Law
Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., © 2010
KF 3133 .C4 M55 2010
This is an excellent guide for the chemist/inventor, with perhaps more detail on the legal aspects of filing patents than the casual reader needs to know. But the first chapter is a very good summary of patent pasics, and other chapters detail the patent concepts of utility, novelty and nonobviousness and prior art.

Netanel, Neil<
Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know
K 1420.5 .N45 2018
Very recent introduction to copyright basics; good starting point for learning about copyright..

Patent searching : tools & techniques
/ [
edited by] David Hunt, Long Nguyen, Matthew Rodgers. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2007.
T 210 .H86 2007
Fairly recent book on the how and why of different types of patent searches and patent analyses. Relatively little information on specifically chemical patent searching techniques.

Rogers, Alex and McGlue, Rachel
"Patents" in Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry ©  2017
https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/14356007.b01_13.pub3
VFairly recent article on the basics of patents.

Simmons, Edlyn S.
"Patents, Literature" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, © 2006 (Earlier version by Simmons and Stuart Kaback is available in print in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 4th ed., New York: John Wiley & Sons, Volume 18, pp. 102-156 (© 1996)
TP 9 .E685 1991, Vol. 18,
This chapter, by one of the leading patent searchers in the entire world, is an excellent description of how, where and why to search the patent literature for legal purposes and technical information, and recently updated. Highly recommended

Waller, Francis J.
"Patents or Trade Secrets: Introduction for Chemical Professionals" in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Published 19 July 2013
An overview of patents and trade secrets oriented toward chemical inventors.

Waller, Francis J.
Writing Chemistry Patents and Intellectual Property: A Practical Guide, Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2011
A guide to patents for chemists (with some information on trade secrets, copyrights and trademarks, as well), originally developed as a short course for the American Chemical Society.

© 2019 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu

Fyfe, Aileen, Coate, Kelly, Curry, Stephen, Lawson, Stuart, Moxham, Noah, and Røstvik, Camilla Mørk
Untangling Academic Publishing: a history of the relationship between commercial interests, academic prestige and the circulation of research / ©2017
https://zenodo.org/record/546100#.XbnwfJpKhPZ
This open access book is a good historical overview of how scholarly publishing became gig business, and the forces driving it in new directions.

Gould, Maria (Office of Scholarly Commuication, University of California) 
Pathways to Open Access: Choices and Opportunities (https://osc.universityofcalifornia.edu/2018/07/pathways-to-open-access-choices-and-opportunities/_  <
This 2018 paper describes the University of California's efforts toward achieving open access for UC generated scholarship.

Heller, Stephen, R.
"Electronic Publishing of Scientific Manuscripts" in Encyclopedia of Computational ChemistryNew York : John Wiley & Sons, Vol. 2, pp. 871-875, © 1998.
QD 39,3 .E46 E53 1998 Vol. 2 
Good article by a noted expert on, and advocate of, electronic and open access journals. Nonetheless, it's showing its age, as there has been so much progress in the past dozen years.

Li, Ye
"open Access" in ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (https://pubs.acs.org/doi/full/10.1021/acsguide.10501)
Washington, DC: American Chemical Society, ©2020
Very new chapter on open access poblisher by a prominent chemistry librarian. The link takes you to the introduction, but you can get to the whole chapter from there. The chapter itself is open access, but the guide as a whole is not. Highly recommended!

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
Open Science by Design: Realizing a Vision for 21st Century Research
Washington, DC: The National Academies Press.2018
Q223 .O64 2018
https://www.nap.edu/read/25116/chapter/1
Very recent report from the U.S. National Academies on implementing open access publishing and open data to foster open science.

National Research Council (U.S.). Organizing Committee for the Workshop on Information and Communications
Information and communications [electronic resource] : challenges for the chemical sciences in the 21st century / Organizing Committee for the Workshop on Information and Communications, Committee on Challenges for the Chemical Sciences in the 21st Century, Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology, Division on Earth and Life Studies, National Research Council of the National Academies. Washington, D.C. : National Academies Press, 2003.
QD8 .N37 2003eb (URL:http://uclibs.org/PID/102907)
Another National Reearch Council report on scholarly communication in the chemical sciences.

The Open Access Interviews: Rusty Speidel, The Center for Open Science
https://poynder.blogspot.com/2017/08/the-open-access-interviews-rusty.html
The Center for Open Science is a a major resource for preprint servers in science and engineering. This August, 2017 interview with its director gives an overview of how preprint dervers spread from physics into the biosciences and other fields. Note: The blog in which this is published, Open and Shut?, is a risch source for essays and news items on many aspects of scholarly publishing.

Open Science Initiative Working Group
Mapping the Future of Scholarly Publishing / Lincoln, Nebraska : Uinversity of Nebraska - Lincoln, *copy'2015
https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1009&context=scholcom
An overview of scholarly publishing from a few years ago, but still relevant today.

Opening Science: How the Internet is Changing Research, Collaboration and Scholarly Publishing
/ edited by Sönke Bartling and Sascha Friesike, London: Springer ©2015
A recent discussion of open science and publishing.

Scheufen, Marc
Copyright versus Open Access /London: Springer ©2015 (URL: http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-319-12739-2)
A perspective by an economist on the impact of open access on scholarly publishing.

Scholarly Communication by the UCSB Library Scholarly Communication Committee
URL: http://www.library.ucsb.edu/scholarly-communication
A regularly updated guide to copyright and fair use, open access publishing, data curation and related issues of importance to UCSB faculty and researchers who wish to publish their results.

Scholarly publishing : books, journals, publishers, and libraries in the twentieth century edited by Richard E. Abel, Lyman W. Newlin, New York: Wiley ©2002
Z 286 .S333 2002
An interesting collection of essays on scholarly book and journal publishing and the academic library; it makes good background reading for understanding the cycle of information in the academic world.

Solomon, David J.
Developing open access journals: a practical guide Oxford, England: Chandos Publishing, © 2008
Z 286 .O63 S65 2008
Most of the book isn't really relevant for the user of scholarly journals, but the introductory section gives a good brief history of the scholarly journal and the rationales for open access publication.

Special Issues in Data Management / edited by Xiao, Norah and McEwen, Leah Rae (ACS Symposium Series Vol 1110) 2012 Washington DC: American Chemical Society (http://pubs.acs.org/doi/book/10.1021/bk-2012-1110)
This is a collection of papers basedon an ACS symposium presented at the ACS National Meeting in Anaheim, March, 2011. While this course does not deal directly with data management, it is an important consideration for chemical researchers and authors.

Suber, Peter
Open Access Cambridge, MA: MIT Press © 2012
Z 286 .O63 S83 2012 (http://mitpress.mit.edu/books/open-access)
A key book on open access issues by one of the world's leading authorities on the topic. Highly recommended. The book itself became open access in a variety of formats in June, 2013.

UC Pay It Forward Project (https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/icis/uc-pay-it-forward-project/)
This article describes a project led by the UC Daviso Librarystarting in 2015, to develop a sustainable open access model for the University. The final report on the project is linked from the article.

 

© 202020 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu

ACS Author University (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?reload=9&list=PLLG7h7fPoH8L3ru8IHYliYou2FENEzmtMM\ 
A series of videos on YouTube, produced by American Chemical Society Publications, on various aspects of writing and publishing articles in the sciences.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (https://pubs.acs.org/doi/book/10.1021/acsguide)
This is the brand-new successor tot he ACS Style Guide, greatly updated and expanded. It is available only online, by institutional subscription (at present. Two sections, the chapter on open access, and the Quick Guide to citation styles, are available free at the site.

ACS Reviewer Lab  (https://www.acsreviewerlab.org/)<
A free online course on the nuts andbolts of peer reviewing, from ACS Publications.

The ACS style guide : a manual for authors and editors, 3rd ed. / Anne M. Coghill, Loren R. Garson, editors; Washington, DC : American Chemical Society, © 2006.
QD 8.5 .A25 2006
This useful volume contains instructions for would-be authors in ACS journals, including information on citing electronic sources. It also has chapters on copyright, poster sessions, oral presentations, and peer review of papers.  Note that, for citation syle purposes, this guide is now obsolete, superseded by the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication (see above.) However, it is the last ACS style guide to be issuedin print, and still contains some useful information.

ACS Webinar series on Scientific Writing (http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/acs-webinars/collections/writing.html)
This is a series of recent webinars from the American Chemical Society on efffective writing for scholarly articles, proposals and grant applications.

Alley, Michael
The Craft of Scientific Writing
New York: Springer Science-Business Media, © 2018
https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-1-4419-8288-9
Very recent book on techniques for effective scientific writing to reach a target audience.

Alred, Gerald J., Brusaw, Charles T., and Oliu, Walter E.
Handbook of Technical Writing, 11th ed. / Boston : Bedford/St. Martin's ©2015
T 11 .A47 2016
An alphabetical arrqangement of concepts importan in technical writing, with definitions and examples.

Beall, Herbert and Trimbur, John
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry, New York: HarperCollins College Publishers, © 2001
QD 9.15 .B43 2001 Reference
An excellent brief introduction to the art of collecting data, writing and reading scientific papers in chemistry. It is aimed at the undergraduate, but can be useful for anyone getting started. If you are interested in more information on writing scientific articles, search UCSB Library Search for the subject "Technical writing". You will find a number of useful, recent books in addition to the style guides in this handout.

Cargill, Margaret, and O'Connor, Patrick
Writing Scientific Research Articles, 2nd edition New York: Wiley-Blackwell ©2013
T 11 .C27 2013
Good basic introduction to writing scientific articles for journal publication. Also discusses peer review,article submission and grant writing.

Crawley, George M, and O'Sullivan, Eoin
The Grant Writer's Handbook: How to Write a Research Proposal and Succeed London: Imperial College Press, ©2016
Q 180.55  .G7 C73 2016
A very recent book on writing research grant proposals by an American and British team of researchers.

Ebel, Hans Friedrich, Bliefert, Claus and Russey, William E.
The Art of Scientific Writing : from student reports to professional publications in chemistry and related fields2nd, comp. rev. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, © 2004.
QD 9.15 .E23 2004 
Outstanding book on scientific writing, including reports, dissertations, journal articles and books. For this class, see especially Chapter 9, "Collecting and Citing the Literature."

Fisher, Elizabeth, and Thompson, Richard
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation 2nd ed. London: Imperial College Press ©2014
T 11 .H582 2014
Step-gy-step guide for thesis or dissertation writing for undergraduates and draduate students - a brief, not overly detailed resource.

Glassman-Deal, Hilary
Science Research Writing for Non-Native Speakers of EnglishLondon: Imperial College Press, © 2010
PE 1474 .G57 2010
Aimed at writers with an intermediate knowledge of English, this work goes into the grammar, structure and vocabulary of each section of a scientific paper (intruduction, methodology, results, conclusion, abstract). This approach can be useful for native English speakers getting started in scientific writing as well.

Hering, Heike
How to Write Technical Reports: understandable structure, good design, convincing presentation / Berlin : Springer, ©2019
https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-662-58107-0
The title describes it precisely.

Hofmann, Angelika H.
Scientific Writing and Communication: papers, proposals, and presentations, 2nd ed. / New York : Oxford University Press, ©2017
Q 223 .H64 2017
Covers the key areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to master. The 1st ed. (2014) is also available
.

Hofmann, Angelika H.
Writing in the Biological Sciences: a comprehensive guide for scientific communication, 2nd ed. / New York : Oxford University Press, ©2019
QH 304 .H64 2019
Introduces guidelines and principles of professional scientific writing for students of the biological sciences. The 1st ed., 2013 is also available.

Katz, Michael Jay
From Research to Manuscript: a guide to scientific writing / Dordrecht : Springer ©2009
https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-1-4020-9467-5
A guide covering stips in preparing a scientific journal article for publication.

Lebrun, Jean-Luc
Scientific Writing 2.0, Expanded Edition
Singapore: World Scientific ©2011
T 11 .L43 2011
Includes "Writing Diagnosis Tool" software for Windows and Mac on DVD

Mastering the Art of Scientific Publication (http://pubs.acs.org/page/vi/art_of_scientific_publication.html)
This virtual journal issue is a collection of twenty articles by ACS journal editors with advice for authors of scientific communication, originally published from 2012-2014. While this course does not cover scientific writing, some of the editorials here may illuminate parts of the scholarly publishing process.

Neuen, Sue and Tebeaux, Elizabeth
Writing Science Right: Strategies for Teaching Scientific and Technical Writing / New York: Routledge ©2017
https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9781315178578
New textbook aimed at writing popular science articles, news articles and giving oral presentations

Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers / Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors. 7th ed. Reston, VA : Council of Science Editors in cooperation with the Rockefeller University Press, © 2006.
T 11 .S386 2014 Ref
This is the latest edition of the style guide most widely used by biology journals. It has excellent chapters on conventions for handling chemical, biochemical and biological data. Formerly known as the CBE (Council of Biology Editors) manual.

 

© 2021 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.ucsb.edu


Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies