UC Library Search
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB is a way to find books and other materials located in libraries outside the UC System.
Recommended Databases for Climate Change Research
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete covers both popular magazines and scholarly journals over a wide range of subject areas, including climate change.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of several integrated subject databases. It cover a very large body of articles on climate change and related topics, including impacts on agriculture.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new windowAquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts covers both freshwater and marine biology and is an excellent source for impact of climate change on the oceans and marine life.
- arXivarXiv is the open access preprint repository for the physics community. It contains hundreds of papers related to climate change, mostly in the areas of modeling and simulation.
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new windowATLA indexes the scholarly literature on religion and theology. It contains numerous articles on moral and religious reactions to and implications of climate change from religions all over the world.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowBioOne Complete is a collection of over 200 full-text biology journals, including journals on forestry, crop and pasture lands, wildlife management and general ecology and contains many studies of the impact of climate change on these areas.
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new windowbioRxiv is the open access preprint server for the biological sciences. It contains the full text of over 4,000 articles dealing with various aspects of climate change biology.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Citation Index is the most comprehensive index to the literature of all areas of biology, and is an excellent source for the impact of climate change on the biosphere.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete covers popular magazine, trade journals and scholarly journals dealing with business. It is a good source for articles on the economic impact of climate change, and how businesses and industries are reacting to climate change.
- Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most complete index to the journal and conference literature in engineering. It is a great source for engineering responses to the challenges of climate change.
- Data Citation Index This link opens in a new windowData Citation Index indexes datasets contained in public repositories, and links to works which cite them. Over 29,000 datasets related to climate change have been indexed.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new windowDerwent Innovations Index is the world's premier index to the patent literature. It contains enhanced patent titles and abstracts for better keyword searching. This is a useful source for patents related to carbon dioxide capture and disposal.
- EarthArXiv This link opens in a new windowEarthArXiv is the open access repository for preprints in earth and environmental sciences. It currently holds over 200 papers on aspects of climate change.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowThe premier database for the literature of economics, EconLit indexes a large number of scholarly studies on the economic impact of climate change.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source contains a large number of scholarly papers on climate change education, most available in full text.
- Environment Index This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Index covers a broad range of environmental science topics, including a great deal of material on climate change and related topics.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC is the U.S. Dept. of Education's index to the educational literature. It contains a large number of papers on climate change education.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef is the premier database indexing the literature of geology. It includes a vast amount of literature on climate change, and is an excellent source for paleoclimatology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a collection of books and journals on a wide variety of topics, including climate change. Note that for many journals, the most recent six months to five years are not available.
- MarXiv This link opens in a new windowMarXiv is a small, but growing, archive of preprints in marine and climate sciences.
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new windowNTRL indexes reports on U.S. government funded research, including a vast amount of material on climate change. Most of these reports are available as free full-text online.
- Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOceanic Abstracts indexes the literature of marine research, including a large body of climate change research as it affects the oceans.
- OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new windowOSTI.GOV is the research database of the U.S. Department of Energy, covering journal articles and technical reports. It holds a huge amount of material on climate change and related topics. Most technical reports are available as free full-text online through the database.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index This link opens in a new windowPAIS indexes the literature of public affairs and public policy. It contains over 19,000 articles on various aspects of climate change.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPhilosopher's Index covers the literature of all areas of philosophy, and list over 1,000 articles dealing with the moral, ethical and political philosophy of climate change.
- PhilPapers – Philosophical Research Online This link opens in a new windowPhilPapers provides access to the literature of philosophy. It includes almost 1,000 downloads, and open access articles related to climate change.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional provides access to the text of Congressional public hearings, expert testimony, committee reports and the Congressional record, over 4,000 of which mention climate change.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Citation Index (Web of Science)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a full-text database of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from institutions around the world. In addition to accessing ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global on the ProQuest platform, UCSB users may search ProQuest Dissertations & Theses on the Web of Science platform. Web of Science includes citation indexing for each dissertation and thesis, connecting them to the Web of Science citation network and allowing users to explore their citation connections to other research on the Web of Science platform. When the full dissertation or thesis is available on the ProQuest platform, the Web of Science record includes a link to it.
To search only dissertations and theses completed at UCSB please use eScholarship.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO is the premier index to the psychological literature. It has over 1,800 articles and book reviews on the psychological impact of climate change and people's attitudes toward climate change.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's index to the world's medical literature. It lists over 40,000 articles dealing with climate change, mainly dealing with its impact on human health.
- RAND Online Publications This link opens in a new windowThis site has a collection of free books published by the RAND organization, a "think tank" supplying analyses for policy development in a wide variety of areas, including hundreds of papers on environment and energy, many of which touch on climate change, greenhouse gases, clean energy and the like.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowThe Roper Center database indexes questions from opinion polls, giving their source, populations sampled and results. There are over 1100 questions pertaining to climate change indexed.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
New user? You must register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to begin. Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. Searches Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area. Also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts is the primary index to the literature of sociology. It contains over 10,000 papers dealing with the sociological impact of climate change, including public perception of climate change, and its effects on human communities.
- United Nations Digital Library This link opens in a new windowOfficial reports and other documents from the agencies of the United Nations, including almost 10,000 touching on climate change.
- USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new windowThe repository of United States Geological Survey (USGS) documents includes over 4000 dealing with aspects of climate change.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a wide-ranging index to scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings and books. It indexes and is searchable by cited references, and contains over 200,000 records dealing with climate change.
- World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new windowThe World Bank Open Knowledge Repository is an open access collection of books and reports, including over 4,000 dealing with the economic and public policy impacts of climate change around the world.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAs the name suggests, this is a premier database for finding political science scholarship, and has over 5,000 records dealing with the political implications of climate change.
Reports
- Policy Commons
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research with more than 25 million pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.