Subject Headings and Call Numbers for Climate Change
Books on climate change are shelved by their Library of Congress (LC) Subject Classification. Important call numbers for climate change studies include:
- QC 993.5
- QC 981 .C55
- QC 903
- BF 353.5 .C55 (psychology of climate change)
Note that books on the effects of climate change on specific topics (e.g. transportation, the military) may be shelved in other areas. Also, many of the newer books on this topic are electronic books, which will not be found on the shelves, and many of which do not have assigned call numbers.
To find books (including e-books) most effectively, search UC Library Search. Library catalogers assign Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to create standard terms for searching. Among the useful LC subject headings for climate change are:
- Climate change
- Climatic changes
- Climate change mitigation
- Global environmental changes
- Global temperature changes
- Global warming
- Greenhouse effect, Atmospheric
- Greenhouse gases
Note that both the UC Library Search a(as well as many other databases) allows you to use the asterisk, *, to search for all terms beginning with a strong of letters. For example:
- Searching climat* finds books with climate, climates, climatic.
- Searching chang* finds books with change, changes, changing
- Searching atmos* finds books with atmosphere, atmospheres, atmospheric
UC Library Search
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB
WorldCat Discovery @UCSB is a way to find books and other materials located in libraries outside the UC System.
Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental ChangeCall Number: Main Library Reference GE149 .E443 2001
Encyclopedia of Global ChangeCall Number: Main Library Reference GE149 .E47 2002
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate ChangeCall Number: Main Library Reference QC981.8.G56 E47 2008
Encyclopedia of the AnthropocenePublication Date: 2017
E-Book Collections
The UCSB Library provides access to a number of collections of electronic books. Books within each collection are searchable, and you may retrieve individual chapters as well as entire books.
- CRCnetBASE This link opens in a new windowCRCnetBASE (also known as Taylor & Francis e-books) contains over 400 books dealing with various aspects of climate change, and over 8,000 individual chapters.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a collection of journals and books. Books may be searched and downloaded by individual chapters.Over 10,000 book chapters on climate change are available.
- Knovel.com This link opens in a new windowKnovel.com has a larte collection of books, mainly dealing with engineering and engineering data. Each book is deeply indexed, and the collection includes much material on greenhouse gases, and carbon capture, among other topics.
- National Academies Press This link opens in a new windowNational Academies Press is the online publishing arm of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, and contains over 2,000 books on climate change and related topics.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowSpringerLink contains a large collection of both books and journal articles, including many relevant to climate science.Users may view individual chapters, or download PDF copies of entire books.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowThe Wiley Online Library incudes a huge collection of books and journal articles. Books may be retrieved as a whole, or by individual chapters.
A Selection of Recent Books (UCSB only)
The Arctic: A Barometer of Global Climate Variability
The Arctic: A Barometer of Global Climate Variability provides a comprehensive source of information on all aspects of the Arctic region. Through thorough research, first-hand accounts and case studies, the book details international arctic research initiatives and native environments, including flora and fauna. Sections explore the impact of climate change, the effect of the Arctic on climate change, the environmental issues facing the region and how it is adapting. It is also a must-read source of information for polar scientists, applicable PhD students, early researchers, environmental scholars, and anyone searching for information on any aspect of the Arctic region. Users will find a great resource that brings together all aspects of Arctic research into one concise book.
Call Number: QC903.2.A68 K43 2021 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2021
The Atlas of Disappearing Places: Our Coasts and Oceans in the Climate CrisisPublication Date: 2021
Beyond Global Warming: How Numerical Models Revealed the Secrets of Climate Change
From Nobel Prize winner Syukuro Manabe and Anthony Broccoli, a definitive account of how we have come to understand the fundamental processes behind global warming Syukuro Manabe is perhaps the leading pioneer of modern climate modeling. Beyond Global Warming is his compelling firsthand account of how the scientific community came to understand the human causes of climate change, and how numerical models using the world's most powerful computers have been instrumental to these vital discoveries. Joined by atmospheric scientist Anthony Broccoli, Manabe shows how climate models have been used as virtual laboratories for examining the complex planetary interactions of atmosphere, ocean, and land. Manabe and Broccoli use these studies as the basis for a broader discussion of human-induced global warming--and what the future may hold for a warming planet. They tell the stories of early trailblazers such as Svante Arrhenius, the legendary Swedish scientist who created the first climate model of Earth more than a century ago, and they provide rare insights into Manabe's own groundbreaking work over the past five decades. Expertly walking readers through key breakthroughs, they explain why increasing atmospheric carbon dioxide has caused temperatures to rise in the troposphere yet fall in the stratosphere, why the warming of the planet's surface differs by hemisphere, why drought is becoming more frequent in arid regions despite the global increase in precipitation, and much more. Authoritative and illuminating, Beyond Global Warming is an invaluable insider's look at some of today's most cutting-edge Earth science, and a rare window into a brilliant scientific mind. Note: Only one digital copy available.
Publication Date: 2020
Biodiversity and Climate Change: Transforming the BiospherePublication Date: 2019
Brave Green World: how science can save our planet by Call Number: QC903 .F67 2021ISBN: 9780262044462Publication Date: 2021-03-30
A Brief History of the Earth's Climate: Everyone's Guide to the Science of Climate Change
I love it. Earle understands the big climate picture and paints it with exceptional clarity. -- JAMES HANSEN, director, Climate Science, Awareness and Solutions, Columbia University Earth Institute What's natural, what's caused by humans, and why climate change is a disaster for all A Brief History of the Earth's Climate is an accessible myth-busting guide to the natural evolution of the Earth's climate over 4.6 billion years, and how and why human-caused global warming and climate change is different and much more dangerous. Richly illustrated chapters cover the major historical climate change processes including evolution of the sun, plate motions and continental collisions, volcanic eruptions, changes to major ocean currents, Earth's orbital variations, sunspot variations, and short-term ocean current cycles. As well as recent human-induced climate change and an overview of the implications of the COVID pandemic for climate change. Content includes: Understanding natural geological processes that shaped the climate How human impacts are now rapidly changing the climate Tipping points and the unfolding climate crisis What we can do to limit the damage to the planet and ecosystems Countering climate myths peddled by climate change science deniers. A Brief History of the Earth's Climate is essential reading for everyone who is looking to understand what drives climate change, counter skeptics and deniers, and take action on the climate emergency.
Publication Date: 2021
Buying Time for Climate Action: Exploring Ways around Stumbling Blocks
The 2021 IPCC report made one thing crystal clear — global climate change is here to stay. Time is up. We need to act or climate change will lead to inconceivable suffering by billions of people. Buying Time for Climate Action is the combined narrative of world class experts, all committed to help humanity survive its largely self-induced destructive course. Changing that course requires urgent action. Determining which actions will lead to helpful change requires insights into the stumbling blocks that always emerge when actions aimed at change are planned, resulting in lost time. The experts who contributed to this volume, through their expertise, networks, wisdom and creativity, have largely concluded that the way to cope with the stumbling blocks is to avoid them by focusing on grassroots initiatives. Their narratives and discussions, presented in this book, highlight such thinking.The book is essential reading for anyone committed to help avoid an existential disaster for humanity, and ready to move plans into effective action.
Publication Date: 2021
Can Science Fix Climate Change?: a case against climate engineering by ISBN: 9780745685243Publication Date: 2014-06-04
Carbon sequestration for climate change mitigation and adaptationPublication Date: 2017
A Case for Climate Engineering by Call Number: QC903 .K45 2013ISBN: 9780262019828Publication Date: 2013-09-20
Cities, Climate Change, and Public Health: Building Human Resilience to Climate Change at the Local Level
To date, climate adaptation has mostly focused on protecting physical assets from potentially catastrophic climatic changes. While the lack of human vulnerability and equity components in adaptation plans and policies has been critiqued by many, this has not yet led to climate adaptation planning and policymaking processes that situates people's health and well-being front and center. This book examines how cities can use a public health frame of climate change to boost people's understanding of and concern about climate change and increase policy support for climate adaptation efforts at the local level. In addition, it aims to strengthen our understanding of different tools cities can use to operationalize a focus on the health implications of climate change, enhance collective decision-making capacities, and, ultimately, build human resilience to climate change.
Publication Date: 2020
Cities Responding to Climate Change : Copenhagen, Stockholm and TokyoPublication Date: 2018
The City and the Coming Climate:9781107016712 by Call Number: QC903 .S86 2012ISBN: 9781107016712Publication Date: 2012-04-16
The Climate Book
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER We still have time to change the world. From climate activist Greta Thunberg, comes the essential handbook for making it happen. You might think it's an impossible task: secure a safe future for life on Earth, at a scale and speed never seen, against all the odds. There is hope--but only if we listen to the science before it's too late. In The Climate Book, Greta Thunberg has gathered the wisdom of over one hundred experts--geophysicists, oceanographers and meteorologists; engineers, economists and mathematicians; historians, philosophers and Indigenous leaders--to equip us all with the knowledge we need to combat climate disaster. Alongside them, she shares her own stories of demonstrating and uncovering greenwashing around the world, revealing how much we have been kept in the dark. This is one of our biggest challenges, she shows, but also our greatest source of hope. Once we are given the full picture, how can we not act? And if a schoolchild's strike could ignite a global protest, what could we do collectively if we tried? We are alive at the most decisive time in the history of humanity. Together, we can do the seemingly impossible. But it has to be us, and it has to be now.
Call Number: QC903 .T59 2023Publication Date: 2023
Climate Change: An Interdisciplinary Introduction
This textbook introduces and explains the issues around climate change and its mitigation. It includes topics across disciplines and can be used as a single-volume text by students studying a range of subjects. Among the topics included are: ·How to adopt significant mitigation measures now to avoid the most catastrophic long-term consequences of climate change. ·Reducing the rates of highly potent, short-lived emissions of methane gas and black carbon particulates--reductions that are necessary to meet the temperature targets of the Paris Agreements. ·Implementing wide-ranging adaptation measures to reduce the deaths and economic costs of extreme heat waves, droughts, wildfires, hurricanes, and floods. ·Recognizing the unusually rapid warming in the Arctic, which is disrupting weather patterns in the northern hemisphere and currents in the Atlantic Ocean, causing world-wide sea-level rise, and also causing methane leaks in the Arctic region--leaksthat could eventually lead to irreversible global warming consequences. Meeting these challenges effectively requires action by both governments and businesses. The book examines the national and local governmental policies--and business practices--that are needed in sector-specific chapters. An objective of the book is to inform readers about specific problems resulting from climate change--and the wide range of potential government policies and business practices, changes in technologies, and changes in public attitudes and actions that can reduce the emissions and otherwise lessen their impacts. Indeed, a central message is that understanding the issues posed by climate change requires no less than an understanding of climate science, micro- and macro-economics, technologies for mitigation and adaptation measures, as well as politics and law at many governmental levels from local to global. The author has included short case studies that illustrate and integrate multiple analytic perspectives. The book is therefore appropriate for students, professionals, and general audiences with wide-ranging interests and backgrounds.
Publication Date: 2024
Climate Change in PracticePublication Date: 2017
Climate Change Isn't Everything iberating climate politics from alarmis. by Call Number: TD171.75 .H85 2023ISBN: 9781509556168Publication Date: 2023-07-31
Climate Change Literacy (Open Access Book)
This Element presents a necessary intervention within the rapidly expanding field of research in the environmental humanities on climate change and environmental literacy. In contrast to the dominant, science-centred literacy debates, which largely ignore the unique resources of the humanities, it asks: How does literary reading contribute to climate change communication? How does this contribution relate to recent demands for environmental and related literacies? Rather than reducing the function of literature to a more pleasurable form of information transfer or its affective dimension of evoking sympathy, climate change literacy thoroughly reassesses the cognitive, affective, and pedagogic potentials of literary writing. It does so by analysing a selection of popular climate novels and by demonstrating the role of fiction in fostering a more adequate understanding of, and response to, climate change. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
Publication Date: 2023
Climate Change Science: A Primer for Sustainable DevelopmentPublication Date: 2020
Climate Change, Science, and the Politics of Shared Sacrifice by Call Number: ; QC903 .E425 2022ISBN: 9780190063696Publication Date: 2021-07-08
Climate Extremes: Patterns and Mechanisms
Although we are seeing more weather and climate extremes, individual extreme events are very diverse and generalization of trends is difficult. For example, mid-latitude and subtropical climate extremes such as heat waves, hurricanes and droughts have increased, and could have been caused by processes including arctic amplification, jet stream meandering, and tropical expansion. This volume documents various climate extreme events and associated changes that have been analyzed through diagnostics, modeling, and statistical approaches. The identification of patterns and mechanisms can aid the prediction of future extreme events. Volume highlights include: Compilation of processes and mechanisms unique to individual weather and climate extreme events Discussion of climate model performance in terms of simulating high-impact weather and climate extremes Summary of various existing theories, including controversial ones, on how climate extremes will continue to become stronger and more frequent Climate Extremes: Patterns and Mechanisms is a valuable resource for scientists and graduate students in the fields of geophysics, climate physics, natural hazards, and environmental science. Read an interview with the editors to find out more: https://eos.org/editors-vox/how-does-changing-climate-bring-more-extreme-events
Publication Date: 2017
Climate Future: Averting and Adapting to Climate Change Climate Future: Averting and Adapting to Climate Change by ISBN: 9780197647370Publication Date: 1 July 2022
Climate Justice: Case Studies in Global and Regional Governance ChallengesPublication Date: 2016
Drought, Flood, Fire
Every year, droughts, floods, and fires impact hundreds of millions of people and cause massive economic losses. Climate change is making these catastrophes more dangerous. Now. Not in the future: NOW. This book describes how and why climate change is already fomenting dire consequences, and will certainly make climate disasters worse in the near future. Chris C. Funk combines the latest science with compelling stories, providing a timely, accessible, and beautifully-written synopsis of this critical topic. The book describes our unique and fragile Earth system, and the negative impacts humans are having on our support systems. It then examines recent disasters, including heat waves, extreme precipitation, hurricanes, fires, El Niños and La Niñas, and their human consequences. By clearly describing the dangerous impacts that are already occurring, Funk provides a clarion call for social change, yet also conveys the beauty and wonder of our planet, and hope for our collective future.
Publication Date: 2021
Fossil Fuel Industries and the Green Economy
As of 2018, 85 percent of global energy consumption was made up by fossil fuels, including petroleum, coal, and natural gas. However, the burning of fossil fuels is a major contributor of greenhouse gas emissions, which has drawn negative attention as the effects of climate change wreak havoc. Consequently, governments, citizens, scientists, and companies are now in search of more environmentally friendly sources of energy. The shift to the green economy is intended to reduce negative environmental impacts, but how this would affect consumers, communities, and the economy and whether it is economically and political feasible are up for debate, and for your readers to decide.
Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Climate Change Mitigation and AdaptationPublication Date: 2016
Handbook on Trade Policy and Climate Change
This insightful Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the most recent developments in the academic debate on the numerous and complex linkages between international trade and climate change. Adopting a broad interdisciplinary approach, it brings together perspectives from scholars in economics, political science and legal studies to confront the critical environmental challenges posed by globalization. Initial chapters provide an overview of the key debates related to international trade and climate policy, engaging with empirical data from the US and China to assess the impact of new trade initiatives and policy on greenhouse gas emissions, carbon leakage and the increase of trade in carbon-intensive products. Contributors propose policy options that align international trade with climate change mitigation and address crucial legal and practical implications, including the implementation of Border Carbon Adjustments and international trade disputes. Offering critical and empirically-based perspectives on the future of international trade policy, this timely Handbook is crucial reading for scholars, researchers and graduate students in political science, public policy and climate research. Policymakers will also benefit from its unique and insightful policy recommendations.
Call Number: HF1411 .H2585 2022Publication Date: 2022
Integrated Assessment Models of Climate Change EconomicsPublication Date: 2017
Philosophy and Climate Change
Climate change is poised to threaten, disrupt, and transform human life, and the social, economic, and political institutions that structure it. Philosophy and Climate Change argues that understanding climate change, and discussing how to address it, should be at the very center of our publicconversation. It shows that philosophy can make an enormous contribution to that conversation, but only if both philosophers and non-philosophers understand what it can contribute. The sixteen original articles collected in this volume both illustrate the diverse ways that philosophy can contributeto this conversation, and ways in which thinking about climate change can help to illuminate a range of topics of independent interest to philosophers.
Publication Date: 2021
The Politics of Climate Change Knowledge
This book addresses political knowledge of climate change and its relation to labelling people affected by climate change, either as 'climate refugees' or as 'climate change-induced displaced people or migrants'. By questioning the knowledge of climate change and subsequent labelling of people, this book will spark debate in studies of global climate politics and transnational policy networks. Rather than considering the issue of climate change as a given phenomenon, the author explores how the politicized knowledge of climate change has been produced in international negotiations and how that knowledge is transmitted from global forums to local country levels via climate change action plans and resilience projects. This book introduces the concept of multi-scalar knowledge brokers (MKBs) - individual actors who work at multiple levels (local, national, and international) to transmit the knowledge of climate change from global level to local level. The author uses the primary case study of Bangladesh to demonstrate how the dominant actors in global climate politics - the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), and the World Bank, as well as the USA and the UK - interact with the government and local NGOs in Bangladesh regarding transmitting the knowledge of climate change, labelling the uprooted people, and implementing resilience projects. This book will be of interest to students, scholars, and practitioners of international relations, environmental politics, climate change studies, political ecology, political geography, and migration and displacement studies. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com , has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution- Non Commercial- No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Publication Date: 2022
Public Archaeology and Climate ChangePublication Date: 2017
Understanding Climate Change: A Practical GuidePublication Date: 2021
