Welcome!
This page will help you find reports, articles, and other sources that will provide the necessary context for your class assignments.
Please share with us sources you've found helpful to your class. We will add them to this course guide so that your classmates and future students can know about them too!
Business/Industry Codes
- North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)[Ref HF1042 N67 2007]
Used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC was replaced by the NAICS starting in 1997, but data is still available with SIC-based codes.
Resources to Get You Started - Industry bibliography and overview
- IBISWorldThis database will help you write your Industry Bibliography: learn about your chosen industry and explore its background, major players, and key statistics.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database will help you write your Industry Overview: find peer reviewed articles and industry information about your chosen industry
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis database is helpful for learning about particular companies, news written about them, and financial statements.
Newspaper Articles
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. This archive provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events. Each newspaper or wire service provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and the people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Internet Resources
- Right-to-Know NetworkIncludes links to many databases, including the Toxic Release Inventory. The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a database of information about releases and transfers of toxic chemicals from facilities in certain industrial sectors, including manufacturing, waste handling, mining, and electricity generation. Facilities must also report the total amount of toxic chemicals in waste that they produce.
- AnnualReports.comFree service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner. Many companies also include a responsibility report.
- Company Annual ReportsA listing of annual report on the internet.
- Corporate Annual Reports at the Library of CongressA guide from the Library of Congress with indexes for the vast collection of these reports at the Library.
Citation Guide
Need help with citations?
See the following resources:
Have a citation?
Use the Citation Linker to locate the article.
Grey Literature:
"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by libraries and institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers; i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body."
Examples of grey literature include: conference abstracts, presentations, proceedings; regulatory data; unpublished trial data; government publications; reports (such as white papers, working papers, internal documentation); dissertations/theses; patents; and policies & procedures.