Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Corporate Sustainability Management: A strategic and profit-driven corporate response to environmental and social issues caused through the organization’s primary and secondary activities.
Corporate Social Responsibility: Responsibility of an organization for the impacts of its decisions and activities on society and the environment through transparent and ethical behavior.
3 aspects of sustainability:
Sustainability Websites - Industry environmental trends analysis
A national network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change. Find reports, podcasts, videos and other resources here.
Deloitte: Sustainability & Climate Change
Information and research from the consulting firm on a wide range of sustainability topics.
Dow Jones Sustainability Index
The Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes were launched in 1999 as the first global sustainability benchmarks. The indexes are offered cooperatively by SAM and S&P Dow Jones Indices. The family tracks the stock performance of the world's leading companies in terms of economic, environmental and social criteria. The indexes serve as benchmarks for investors who integrate sustainability considerations into their portfolios, and provide an effective engagement platform for companies who want to adopt sustainable best practices.
Global Reporting Initiative
A non-profit organization that promotes economic, environmental and social sustainability. GRI provides all companies and organizations with a comprehensive sustainability reporting framework that is widely used around the world. These reports, or "GRI reports", are entirely optional for companies and non-profits to provide, as opposed to an annual report for a publicly traded company. Search for individual reports by company name or indsutry in GRI's database here.
A non-profit commited to promoting ethical consumerism. They provide Guides to: Socially Responsible Investing, Community Investing, Fair Trade, and Ending Sweatshops; as well as origical research reports and various "green" publications. Search resources here.
A great resource for green business news and tools. The mission of GreenBiz is to provide clear, concise, accurate, and balanced information, resources, and learning opportunities to help companies of all sizes and sectors integrate environmental responsibility into their operations in a manner that supports profitable business practices. Search reports, surveys, and other resources here.
Greendex (National Geographic)
This quantitative consumer study of 17,000 consumers in a total of 17 countries (14 in 2008) asked about such behavior as energy use and conservation, transportation choices, food sources, the relative use of green products versus traditional products, attitudes towards the environment and sustainability, and knowledge of environmental issues. Includes both the current and previous years survey results.
Network for Business Innovation & Sustainability (NBIS)
NBIS provides Businesses and Professionals who are serious about Profitable Sustainability with the connections, skills, tools, programs, and resources that are vital for success in the Green Economy. The resource library includes many valuable and free reports as PDF files, which can be searched here.
Sustainable Business Institute
Founded in Silicon Valley in 1995, the Institute's mission is to benefit the public by encouraging business leaders to adopt and communicate sustainable business practices.
Provides global news and networking services to help green business grow, covering all sectors: renewable energy, green building, sustainable investing, and organics. The resource page includes a comprehensive list of organizations, databases, and listservs for each sector, which can be searched here.
U.S. Business Council for Sustainable Development
Promoting sustainable development by creating value through action, establishing networks and partnerships, and providing a voice for industry. Case studies provide an in-depth look into how companies are approaching sustainability and are divided into three groups: Business, Biodiversity, and Ecosystem Services; By-Product Synergy; and Water.
World Business Council for Sustainable Development
A CEO-led, global association of some 200 companies dealing exclusively with business and sustainable development.
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies