Reference Sources
African American Slave Narratives by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference E444 .A23 2001ISBN: 0313311684Publication Date: 2001
African Folklore by Call Number: Black Studies GR350 .A33 2004ISBN: 041593933XPublication Date: 2003
Africana by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference DT14 .A37435 1999ISBN: 0465000711Publication Date: 1999
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Computer Basics by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference E185.96 .B539 1999ISBN: 0028653637Publication Date: 2001
Black Writers by Call Number: Black Studies PS153.N5 B567 1989ISBN: 0810327724Publication Date: 1988
Caribbean Popular Music by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference ML102.P66 M67 2006ISBN: 0313331588Publication Date: 2005
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowProvides criticism and commentary on authors and their literary works written by contemporary and modern scholars.
Encyclopedias are a great starting point. They provide background information.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new window The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History provides in-depth overviews of the major areas of research, updated monthly. Includes in-depth peer-reviewed articles and broad coverage of the field, multimedia features embedded in articles, and cross-referenced links to related content. Content ranges from Ancient Cities in the fourth millennium BCE, through the development of kingdoms and nation states, to describing the number of women holding parliamentary seats in the present day.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference E185 .E54 1996ISBN: 0028973453Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedia of African American Politics by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference E185 .S58155 2003ISBN: 0816044759Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference PS153.N5 B675 2006ISBN: 081604967XPublication Date: 2005
Historical dictionary of African American theater by ISBN: 9781538117293"Contains a chronology, introduction, list of acronyms and abbreviations, in-depth chronology, appendixes, and more than 700 cross-references dictionary entries on African American theater"--
Historical Dictionary of African American Theater by Call Number: Main Library PN2270.A35 H53 2009ISBN: 9780810855342Publication Date: 2008
Music of the Civil War Era by Call Number: Music Library, General Collection ML3551.4 .C67 2004 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0313320810
Latino and African American Athletes Today by Call Number: Ethnic & Gender Studies Reference GV697.A1 L345 2004 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 0313320489
African American Architects by Call Number: Reference NA736 .A47 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0415929598
African American Women Writers in New Jersey, 1836-2000 by Call Number: Main Library PS253.N5 M67 2003ISBN: 0813531837Publication Date: 2006
Need a topic? Or want to learn more?
Reference collections are a great place to start your research. You can get lots of background information from encyclopedias or official definitions from dictionaries. They have been thoroughly researched and vetted by scholars and, if worth their salt, include helpful citations and bibliographies. (Unlike a lot of information you find online!)
The titles on this page give you an idea of the vast array of topics covered. If you don't see one relevant to your area of interest, no worries, just go to our Library Catalog and do a search. Whatever it is that you are looking for, chances are, we have it here in the UCSB Library. So before you get your Google on, come down to the Reference Section and check out some serious scholarship. Or ASK A LIBRARIAN to recommend one. It may take a little longer to look things up (minutes rather than seconds), but the quality of the information will more than make up for it!
As always, I am available for assistance should you discover you want some!
Reference Sources
