Journal, News & Magazine Articles
Find Articles, Citations, Reviews, and more in these Indexes and Databases:
- Africa-Wide Information (NiPAD) This link opens in a new windowAn aggregation of bibliographic databases from around the world, this database provides unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowCombines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowContains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes current and retrospective bibliographic citations & abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, as well as full-text coverage of 90 core Black Studies periodicals from 1998 forward.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The database contains citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowArchival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas.
Some others to consider are:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,900 journals and other publications.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowSupplies rare and historically significant 19th-century titles, including primary sources covering disciplines like cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowContains first-hand reports on vents like the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion, early biographies, and vital statistics. Includes access to, The Colored American, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, and Weekly Advocate.
- African Journals Online This link opens in a new windowIt provides the tables of contents (and sometimes abstracts) of over 70 African journals, with links to full text where available.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews
- Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new windowSupports religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research.
- Black Drama This link opens in a new window908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowThe Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFull Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new windowRepresents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProvides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowTopics covered include historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments, voice, dance, music therapy, and other fields as they relate to music, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSupplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Collection of video oral histories. Testimonies reveal the broad scope of narratives of African American men and women who have made significant contributions to American life, history, and culture during the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Note: If you are having trouble accessing this resource content, please try resizing your browser window to allow additional page elements to load. If you are still having trouble, please email library-collections@ucsb.edu for help.
Google Scholar
Search Tips
When searching databases, use AND, OR, quotation marks, asterisks and parentheses.
Combine search terms with AND. Combine synonyms with OR.
"Quotation Marks" - used for phrases like "plastic surgery."
Asterisk * - placed before or at the end to find all variations of a word. For example, *ethics will bring back bioethics. *ethic* might bring back unethical.
Already have the citation? Find an article with citation linker!
# or ? - helps when you know of different ways to spell a word - for example British, American or slang way to spell may be different and you want to keep your search open. Grey vs gray or colour vs color.