Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Studies: Home

Information resources on people of African descent worldwide with emphasis on: the Americas & Africa

Welcome

Hello! Welcome to your Research Guide for Black Studies. This guide will help you get started with library research on people of African descent worldwide, with emphasis on the Americas and Africa. Please contact me directly if you don't find what you need.

 

 

UCSB Library Search is now UC Library Search

Wordmark for UC Library Search

UC Library Search is here! UC Library Search replaces UCSB Library Search and Melvyl, making it easier for you to discover items across the University of California System. 

See the latest news and more information on the:

Roots by Alex Haley

Roots by Alex Haley  --  Henning, Tennessee

Roots by Alex Haley, Part of a wall mural in Henning, Tennessee.

(image credit: retrieved from https://flic.kr/p/Gz842R)

Select Sources

Black Studies Center

The Black Studies Center (BSC) combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies.

Africa-Wide Information (NiPAD)

Africa-Wide Information (NiPAD)

An aggregation of bibliographic databases from around the world, this database provides unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies

Ethnic NewsWatch

The Ethnic NewsWatch database contains news, culture and history from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press.

The Wretched of the Earth

The Wretched of the Earth

The Wretched of the Earth is a brilliant analysis of the psychology of the colonized and their path to liberation. 

The Fire Next Time

The Fire Next Time

James Baldwin expresses the anger and frustration felt by black Americans in today's America.

The Mis-Education of the Negro

The Mis-Education of the Negro

The Mis-Education of the Negro looks at the weakness of Euro-centric based curriculums that fail to include African American history and culture.

Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience

African American Slave Narratives

Chicago Defender - Historical (1909-1975)

Chicago Defender - Historical (1909-1975)

The Chicago Defender is the oldest and most respected African-American newspaper in Chicago. 

The Chicago Defender - Current (1999-present)

Chicago Defender - Current (1999-present)

The Chicago Defender is the oldest and most respected African-American newspaper in Chicago.

Chicago Tribune - Current (1985-present)

Chicago Tribune - Current (1985-present)

The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Angela Chikowero
Contact:
UCSB Library
Room 2523, Ocean Side
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010

Pronouns: she/her/hers
achikowero@ucsb.edu
(805) 893-5873
Website

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies