Black Studies: Websites - The Arts

ART

• African American Art- Howard University. This preservation of 19th- and 20th-century African American, Native American, and other American art provides a unique opportunity to see the work of African American artists in the context of the work of their peers.
• African American Art- Art Institute of Chicago. Provides a rich introduction to over 100 years of noted achievements in painting, sculpture, and printmaking.
• Toward Racial Equality: Harper's Weekly Reports on Black America, 1857-1874. Provides text and cartoons from Harper's Weekly and a simulation game.

FILM

• African American Film Festival Releasing Movement (AFFRM). A film distribution company dedicated to diverse cinematic images.
• ARRAY. ARRAY is the rebirth of the African-American Film Festival Releasing Movement founded by Ava DuVernay in 2010.
• Blackfilm.com. A resource on contemporary Black cinema. Included are reviews of Black produced, directed, or starred films, along with information on upcoming screenings of new films. Also features full-length articles, news about video and DVD releases, as well as information about conferences and other events. 
• Internet Archive. Movies and Films. Watch full-length feature films, classic shorts, world culture documentaries, World War II propaganda, and movie trailers. These options are all featured in this diverse library. 
• Internet Movie Database (IMDB). The world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.
• Indiana University Black Film Center/Internet Sources.  Links to websites for Black actors, directors, producers; organizations and institutes; archives and libraries; distributors; film festivals; film studies; film reviews; publications; posters/photographs; film studios.
• Marlon Riggs Critical Resource Page. This evolving California Newsreel site offers a varied collection of resources on the life and works of Marlon Riggs.
• Separate Cinema. An archive whose focus is to preserve the history and art of African Americans in film. They hold an extensive archive of movie posters, stills, lobby cards, and other materials related to Black cinema. Also included are online exhibits of movie posters in such categories as The Black Family on Film, Soldiers of Freedom, From Micheaux to Morrison, and The New Black Hollywood.

LITERATURE

• African American Women Writers of the 19th Century.  Collection of electronic texts has been assembled from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, focusing on the writers who founded the African American women's literary tradition.
• Black Literature. From Documenting the American South's Library of Southern Literature. Use the subject index to access works.
• Langston Hughes - from An Online Journal and Multimedia Companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry, from the Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
• Voices from the Gaps Women Artists and Writers of Color. A website based in the English Department at the University of Minnesota, is dedicated to bringing together marginalized resources and knowledge about women artists of color to serve secondary and college education across the world.
• Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance. From Poets.org

MUSIC

• Brazilian Music. A source about this music culture and style: articles, interviews and it hosts sites of many Brazilian artists.
• Jazz Roots.  National Park in New Orleans with information about the birthplace of Jazz.
• African American Sheet Music - 1850-1920. Consists of 1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1850 through 1920. The collection includes many songs from the heyday of antebellum black face minstrelsy in the 1850s and from the abolitionist movement of the same period.
• Historic American Sheet Music. Provides access to digital images of 3,042 pieces from the collection, published in America between 1850 and 1920. Drawn from the collections in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, this selection presents a significant perspective on American history and culture.

PHOTOGRAPHY

• New York Public Library Digital Schomburg. Digital images of African Americans in the collections of the NY Public Library's Schomburg Collection.
• Images of African Americans in the 19th Century. This resource will introduce you to the various types of visual images on the African-American experience that are contained in the Photographs and Prints Division of the Schomburg Center as well as other selected units of the Research Libraries of The New York Public Library.
• Pictures of African-Americans during World War II. Items from the National Archives.
• Teenie Harris Archive. Charles "Teenie" Harris was an accomplished African American photographer who, from the 1936 to 1975, chronicled life in the black neighborhoods of the city for the Pittsburgh Courier, one of America's oldest black newspapers.