Streaming Media
- The UCSB Library provides access to streaming videos, including educational and feature films, through its subscription services and databases.
- Faculty may request Kanopy streaming licenses (1 year licenses) for up to 9 films per quarter for Course Reserves/out-of-classroom viewing for courses of any size. Requests must be submitted by Faculty/Instructors via the Library's Course Reserves System.
- Instructional Development allows faculty to search their Film & Video Catalog of more than 7,000 titles available for streaming in UCSB classes.
- Faculty/Instructors, please contact your Subject Librarian or Course Reserves for assistance with instructional media purchases.
Selection of databases with streaming videos
- AP Newsreel Archive This link opens in a new window
The film and video archive of the Associated Press, has launched a YouTube channel featuring newsreel clips from the past and present, some clips may go back as far as the 1890s. The channel is updated daily with content sourced from the AP’s global news network.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture and behavior and the largest, most affordable streaming video collection of its kind. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
- Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival digital library of Internet sites (the WayBack Machine), moving images, texts, audio files, software and other cultural artifacts. Provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
Subject Guide
FAQs, Chat, Email Form, and Research Consultation Appointments.
UCSB Library Information
(805) 893-2478
Music Library
(805) 893-2641