Database Collection
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Indexes journals published throughout the world. Also includes a targeted selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An international organization that promotes creation, access to, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from academic institutions around the world. The NDLTD Union Catalog provides access to over a million ETDs.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
- Open Access Theses & Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
- OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Incorporates EBSCO’s American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. Covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowWiley Online Library contains reference sources, books, and articles on specific topics in anthropology and archaeology.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text anthropological resources from the publications of the American Anthropological Association. Contains more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs covering a range of fields in anthropology.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute, UK). Provides extensive worldwide indexing of publications in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Provides expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. Facilitates research by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects. Use to identify open access journal titles. Journals can be browsed by title or by broad subject area. Articles are searchable by article author or title, ISSN, journal title, abstract, or key words. Full-text is not searchable but is fully accessible.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images with accompanying data, as well as software tools to enable researchers to use the images actively. Allows searching and browsing of images from a wide range of cultures and time periods, focusing on but not limited to the arts. Designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship in art history and many other disciplines.
- Dyabola This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journals and collected works on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology.
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
An international index to 3,000 journals across major scholarly disciplines, with a particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides citations from journals, serials, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports in the fields of geology and geophysics. Topics include energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics.
- Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) Archaeology This link opens in a new windowThe eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is modeled after the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography. It provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. Annual installments cover eight or more major archaeological/cultural traditions from around the world with at least 10,000 pages indexed according to a modified Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) for quick retrieval of information. Each major tradition typically contains an overview by an expert and descriptive materials on 5 to 7 sites. HRAF indexes the information in its collection of ethnography by culture and subject.
Materials Indexed: Books; Journal Articles; Primary Sources; Theses & Dissertations - Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) World Cultures This link opens in a new windowThe Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) are a compilation, indexing, and distribution of a collection of ethnographic and other texts that are indexed by culture and subject, from 400 member institutions located in over 30 nations. HRAF indexes the information in its collection of ethnography by culture and subject. OWC is an acronym for the Outline of World Cultures, a systematic listing of the cultures of the world; an OWC code, or OWC number, is a culture identification code.
Materials Indexed: Books; Journal Articles; Primary Sources; Theses & Dissertations - Oxford Bibliographies in Art History This link opens in a new windowArt history is a vast discipline, geographically, historically, and intellectually. In its initial centuries, art history dealt with Western art, but the boundaries of the field have since expanded. The canon continues to be redefined as histories of art in regions that had previously been ignored are brought into the mainstream. Traditional emphases on European art have been reduced, as the discipline reaches world-wide dimensions in which connections as much as differences have increasingly come into focus.
Materials Indexed: Books - Oxford Handbooks in Archaeology This link opens in a new window
Contains specially-commissioned essays in the field of archaeology offering both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.