Print Sources
Archaeological Method and Theory by ISBN: 0815313055Publication Date: 1999-12-01This Encyclopedia brings together the most recent scientific information on a collection of subjects that are too often - and inconveniently - treated in separate publications. It provides a survey of archaeological method and theory, as well as the application of physical and biological sciences in archaeological research.
Archaeology: the Key Concepts by ISBN: 0415317576Publication Date: 2004-12-23This book provides a thorough survey of the key ideas in archaeology, and how they impact on archaeological thinking and method.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers by ISBN: 052157109XPublication Date: 1999-12-16The Encyclopedia is divided into three parts. The first contains case studies, by leading experts, of over fifty hunting and gathering peoples, in seven major world regions. There is a general introduction and an archaeological overview for each region. Part II contains thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. The final part surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers' encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by ISBN: 0199534055Publication Date: 2008-09-04The second edition is fully revised and updated, now including 150 new entries on archaeological sites, terms, movements, and people, plus extended coverage of archaeological resource management and archaeological theory.The dictionary's primary focus is on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, as these are the regions where archaeology has become an established academic and vocational subject, but it includes key archaeological sites around the world.
Countries and Their CulturesISBN: 0028649508Publication Date: 2001-05-23A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world.
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology by ISBN: 0313247560Publication Date: 1991-08-30This reference dictionary takes a new approach to the study of physical anthropology by focusing on the concepts involved. The history of the usage of each concept is traced from its origins--often outside the discipline of physical anthropology--to the contemporary and usually multidisciplinary contexts in which physical anthropologists participate. Entries clearly delineate both the theoretical development of the concepts under discussion and their applications in physical anthropological practice
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 0313242801Publication Date: 1991-11-18Robert Winthrop's dictionary describes the major concepts that have shaped the discipline, both historically and theoretically. It sets modern anthropology in its proper context within the broader intellectual tradition. Eighty entries review the key concepts--culture, race, nature, symbolism, adaptation, the primitive, etc.--that have established the fundamental problems and issues, guided research, and served as the focus for debate in key areas of the discipline.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 9780415409780Publication Date: 2010-01-20Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by ISBN: 0306477548Publication Date: 2003-12-31The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Glossary of the Third World by ISBN: 0816018421Publication Date: 1989-03-01This reference work defines over 10,000 words dealing with the politics, culture, arts, festivals, legal systems, agriculture, transportation, commerce and customs of Third World countries. It has been designed both to help Westerners understand the basic terms used by various cultures and to act as a guide to the rich diversity of Third World culture.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by ISBN: 0787605522Publication Date: 1997-12-01Examining cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa, these four volumes provide information on history, politics, customs, religion, education, and human rights issues.
Selected Online Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of online reference books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.
- Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology This link opens in a new windowOxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.
- Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies This link opens in a new windowThe field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today’s students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.
- Oxford Handbooks in Archaeology This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks in Archaeology bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in archaeology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students. Currently, there are 17 handbooks available online. Selected titles from the online version are available in print. Other titles in the Oxford Handbooks are only available in print. Search the UCSB Library catalog for more information about these sources. OHO content has permanent DOI at book and essay level as well print and save functions in PDF.
