Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Architecture: Architecture Resources

Resources in Art and Architecture

Some Helpful Web Sites

Background Information

  • Great Buildings
    • Entries including architect, location, date building type, construction materials, and style
  • The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through World History
    • Reference NA7105.S74 2009
  • Index to Italian Architecture
    • Reference NA1111.T4 1992
    • Find interiors, exteriors, plans, elevations, and/or sections in other books
  • Structurae
    •  Free web resource, geared toward structural engineering
    • Contains detailed information about (predominately European) buildings and other structures
  • World Architecture Index 
    •    Reference NA202.T4 1991

Pictorial Architectural Dictionaries

  • Architecture and Ornament: An Illustrated Dictionary
    • Reference NA2840.M36 1998
    • Illustrations arranged by building part precede the dictionary
  • The Grammar of Architecture
    • Reference NA200.G75 2002
    • Arranged by period, contains glossary
  • Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture
    • Reference NA31.B83 2002
    • Entries are arranged alphabetically, with cross-referenced subdivisions
  • Materials, Structures, and Standards: All the Details Architects Need to Know but can Never Find
    • Reference NA2540.M43 2006
    • Included are tables, charts, diagrams, dimensions, standards, codes and general data useful to architects
    • Organized in six chapters
    • Contains a cross-referenced guide
  • Reading Architecture: A Visual Lexicon
    • Reference NA2840.H66 2012
    • Visual guide to architecture
    • Includes a glossary and index
  • The Visual Dictionary of American Domestic Architecture
    • Reference NA7205.C27 1994
    • Strictly visual- no glossary of terms
    • Arranged chronologically by style/type
  • A Visual Dictionary of Architecture
    • Reference NA31.C44 1995
    • Definitions clustered under thematic entries
    • Includes many structural terms

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Chizu Morihara
Contact:
UCSB Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010


Pronouns: she/her/hers
cmorihara@ucsb.edu
(805) 893-2766

Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies