LibGuides: Art and Architecture: Books

FALL 2024

NOTE FOR FALL 2024:

Art & Architecture and Music print collections are inaccessible for public browsing until the opening of the Arts Library but can be requested via UC Library Search.

Please allow time for the request to be processed.

UC Library Search

Advanced Search • Browse Search

WorldCat Discovery @UCSB

WorldCat Discovery @UCSB is a way to find books and other materials located in libraries outside the UC System.

Other Catalogs

Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other resources for research and teaching.
Library of Congress
HathiTrust
Digital repository of scanned books, journals, and other library materials.
All users may access the bibliographic information for materials in the databases.
Full text is viewable for "Full View" materials. Those with UCSBnetID & password can download full text of "Full View" materials.

Art Discovery Group Catalogue This link opens in a new window
Includes the holdings of 36 art libraries and three consortia from Europe, North America, Asia and Australia.
A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Online collection of backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of history of art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, photography, and design.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Users who do not have a UCSBnet ID and password can search Google Scholar without authentication. However, you will not be able to access full text from sites that require a subscription.
- The Google Scholar link in the database list is proxied to allow UCSB users to easily access subscription resources after discovery in Google Scholar.
- The UC has partnered with Google Scholar to allow our users to click on the familiar "Get it at UC" button to reach full text of materials that are available through the UCSB Library.
  - In Google Scholar, expand the menu and select “Settings”
  - Choose “Library links”
  - Search on “university of california, santa barbara”
  - Check the box for "University of California, Santa Barbara - Get it at UC" and save your preferences

Digitized art books & other content

A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Online collection of backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of history of art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, photography, and design.

InterLibrary Loan

Request an item directly from UC Library Search or a database (FASTEST service):

Article Indexes & Research Databases
Look for "Get it at UC" options

Want to renew your ILL items?

Questions? Contact ILL

ill@library.ucsb.edu

(805) 893-3436

UCSB Library - Services Desk