It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTbibliographies Modern indexes publications about modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. It covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Web of Science covers thousands of research journals across hundreds of disciplines as well as conference proceedings and books.To search only Arts & Humanities Citation Index, click on "Citation Databases" near the bottom of the search screen and uncheck the options for "Science Citation Index" and "Social Sciences Citation Index", and the Science sections of Conference Proceedings and Books Citation Indexes. Note that some humanities fields may overlap into the social sciences and sciences.
Date Coverage: Journal Articles: 1975 to present; Conference Proceedings: 1990 to present; Books: 2005 to present
Materials Indexed: Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of arts related subjects from advertising art to video art. This database includes full-text articles and books along with indexing and abstracts from a variety of book, journals, and more in a range of languages.
Date Coverage: indexing 1929 - present; full text 1984 - present
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles
A comprehensive indexing of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design and decoration, and city planning. Avery covers the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. The Bibliography of the History of Art includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989. For information more recent than 2009, use the International Bibliography of Art.
Date Coverage: 1973 - 2009
Materials Indexed: Book Chapters; Books; Conference Proceedings; Journal Articles; Magazine Articles; Theses & Dissertations
The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations & Theses offers UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full-text digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward.
Date Coverage: 1861 - present
Materials Indexed: Theses & Dissertations
DYABOLA, produced by the Deutsches Archologisches Institut, Rome, is an index to scholarly journals and collected works on classical, early Christian, Byzantine, early Medieval, and ancient Middle Eastern art and archaeology. Note: Though the database offers an English language option, much of the interface and help material is still in German.
Date Coverage: 1956 to present.
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Images; Photographs
This database indexes images and information related to the iconographic traditions of the medieval world. Including both Christian, other medieval faith traditions, and secular imagery, records may be searched by subject, location, medium, style, school and a variety of other characteristics.
Date Coverage: Early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the middle of the sixteenth century)
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Images; Photographs
JSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
Project MUSE is a searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Searching is available by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.