Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Department of Energy Data Explorer
- DOE’s officially designated data explorer provide expertise and specialized services to ensure that important data collections are stored appropriately, processed and organized as needed, and made available for reference or reuse. The new Data Explorer consolidates the DOE's data projects, collections, and datasets. Some of the data centers have both a physical and online presence; others, like the Alternative Fuels Data Center, are online “organizations” only. Most of the major centers maintain “raw,” original data resulting from scientific experiments or scientific monitoring activities. After processing or analysis, many of the centers make their data available through customized databases or usable through special toolkits. Some centers also provide statistics, graphs, or other information based on research data. Most centers provide data freely; some require a password for certain collections.
- Energy Statistics
- Reported by the United States Energy Information Administration (EIA), the EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
- International Energy Statistics
- Reported by the International Energy Agency, the IEA is an intergovernmental organization which acts as energy policy advisor to 30 member countries and partners in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens. The IEA conducts a broad program of energy research, data compilation, publications and public dissemination of the latest energy policy analysis and recommendations on good practices.
International Disaster Database (EM-DAT)
EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.[/no-glossary]
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) via the DOE
The Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) is the Department of Energy's (DOE) electronic database comprised of health studies of DOE contract workers and environmental studies of areas surrounding DOE facilities. DOE recognizes the benefits of data sharing and supports the public's right to know about worker and community health risks. CEDR provides independent researchers and the public with access to de-identified data collected since the Department's early production years. Current CEDR holdings include more than 76 studies of over 1 million workers at 31 DOE sites. Access to these data is at no cost to the user.
Committee on Earth Observation Satellites Data & Tools
Large repository of datasets for the sciences. Search for data by keyword, subject area (agriculture, climate indicator, etc.), instrument, platform, location, or provider.
Environmental Data Explorer
The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by the United Nations Environment Programme and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.
National Snow and Ice Data Center
NSIDC archives and distributes digital and analog snow and ice data and also maintains information about snow cover, avalanches, glaciers, ice sheets, freshwater ice, sea ice, ground ice, permafrost, atmospheric ice, paleoglaciology, and ice cores.
EPA's Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG)
The EDG is a gateway which facilitates discovery of geospatial and non-geospatial data resources made available by EPA's Program Offices, Regions, and Laboratories.
Copyright © 2008-2019 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
UCSB Library (805) 893-2478 • Music Library (805) 893-2641 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact Us • Policies