Skip to Main Content

UCSB Reads 2022


Each year, a committee of faculty, staff, students, and community partners convene to select an intellectually stimulating, interdisciplinary book by a living author that appeals to a wide range of readers and can be incorporated into the UCSB curriculum. Each committee member suggests two titles to the longlist, which is narrowed down by vote to the "shortlist". The final book is chosen by vote from these five titles. Below is the list of 2021-2022 committee members.

Committee Members

Name Affiliation
Rebecca Baker Graduate Student, English
Lupita Barragan UCSB Alumni
Ines D. Casillas Faculty, Chicana and Chicano Studies
Brian Donnelly Faculty, English
Jackson Eddy  UCSB Undergraduate Student
Bergen Forshay UCSB Undergraduate Student
Allison Gray  Director, Goleta Valley Public Library
Michelle Grue Faculty, College of Creative Studies and Writing Program
Emily Jacobs Faculty, Psychological & Brain Sciences
Aaron Jones Director, Educational Opportunity Program
Bruce Kendall Faculty, Bren School
Dylan Martinez UCSB Undergraduate Student
Patrick McCray Faculty, History
Maria Napoli Community College Programs Manager, Center for Science and Engineering Partnerships
Erin Nerstad Associate Director, Interdisciplinary Humanities Center
Sharleen O'Brien Director, UCSB Health and Wellness
Caitlin O'Hara Senior Publicist, UCSB Arts & Lectures
Sameer Pandya Faculty, Asian-American Studies
Behrooz Parhami Faculty, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Kathy Patterson Faculty, Writing Program
David Pellow Faculty, Environmental Studies
Alex Regan UCSB Librarian