Digital Resources for Film & Media Studies: Television

Vanderbilt Television News Archive - The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

C-Span Video Library - Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.

 UCLA Film & Television Archive provides access to a selection of episodes from Insight (1960-1983), a religious anthology program and a highlights from their collection of more than 80 episodes of the anthology drama U.S. Steel Hour (1953-1963)  

Preserving Guerrilla Television (UC Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive) - digitized footage and documented related to the video collective Top Value Television (TVTV)  documentaries. Four More Years (1972), The World's Largest TV Studio (1972), and Gerald Ford's America (1975) 

Just for the Record (Amistad Research Center, New Orleans, LA) - Just for the Record, "Lesbian and Gay Television," was a monthly program produced in New Orleans from 1987 to 1993, and was one of the city’s first LGBT+ television shows, covering both local and national topics of interest to the gay and lesbian community. 

Milwaukee Gay Lesbian Cable Network 1987-1994 (University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee) - MGLCN was established by individuals to produce regular programming on local gay and lesbian issues. MGLCN produced Tri-Cable Tonight, a monthly news and entertainment program; the New Tri-Cable Tonight, a panel discussion program; and Yellow on Thursday, a comedy show featuring shorts, skits, and parodies. View the finding aid for the collection.

Media Burn - The Media Burn Archive is a collection of over 6,000 independent, non-corporate tapes that reflect cultural, political and social reality as seen by independent producers, from 1969 to the present.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting - includes digitized historic programs of publicly funded radio and television from across the United States; you can facet by year after your initial search, but note that  less than half of all records for digitized assets are currently dated, as cataloging is still in progress.

In the Life (UCLA Film & Television Archive) - digitized archive of In the Life, television's longest running LGBTQ  news magazine, which premiered in 1992 on WNYC-TV.  

American Masters Digital Archive includes unreleased interviews with musicians, filmmakers, artists, historians, writers, comedians, journalists and others that were originally recorded for PBS American Masters documentaries. The collection includes 1000+ records from more than 40 episodes.

The Hauser Oral History Collection (The Cable Center) -- includes audio and video recordings of oral histories from more than 360 cable operators, programmers, engineers, financiers, and content creators, providing first-hand stories on the creation and expansion of the cable industry.

The Interviews: An Oral History of Television (Television Academy Foundation) -- includes video recordings of oral histories from individuals involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry.

British Entertainment History Project - "For the past thirty years, The British Entertainment History Project has been recording the stories of men and women working in the UK film, television, theatre, and radio industries to ensure that information on their lives and experiences is preserved for future generations."