Find Articles
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as the International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA), the Performing Arts Periodicals Database (PAPD) draws its content from more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, of which 33 are currently available in full text from 1998-present, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe main database International Index to Film Periodicals contains more than 300,000 article references from more than 300 periodicals. The database, which cumulates citations from the annual printed volume, offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. Every year more than 12,000 new records are added. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects). A separate scientific thesaurus can be used to find links between different subject headings.
These are only a few of the databases available to you through UCSB Library. For the full list of databases, see Article Indexes & Research Databases or sort by subject for all databases recommended for Film & Media Studies.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is a bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts currently indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
- Africa-Wide Information (NiPAD) This link opens in a new window
Africa-Wide Information, produced by NISC South Africa, combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. This includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.5 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century, this resource is essential for those with an interest in African research, and information on and about Africa.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowIndexes primarily western-language articles and book chapters on all topics pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia (especially humanities and social sciences).
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new windowThe Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. The comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music makes Music Index an invaluable resource for both novice and scholar. Music Index cites: • Book Reviews • Obituaries • News Periodicals • News and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry
- Communication Source (including Communication Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowCommunication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.
Communication Source combines Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts to provide full-text access to more than 700 journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 1,000 core journals. Coverage dating goes back to 1900.
Content is derived from academic journals, conference papers, conference proceedings, trade publications, magazines and periodicals. Content development for Communication Source is guided by expert advisers who are academic librarians and communication bibliographers from leading international institutions. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Searches may be limited to a specific subject category of journals.
- Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Searching is available by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. The database contains citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented. Also available as a separate database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Looking for film reviews?
Try searching these film indexes, catalogs, and academic journals for film reviews.
Tip: Do a keyword search for your film title.
Add a director or actor last name if the title is a common word or phrase.
Pro Tip: Use quotation marks if there is more than one word in the title.
Examples:
"The Kid" AND Chaplin | "Fried Green Tomatoes" | "Kung Fu Hustle"