The Center for Home Movies is a good place to begin learning more about the movements to preserve home movies. Amateur Cinema and The Amateur Movie Database are good starting points for learning more about the international history of amateur movie making, amateur filmmakers, genres, and movie clubs.
UCSB Library Catalog Search Tip:
Subject: "amateur films"
African American Carnival Films (Amistad Research Center & Tulane University)
The Great Migration Home Movie Project (National Museum of African American History and Culture)
Israel Film Archive / Jerusalem Cinematheque
Memories to Light (Center for Asian American Media)
Memoryscapes (The National Family Film Archive, Home Movies Association)
National Film Preservation Foundation (NFPF)
National Cinema of Chile includes a collection of home movies from multiple families (1920-1980)
Okinawa Archives Laboratory includes a collection of 8mm home movies from Okinawa on their website and Vimeo.
Prelinger Archives (Internet Archive)
Pyrénées-Méditerranée Film Memory (The Jean Vigo Institute)
The South Side Home Movie Project (The University of Chicago)
Texas Archive of the Moving Image (category: "home movies")
Alan Lewis Collection (Indiana University Bloomington) - Photographs of equipment (movie cameras, projectors, editing and viewing equipment) as well as scanned instructional manuals provide insight into the technological aspects of creating, editing, and exhibiting home movies and amateur film.
Media History Digital Library - Scanned trade magazines provide insight into the technological aspects of creating, editing, and exhibiting home movies and amateur film.