Scientific Writing Guides
Below is a list of books and other resources giving pointers on technical and scientific writing, including citation/style guides.
Writing and Presentation Resources
- WAC Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowThe WAC Clearinghouse provides access to digital books and journals addressing writing and speaking across the disciplines, including the sciences. Search by keyword (truncation is available) to find articles and book chapters on your area of interest.
- ACS Webinar series on Scientific Writing (http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/acs-webinars/collections/writing.html)
This is a series of recent webinars from the American Chemical Society on effective writing for scholarly articles, proposals and grant applications.
Academic & Scientific Poster Presentation: a modern comprehensive guide by ISBN: 3319612808Publication Date: 2017
Academic Writing for Engineering Publications" A Guide for Non-Native English Speakers by
This textbook is designed for non-native English speakers who need to write scientific and engineering research articles, technical reports, engineering thesis, academic books, and other technical documents in English. The author focuses on formal academic writing in a professional language and frame. The book is written in standard English and provides useful guidelines on development of thoughts, organization of ideas, construction of paragraphs and sentences, and choices of precise words. It also pays attention to details such as visual creation, punctuation, and format. Informal writing is excluded from the scope of this practical guideline.
ISBN: 9783030993634Publication Date: 2022-07-20
The Art of Scientific Writing by Call Number: QD \9.15 .E23 2004ISBN: 3527298290Publication Date: 2004-03-12
Championing Science> communincating your ideas to decision makers by ISBN: 9780520970182Publication Date: 2019-01-22
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science by Call Number: Sciences & Engineering T10.5 .M65 2017 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780226144504Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Clear and Concise Communications for Scientists and Engineers by ISBN: 9781439854808Publication Date: 2012-03-05
Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively by ISBN: 9780128017098Publication Date: 2015-09-03
Communicating Rocks: writing, speaking and thinking about geology by Call Number: QE 48.85 .C67 2012ISBN: 9780321689672Publication Date: 2011-07-10
Communicating Science: professional, popular, literary by Call Number: Q 223 ..R87 2010ISBN: 9780521113830Publication Date: 2009-10-15
Communicating Science Clearly A Self-Help Guide For Students and Researchers by ISBN: 9781003206828Publication Date: 2023
Communicating with Data by
Communication is a critical yet often overlooked part of data science. Communicating with Data aims to help students and researchers write about their insights in a way that is both compelling and faithful to the data. General advice on science writing is also provided, including how todistill findings into a story and organize and revise the story, and how to write clearly, concisely, and precisely. This is an excellent resource for students who want to learn how to write about scientific findings, and for instructors who are teaching a science course in communication or a coursewith a writing component.Communicating with Data consists of five parts. Part I helps the novice learn to write by reading the work of others. Part II delves into the specifics of how to describe data at a level appropriate for publication, create informative and effective visualizations, and communicate an analysispipeline through well-written, reproducible code. Part III demonstrates how to reduce a data analysis to a compelling story and organize and write the first draft of a technical paper. Part IV addresses revision; this includes advice on writing about statistical findings in a clear and accurate way,general writing advice, and strategies for proof reading and revising. Part V offers advice about communication strategies beyond the page, which include giving talks, building a professional network, and participating in online communities. This book also provides 22 portfolio prompts that extendthe guidance and examples in the earlier parts of the book and help writers build their portfolio of data communication.
Publication Date: 2021
Crackle and Fizz: essential communication and pitching skills for scientists by Call Number: Q 221 .V36 2014ISBN: 9781783262830Publication Date: 2014
The Craft of Research by Call Number: Q 180.55 .M44 C73 2016ISBN: 9780226239736Publication Date: 2016-10-18
The Craft of Scientific Writing by
The Craft of Scientific Writing is designed to help scientists and engineers - both professionals already active in the disciplines as well as students preparing to enter the professions - write about their work clearly and effectively. Written for use as a text in courses on scientific writing, the book includes many useful suggestions about approaching a wide variety of writing tasks from journal papers to grant proposals and from emails to formal reports, as well as a concise guide to style and usage appropriate for scientific writing. Also useful for self-study, the book will be an important reference for all scientists and engineers who need to write about their work. With this new and updated fourth edition, while most technical writing texts have gotten larger over the years, this one has streamlined, to provide busy readers with the essence of what distinguishes the style of the best scientific documents. With this new edition, readers will learn not just how to organize information, but how to emphasize the key details of that information. Also, readers will not just learn how to cast their ideas into precise and clear sentences, but how to connect these sentences in an energetic fashion. In the section on language, the new edition goes into much depth about how to make connections between ideas: an important issue that few technical writing texts address. Moreover, the new edition integrates the discussion of illustrations with language because those two aspects of style are so intertwined. Finally, the new edition does a better job of explaining how to make the process of writing more efficient. From a review of the first edition: "A refreshing addition to a genre dominated by English teacher-style textbooks. Instead of listing rules that constrain writers, the book uses examples to lay out the path to successful communication ... Especially helpful (and entertaining) is the chapter on the writing process. Anyone who has spent more time avoiding a writing task than actually doing it will appreciate Alley's tips." -Dr. Ellen Ochoa, Deputy Director of Flight Crew Operations, Johnson Space Center
ISBN: 9781441982872Publication Date: 2018-04-06
Displaying Your Findings by Call Number: BF 76.8 .N53 2003ISBN: 9781433807077Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Effective science communication : a practical guide to surviving as a scientist by ISBN: 9780750311700Publication Date: 2016
Effective Writing in Psychology: Papers, Posters, and Presentations by ISBN: 9781118242193Publication Date: 2012-03-22
The Elements of Technical Writing by Call Number: T 11 .P382 2010ISBN: 9780205583812Publication Date: 2009-06-19
Engineering Writing by Design by
Engineers are smart people. Their work is important, which is why engineering material should be written as deliberately and carefully as it will be read. Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Documents of Lasting Value demonstrates how effective writing can be achieved through engineering-based thinking. Based on the authors' combined experience as engineering educators, the book presents a novel approach to technical writing, positioning formal writing tasks as engineering design problems with requirements, constraints, protocols, standards, and customers (readers) to satisfy. Specially crafted for busy engineers and engineering students, this quick-reading, conversational text: Describes how to avoid logical fallacies and use physical reasoning to catch mistakes in claims Covers the essentials of technical grammar and style as well as the elements of mathematical exposition Emphasizes the centrality of the target audience, and thus the need for clear and concise prose Engineering Writing by Design: Creating Formal Documents of Lasting Value addresses the specific combination of thinking and writing skills needed to succeed in modern engineering. Its mantra is: to write like an engineer, you must think like an engineer. Featuring illustrative examples, chapter summaries and exercises, quick-reference tables, and recommendations for further reading, this book is packed with valuable tips and information practicing and aspiring engineers need to become effective writers.
ISBN: 9781315222547Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by Call Number: T11 .H582 2014ISBN: 9781783264216Publication Date: 2014-06-25
The Essentials of Technical Communication by Call Number: T 11 .T295 2015ISBN: 9780199379996Publication Date: 2014-11-18
Explaining Research: How to Reach Key Audiences to Advance Your Work by
Explaining Research is the most comprehensive guide to research communication. It offers practical tools and techniques to effectively reach professional and lay audiences important to researchers’ success. These audiences include colleagues, potential collaborators, officers in funding agencies and foundations, donors, institutional leaders, corporate partners, students, legislators, family and friends, journalists, and the public. The book also includes strategies to guide research communication, as well as insights from leading science journalists and research communicators. The book shows how to develop a communication “strategy of synergy”; give compelling talks; build a professional website; create quality posters, images, animations, graphs, charts, videos, e-newsletters, blogs, podcasts, and webinars; write popular articles and books; persuade funding decision makers; produce news releases and other content that attract media coverage; give effective media interviews; serve as a public educator in schools and science centers; and protect against communication traps.
ISBN: 9780197571330Publication Date: 2021
Geowriting, a Guide to Writing, Editing, and Printing in Earth Science by Call Number: QE 48/85 .G44 1995ISBN: 9780922152148Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Grant Writing from the Ground Up by
A career in science relies on developing the skill to convince strangers to give you enormous sums of money. So why do so many scientists write terrible research proposals? Grant Writing from the Ground Up presents a step-by-step process to construct compelling grant proposals that rise to the top of a reviewer's stack.
ISBN: 9781510647169Publication Date: 2021-12-30
A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing by
A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for writing research papers and career management In order to be truly successful in the biomedical professions, one must have excellent communication skills and networking abilities. Of equal importance is the possession of sufficient clinical knowledge, as well as a proficiency in conducting research and writing scientific papers. This unique and important book provides medical students and residents with the most commonly encountered topics in the academic and professional lifestyle, teaching them all of the practical nuances that are often only learned through experience. Written by a team of experienced professionals to help guide younger researchers, A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing features ten sections composed of seventy-four chapters that cover: qualities of research scientists; career satisfaction and its determinants; publishing in academic medicine; assessing a researcher's scientific productivity and scholarly impact; manners in academics; communication skills; essence of collaborative research; dealing with manipulative people; writing and scientific misconduct: ethical and legal aspects; plagiarism; research regulations, proposals, grants, and practice; publication and resources; tips on writing every type of paper and report; and much more. An easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for scientific research Emphasizes good communication skills, sound clinical judgment, knowledge of research methodology, and good writing skills Offers comprehensive guidelines that address every aspect of the medical student/resident academic and professional lifestyle Combines elements of a career-management guide and publication guide in one comprehensive reference source Includes selected personal stories by great researchers, fascinating writers, inspiring mentors, and extraordinary clinicians/scientists A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing is an excellent interdisciplinary text that will appeal to all medical students and scientists who seek to improve their writing and communication skills in order to make the most of their chosen career.
ISBN: 9781118907429Publication Date: 2020-01-09
A Guide to Writing as an Engineer by Call Number: T 11 .B396 2014ISBN: 9781118300275Publication Date: 2013-05-21
Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing by
Investigators, their home institutions, and funding agencies play significant roles in the development and outcomes of scientific projects. Submitting a proposal to a funding agency is only one dimension of a multivariable and complex funding process, and understanding this is a good first step toward unlocking the puzzle behind why some research p
ISBN: 9780429062599Publication Date: 2011-10-25
The Handbook of Technical Writing by Call Number: T 11 .A47 2015ISBN: 9781457675522Publication Date: 2015-02-12
How to Do Your Dissertation in Geography and Related Disciplines by Call Number: LB 2369 .P36 2005ISBN: 0415341558Publication Date: 2005-01-21
How to Publish in Biological Sciences: A Guide for the Uninitiated by
This book is a guide specifically for Early Career Researchers on how to publish in the Biological Sciences, whether that be your first manuscript or if you're already experienced - there's something for everyone. Following on from How to Write a PhD in Biological Sciences: A Guide for the Uninitiated, it will guide you through taking your manuscript to publication in peer-reviewed journals and disseminating your research more broadly. It talks you through the peer-review process, including how to respond to reviewers' comments, the meaning and importance of Impact Factors and how to get citations. It also explores the challenges in the academic community around Open Access and other debates, including transparency, overlay journals, paywalls, publication bias, predatory journals and the dangers of bullying. Whether you are a student just completing your studies, or a supervisor struggling with rejections, this book will provide the insider information you need to get ahead.
ISBN: 9781003220886Publication Date: 2022-07-29
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 9th Edition by
Thoroughly updated throughout, this classic, practical text on how to write and publish a scientific paper takes its own advice to be "as clear and simple as possible." "The purpose of scientific writing," according to Barbara Gastel and Robert A. Day, "is to communicate new scientific findings. Science is simply too important to be communicated in anything other than words of certain meaning." This clear, beautifully written, and often funny text is a must-have for anyone who needs to communicate scientific information, whether they're writing for a professor, other scientists, or the general public. The thoughtfully revised ninth edition retains the most important material--including preparing text and graphics, publishing papers and other types of writing, and plenty of information on writing style--while adding up-to-date advice on copyright, presenting online, identifying authors, creating visual abstracts, and writing in English as a non-native language. A set of valuable appendixes provide ready reference, including words and expressions to avoid, SI prefixes, a list of helpful websites, and a glossary. Students and working scientists will want to keep How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper at their desks and refer to it at every stage of writing and publication. Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper, from the title and abstract to each section of the main text to acknowledgments and references Explains step-by-step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations, writing proposals, and writing for a general audience Presents updated information throughout and new material on timely topics like copyright and presenting online
Call Number: T11 .D33 2022ISBN: 9781440878824Publication Date: 2022-06-30
How to Write a PhD in Biological Sciences by
You don't have to be a genius to write a PhD. Of course, it will always involve a lot of hard work and dedication, but the process of writing is a whole lot easier if you understand the basic ground rules. This book is a guide through the dos and don'ts of writing a PhD. It will be your companion from the point when you decide to do a PhD, providing practical guidance to getting started, all the way through the nuts and bolts of the writing and editing process. It will also help you to get - and stay - in the right mental framework and establish good habits from the beginning, putting you in a commanding position later on. Examples are tailored to the biological sciences, offering a unique reference for PhD students in these disciplines. Embarking on a PhD doesn't need to be daunting, even if it's your first experience working within academia. Each short section focuses on writing - considered by many to be the most difficult aspect of a PhD - and delves into a practical detail of one aspect, from the title to the supplementary material. Whether you're a student just starting your studies, an early career researcher or a supervisor struggling to cope, the book provides the insider information you need to get ahead.
ISBN: 9781003212560Publication Date: 2021-11-29
How to write technical reports : understandable structure, good design, convincing presentation by ISBN: 9783662581070Publication Date: 2019
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by ISBN: 9781119070115Publication Date: 2017-08-30
It Goes without Saying: Taking the Guesswork Out of Your PhD in Engineering by ISBN: 9780262378987Publication Date: 2024
Learning to Communicate in Science and Engineering by ISBN: 9780262310628Publication Date: 2010-02-05
Making Sense: a student's guide to research and writing : geography & environmental sciences by Call Number: G 70 .N67 2007ISBN: 9780195425895Publication Date: 2007-01-27
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing by
This self-help guide is intended for scientists and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English. If you want not only to write but to write well, this book is for you. This second edition takes into account new developments in the area of scientific communication. In particular, the importance of authenticity is addressed, drawing attention to the sensitive issue of plagiarism in scientific texts.
ISBN: 9783642394454Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Mastering Technical Communication Skills by
To live is to communicate, and to communicate with confidence is a craft that one will do well to master early rather than later in life. If only the gift of the gab were enough to sail smoothly through the rough waters that the tough world is teeming with, every glib conversationalist would have a successful vocation, but that's not the case. The means of communication come naturally to human beings, but the skills that make communicating worthwhile and meaningful do not. Thankfully, anyone who wishes to can learn--and even perfect--these skills. This concise handbook focuses on the ways in which students can develop a robust career after completing their academic studies. The foundational work of nurturing and strengthening individual abilities begins during university life, but these skills need to be complemented with strategies that help the student turned professional to not only interact well with society but also earn its respect through clear, precise, and honest communication. Talent needs to be matched with competence, and the book shows exactly how one goes about doing that. It spells out the ingredients of a sound and strategic action plan that definitively aligns one's goals with one's aspirations, no matter how lofty. This plan has to be closely related to the choices, conditions, and possibilities that will be available for the kind of education and experience that individuals have and the aspirations they harbor. Students entering high school or university can use the book to review the necessary courses to choose during their academic life. Young people will find solid guidelines in it that provide a structure for planning and focusing on the skills needed when one embarks upon a fulfilling career.
ISBN: 9781315364377Publication Date: 2017-03-27
Mentoring and Co-Writing for Research Publication Purposes by
Mentoring and Co-Writing for Research Publication Purposes addresses a major gap in our knowledge of how doctoral supervision relationships in the sciences are enacted as writing pedagogy. Based on a multiple-case study of three student-supervisor pairs in environmental sciences, neurosciences and biochemistry as they each prepared a research article for publication, this book offers a finely grained and studied analysis of the role of joint authorship in scaffolding research writing development in the sciences. This book: * Critically engages with a range of approaches to studying doctoral education and writing practices. * Formulates a wide-lens methodology to capture, analyse and interpret the multimodal interactions between co-authors and their evolving text. * Describes writing-oriented supervision meetings in terms of their social and spatial configurations and analyses the roles of supervisor and student vis-à-vis each other and their evolving text. * Builds theory on how supervisors enculturate their students into the intricate social negotiations at the heart of academic peer review. * Describes how certain genre conventions and textual patterns both emerge from and contribute to the observed writing practices. Paving the way for future research into co-authoring practices by supervisors and students in postgraduate settings, Mentoring and Co-Writing for Research Publication Purposes is a valuable resource for researchers and advanced students interested in doctoral supervision and writing for research publication purposes.
ISBN: 9781003152637Publication Date: 2021-09-30
Mindful Technical Writing: An Introduction to the Fundamentals by Publication Date: 2021
Mind Your Writing: How to be a Professional Academic Writer by
Are you minding your writing? Are you deliberately taking the myriad decisions that academic writing asks you to take? Do you know yourself as a writer well enough? Not at all, or not as much as you wish? I thought so. Why else would you pick up this book?
Don’t feel ashamed. We all have our writing weaknesses that we don’t want to look at too closely – or that someone else will detect. Don’t hide yourself, because that won’t make your situation any better. As painful as it might be, looking at your writing weaknesses – as well as...
ISBN: 9783847415923Publication Date: 2021
Oral Communication Excellence for Engineers and Scientists by ISBN: 9781627051286Publication Date: 2013-07-01
The Pathway to Publishing: a Guide to Quantitative Writing in the Health Sciences by
Writing manuscripts is central to the advance of scientific knowledge. For an early career aspiring scientist, writing first author manuscripts is an opportunity to develop critical skills and to credential their expertise. Writing manuscripts, however, is difficult, doubly so for scientists who use English as a second language. Many science students intentionally avoid a writing-intensive curriculum. Careful, thorough reviews of draft manuscripts are difficult to secure, and experienced scientific supervisors face more demands on their time than they have time available. Weak draft manuscripts discourage supervising scientists investing the time to coach revisions. It is easier for experienced scientists to ignore the request, or to simply rewrite the article. Early career scientists are motivated to address these barriers but specific advice is difficult to find, and much of this advice is behind a pay wall. This essential, open access text presents writing lessons organized as common errors, providing students and early-career researchers with an efficient way to learn, and mentors with a quick-reference guide to reviewing. Error descriptions include specific examples drawn from real-world experiences of other early-career writers, and suggestions for how to successfully address and avoid these in the future. Versions of this book have been used by Stanford University, UC Davis, Johns Hopkins, and numerous international institutions and organizations for over a decade.
ISBN: 9783030981747Publication Date: 2022-06-01
Persuasive Communication for Science and Technology Leaders: Writing and Speaking with Confidence by ISBN: 9781119573227Publication Date: 2022-12-01
Planning, Proposing, and Presenting Science Effectively: a guide for graduate students and researchers in the behavioral sciences and biology by Call Number: QH 315 .H25 2006ISBN: 9780521826471Publication Date: 2006-11-02
A Pocket Guide to Scientific Writing in Aquaculture Research by ISBN: 9780429322648Publication Date: 2021-11-16
A Practical Guide to Scientific Writing in Chemistry by ISBN: 9781003186748Publication Date: 2023-03-30
The Predatory Paradox : Ethics, Politics, and Practices in Contemporary Scholarly PublishingISBN: 1805111361Publication Date: 2023
Preparing and Delivering Scientific Presentations by ISBN: 9783642158889Publication Date: 2011-01-27
Presentation Skills for Scientists: A Practical Guide by Publication Date: 2018
Presentation Skills for Scientists and Engineers by
This book provides concise and effective tips spanning all relevant areas to deliver engaging scientific presentations. Readers will strengthen their skills in preparing, practicing and delivering presentations at both physical and virtual conferences and seminars. Best practices for structuring presentations and elements to include and those to exclude such as detailed sections on the use of videos, animations and tables are included. Common errors often seen in scientific presentations are highlighted along with tips on how to interact with audiences and keep them engaged. This will be a valuable resource for scientists in all areas of chemistry and materials science as well as engineers who wish to elevate their scientific presentations.
ISBN: 9783030660680Publication Date: 2021-03-20
Presenting Data: How to Communicate Your Message Effectively by Call Number: Note: Login with UCSBnetID and password is required.ISBN: 9781118901861Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Publishing Journal Articles: a scientific guide for new authors worldwide by Publication Date: 2021
Research and Technical Writing for Science and Engineering by
Engineering and science research can be difficult for beginners because scientific research is fraught with constraints and disciplines. Research and Technical Writing for Science and Engineering breakdowns the entire process of conducting engineering and scientific research. This book covers those fascinating guidelines and topics on conducting research, as well as how to better interact with your advisor. Key Features: advice on conducting a literature review, conducting experiments, and writing a good paper summarizing your findings. provides a tutorial on how to increase the impact of research and how to manage research resources. By reflecting on the cases discussed in this book, readers will be able to identify specific situations or dilemmas in their own lives, as the authors provide comprehensive suggestions based on their own experiences.
ISBN: 9781003139058Publication Date: 2022-02-27
Research Methodology and Scientific Writing by
This book presents a guide for research methodology and scientific writing covering various elements such as finding research problems, writing research proposals, obtaining funds for research, selecting research designs, searching the literature and review, collection of data and analysis, preparation of thesis, writing research papers for journals, citation and listing of references, preparation of visual materials, oral and poster presentation in conferences, and ethical issues in research . Besides introducing library and its various features in a lucid style, the latest on the use of information technology in retrieving and managing information through various means are also discussed in this book. The book is useful for students, young researchers, and professionals.
ISBN: 9783030648640Publication Date: 2021-02-25
Responsible Conduct of Research by
Responsible Conduct of Research provides an overview of ethical, legal, and social issues in scientific research for science students, trainees, and professional scientists. This book gives an in-depth analysis of a wide array of topics, including ethical theory and decision-making,misconduct, questionable research practices, research record-keeping, data sharing, data auditing, reproducibility, authorship, publication, peer review, intellectual property, conflict of interest, mentoring, safe research environment, animal experimentation, research with human subjects, andsocial responsibility. Authors Adil E. Shamoo and David B. Resnik include several case studies and questions at the end of each chapter that can serve as a basis for further analysis and discussion. The concluding chapter of the book describes some steps that researchers, institutional officials,government agencies, and scientific organizations can take to promote ethical conduct in scientific research.In this 4th edition of Responsible Conduct of Research has been updated to include references and discussions of new and evolving topics, such as digital image manipulation, self-plagiarism, retractions, publication on pre-print servers, harassment, research with human biological samples, revisionsto the Common Rule for research with human subjects, dual use research, the COVID-19 pandemic, providing science advice, and interactions with the media.
ISBN: 9780197547113Publication Date: 2022-05-13
A Roadmap to Successful Scientific Publishing by
In the age of "publish or perish," this book provides everything one needs to know about conducting research and successfully publishing it in a scientific journal. The reader learns about the complete process of scientific publishing: from selecting the most appropriate research design, to obtaining permissions and funding, to resourcefully presenting the research results in a poster and oral presentation. Additionally, the practical tips provided here help the reader formulate a compelling scientific article and choose the most suitable journal (subscription vs. the various open access modalities) for their publication. This book also addresses "invisible aspects" of scholarly publishing that are nonetheless important and that everyone should know and understand: avoiding predatory journals, understanding the editor's perspective, and becoming familiar with the various research metrics (from author to journal) that can all determine success or failure of a publication. Written in an informal style in which the author shares personal perspectives and experiences, the book is easily accessible to the reader. The book offers early career scientists in biomedicine and medicine a unique perspective on publishing research articles and how this process can enhance the authors' "scientific value" within the scientific ecosystem as well as their personal CVs.
ISBN: 9783030992941Publication Date: 2022-04-23
Routledge Handbook of Public Communication of Science and Technology, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 9781003039242Publication Date: 2021-02-28
The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication by
Given current science-related crises facing the world such as climate change, the targeting and manipulation of DNA, GMO foods, and vaccine denial, the way in which we communicate science matters is vital for current and future generations of scientists and publics. The Routledge Handbook of Scientific Communication scrutinizes what we value, prioritize, and grapple with in science as highlighted by the rhetorical choices of scientists, students, educators, science gatekeepers, and lay commentators. Drawing on contributions from leading thinkers in the field, this volume explores some of the most pressing questions in this growing field of study, including: How do issues such as ethics, gender, race, shifts in the publishing landscape, and English as the lingua franca of science influence scientific communication practices? How have scientific genres evolved and adapted to current research and societal needs?　 How have scientific visuals developed in response to technological advances and communication needs?　 How is scientific communication taught to a variety of audiences?　 Offering a critical look at the complex relationships that characterize current scientific communication practices in academia, industry, government, and elsewhere, this Handbook will be essential reading for students, scholars, and professionals involved in the study, practice, and teaching of scientific, medical, and technical communication. 　
ISBN: 9781003043782Publication Date: 2021-12-20
Science Research Writing for non-native speakers of English by Call Number: PE 1475 ..G57 2010ISBN: 9781848163096Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Science Videos: a user's manual for scientific communication by ISBN: 9783319695129Publication Date: 2018
The Science Writers' Handbook by Call Number: T11 .S35 2013ISBN: 9780738216560Publication Date: 2013-04-30
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing by
This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals. It also describes how to address referees' comments, approaches for composing other types of scientific communications, and key linguistic aspects of scientific writing.
ISBN: 9781441997876Publication Date: 2011-05-13
Scientific Communication by
This book addresses the roles and challenges of people who communicate science, who work with scientists, and who teach STEM majors how to write. In terms of practice and theory, chapters address themes encountered by scientists and communicators, including ethical challenges, visual displays, and communication with publics, as well as changed and changing contexts and genres. The pedagogy section covers topics important to instructors' everyday teaching as well as longer-term curricular development. Chapters address delivery of rhetorically informed instruction, communication from experts to the publics, writing assessment, online teaching, and communication-intensive pedagogies and curricula. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.tandfebooks.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781315160191Publication Date: 2017-09-18
Scientific Papers and Presentations, 3rd ed. by
Electronic publishing and electronic means of text and data presentation have changed enormously since the first edition of this book was published in 1997. The third edition of Scientific Papers and Presentations applies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience. This successful legacy title is an essential guide to professional communication, provides a wealth of information and detail and is a useful guide.
ISBN: 9780123847270Publication Date: 2012-07-30
Scientific Papers Made Easy: How to Write with Clarity and Impact in the Life Sciences by ISBN: 9780192862785Publication Date: 2023-06-28
Scientific Publishing and Presentation: A practical guide with advice on doctoral studies and career planning by ISBN: 9783662664032Publication Date: 2023-03-03
Scientific Writing 2.0 by Call Number: T 11 .L43 2011ISBN: 9789814350594Publication Date: 2011-05-30
Scientific Writing 3.0 by
The third edition of this book aims to equip both young and experienced researchers with all the tools and strategy they will need for their papers to not just be accepted, but stand out in the crowded field of academic publishing. It seeks to question and deconstruct the legacy of existing science writing, replacing or supporting historically existing practices with principle- and evidence-driven styles of effective writing. It encourages a reader-centric approach to writing, satisfying reader-scientists at large, but also the paper's most powerful readers, the reviewer and editor. Going beyond the baseline of well-structured scientific writing, this book leverages an understanding of human physiological limitations (memory, attention, time) to help the author craft a document that is optimized for readability.Through real and fictional examples, hands-on exercises, and entertaining stories, this book breaks down the critical parts of a typical scientific paper (Title, Abstract, Introduction, Visuals, Structure, and Conclusions). It shows at great depth how to achieve the essential qualities required in scientific writing, namely being clear, concise, convincing, fluid, interesting, and organized. To enable the writer to assess whether these parts are well written from a reader's perspective, the book also offers practical metrics in the form of six checklists, and even an original Java application to assist in the evaluation.
ISBN: 9789811228841Publication Date: 2021-10-13
Scientific Writing and Communication by Call Number: Q223 .H64 2017 [ISBN: 9780190278540Publication Date: 2016-11-17
Scientific Writing and Communication in Agriculture and Natural Resources by ISBN: 9783319031019Publication Date: 2014-01-03
Scientific Writing and Publishing: A Comprehensive Manual for Authors by
Knowing how to prepare, write and publish high-quality research papers can be challenging for scientists at all stages of their career. This manual guides readers through successfully framing and presenting research findings, as well as the processes involved in publishing in learned journals. It draws on the author's wealth of practical experience, from working in academic research for over 40 years and teaching scientific writing in over 20 countries, to gaining insights as a journal editor. Well-written and logical, it provides clear step-by-step instructions to enable readers to become more effective at writing articles, and navigating difficulties related to journal submission, the review process, editing and publication. It comprehensively covers themes such as publication ethics, along with current topics including Open Access publishing and pre-print servers. This is a useful, user-friendly guide for graduate students, early career scientists, and more experienced researchers, particularly in the life and medical sciences.
ISBN: 9781108891899Publication Date: 2021-10-14
Scientific Writing for Psychology by Call Number: BF 76 .K35 2019ISBN: 9781544309620Publication Date: 2019-01-01
The Scientist's Guide to Writing, 2nd Edition by
An updated and expanded edition of the acclaimed writing guide for scientists The Scientist's Guide to Writing explains the essential techniques that students, postdocs, and early-career scientists need to write more clearly, efficiently, and easily. Now fully updated and expanded, this incisive primer offers practical advice on such topics as generating and maintaining writing momentum, structuring a scientific paper, revising a first draft, handling citations, responding to peer reviews, managing coauthorships, and more. The ability to write clearly is critical to any scientific career. The Scientist's Guide to Writing shows scientists how to become better writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact. New chapters discuss effective reading, choosing the right journal for your research, and the advantages and disadvantages of posting preprints Provides additional advice on reporting statistical results, dealing with conflicting peer reviews, managing coauthorships, writing with English as an additional language, and more Emphasizes writing as a process, not just a product Encourages habits that improve motivation and productivity Offers detailed guidance on submission, review, revision, and publication Includes a wealth of new exercises
Call Number: T 11 .H425 2022ISBN: 9780691219189Publication Date: 2022-02-08
Scientists Must Write: a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students by Call Number: T 11 .B37 2002ISBN: 0415269962Publication Date: 2002-07-05
Strategic Scientific and Medical Writing by
A document may be based on accurate medical and scientific information, follow guidelines precisely, and be well written in clear and correct language, but may still fail to achieve its objectives. The strategic approach described in this book will help you to turn good medical and scientific writing into successful writing. It describes clearly and concisely how to identify the target audience and the desired outcome, and how to construct key messages for a wide spectrum of documents. Irrespective of your level of expertise and your seniority in the pharmaceutical, regulatory, or academic environment, this book is an essential addition to your supporting library. The authors share with you many years of combined experience in the pharmaceutical and academic environment and in the writing of successful outcome-driven documents.​
ISBN: 9783662483152Publication Date: 2015-12-04
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by Call Number: QH 304 .K59 2017ISBN: 9781319121815Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Successful Science Communication by Call Number: Q 223 .S884 2011ISBN: 9781107003323Publication Date: 2011-09-29
Teaching Writing in the Health Professions by
This collection provides a research-based guide to instructional practices for writing in the health professions, promoting faculty development and bringing together perspectives from writing studies, technical communication, and health humanities. With employment in health-care sectors booming, writing instruction tailored for the health professions is in high demand. Writing instruction is critical in the health professions because health professionals, current and aspiring, need to communicate persuasively with patients, peers, mentors, and others. Writing instruction can also help cultivate professional identity, reflective practice, empathy, critical thinking, confidence, and organization, as well as research skills. This collection prepares faculty and administrators to meet this demand. It combines conceptual development of writing for the health professions as an emergent interdiscipline with evidence-based practices for instructors in academic, clinical, and community settings. Teaching Writing in the Health Professions is an essential resource for instructors, scholars, and program administrators in health disciplines, professional and technical communication, health humanities, and interdisciplinary writing studies. It informs the teaching of writing in programs in medicine, nursing, pharmacy and allied health, public health, and other related professions.
ISBN: 9781003162940Publication Date: 2021-11-11
Technical Blogging: Amplify Your Influence by ISBN: 9781680507133Publication Date: 2019Note: This is an O'Reilly Library title. You will need to sign in AFTER you get to the book.
Technical Writing: a practical guide for engineers, scientists and nontechnical professionals, Second Edition by
Technical Writing: A Practical Guide for Engineers, Scientists, and Nontechnical Professionals, Second Edition enables readers to write, edit, and publish materials of a technical nature, including books, articles, reports, and electronic media. Written by a renowned engineer and widely published technical author, this guide complements traditional writer's reference manuals on technical writing through presentation of first-hand examples that help readers understand practical considerations in writing and producing technical content. These examples illustrate how a publication originates as well as various challenges and solutions. The second edition contains new material in every chapter including new topics, additional examples, insights, tips and tricks, new vignettes and more exercises. Appendices have been added for writing checklists and writing samples. The references and glossary have been updated and expanded.　 In addition, a focus on writing for the nontechnical persons working in the technology world and the nonnative English speaker has been incorporated. Written in an informal, conversational style, unlike traditional college writing texts, the book also contains many interesting vignettes and personal stories　to add interest to　otherwise stodgy lessons.
ISBN: 9780429467394Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Technical Writing A-Z by Call Number: T 11 .V69 2005ISBN: 0791802361Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Technical Writing A-Z: A Commonsense Guide to Engineering Reports and Theses, Second Edition, by
This second edition has been revised and updated. Not intended to be read from cover to cover, this book was designed instead to be a quick and useful reference for students, young engineers, and experienced professionals alike. It provides guidelines, advice, and technical information for preparing formal documents–covering a range of report formats (e.g. assessment, laboratory and progress reports). This concise, no-nonsense guide provides alphabetically ordered and cross- referenced topics, which make it easy to find answers to questions related to writing a technical report or thesis. Topics include: the format and content of reports and theses; copyright and plagiarism; print and Internet reference citation abbreviations; units and conversion factors; significant figures; mathematical notation and equations; writing styles and conventions; frequently confused words; grammatical errors and punctuation. It also provides commonsense advice on issues such as how to get started and how to keep your reader's attention.
ISBN: 9780791884638Publication Date: 2021
Technical Writing for Environmental Engineers by Call Number: T 11 .G537 2018ISBN: 9781946646187Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Think, Do, and Communicate Environmental Science by
Many students find it daunting to move from studying environmental science, to designing and implementing their own research proposals. This book provides a practical introduction to help develop scientific thinking, aimed at undergraduate and new graduate students in the earth and environmental sciences. Students are guided through the steps of scientific thinking using published scientific literature and real environmental data. The book starts with advice on how to effectively read scientific papers, before outlining how to articulate testable questions and answer them using basic data analysis. The Mauna Loa CO2 dataset is used to demonstrate how to read metadata, prepare data, generate effective graphs and identify dominant cycles on various timescales. Practical, question-driven examples are explored to explain running averages, anomalies, correlations and simple linear models. The final chapter provides a framework for writing persuasive research proposals, making this an essential guide for students embarking on their first research project.
ISBN: 9781108526104Publication Date: 2021-04-23
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology by
This third edition features new writing samples, including a full-length literature review and full-length scientific research paper, and new guidance to reflect the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. This accessible, practical guide to undergraduate writing takes the reader step by step through the process of developing research questions or theses, conducting literature searches, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, writing the paper, and more. Students will learn how to analyze and organize ideas for literature reviews, as well as how to prepare each section of a scientific research paper (introduction, method, results, discussion). The chapters are full of advice and resources, including a checklist and self-quiz, a sample grading rubric that an instructor might use, example reference formats, and several before-and-after writing samples showing marked-up changes. Bonus guidance is given for communicating effectively with instructors and preparing conference posters.
Call Number: BF76.7 .L36 2021ISBN: 9781433833892Publication Date: 2020-08-11
Visual Strategies" practical guide to graphics for scientists & engineers by Call Number: Q223 .F73 2012ISBN: 9780300176445Publication Date: 2012-05-29
What Editors Want" An Author's Guide to Scientific Journal Publishing by ISBN: 9780226043135Publication Date: 2012-12-07
Writing and Publishing a Scientific Research Paper by
This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, "must-know" content on how to write high-quality articles. The book also addresses other, rarely discussed areas of scientific writing including dealing with rejected manuscripts, the reviewer's perspective as to what they expect in a scientific article, plagiarism, copyright issues, and ethical standards in publishing scientific papers. Simplicity is the book's hallmark, and it aims to provide an accessible, comprehensive and essential resource for those seeking guidance on how to publish their research work. The importance of publishing research work cannot be overemphasized. However, a major limitation in publishing work in a scientific journal is the lack of information on or experience with scientific writing and publishing. Young faculty and trainees who are starting their research career are in need of a comprehensive guide that provides all essential components of scientific writing and aids them in getting their research work published.
ISBN: 9789811047190Publication Date: 2017-08-09
Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers: A Primer for the Non-English Speaker by
Gábor Lövei's scientific communication course for students and scientists explores the intricacies involved in publishing primary scientific papers, and has been taught in more than twenty countries. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers is the distillation of Lövei's lecture notes and experience gathered over two decades; it is the coursebook many have been waiting for. The book's three main sections correspond with the three main stages of a paper's journey from idea to print: planning, writing, and publishing. Within the book's chapters, complex questions such as 'How to write the introduction?' or 'How to submit a manuscript?' are broken down into smaller, more manageable problems that are then discussed in a straightforward, conversational manner, providing an easy and enjoyable reading experience. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers stands out from its field by targeting scientists whose first language is not English. While also touching on matters of style and grammar, the book's main goal is to advise on first principles of communication. This book is an excellent resource for any student or scientist wishing to learn more about the scientific publishing process and scientific communication. It will be especially useful to those coming from outside the English-speaking world and looking for a comprehensive guide for publishing their work in English.
ISBN: 9781800640894Publication Date: 2021-05-03
Writing Dissertations and Theses in Psychology by
This accessible guide equips students to succeed in their master's thesis or doctoral dissertation in psychology. The authors provide concrete assistance to the myriad tasks and requirements that students will encounter as they plan, conduct, and present their dissertation or thesis research. Drawing upon their many years of experience in working with graduate students, the authors address the multiple stages of the dissertation and thesis process. They take you through drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation. Chapters provide guidance on using a research team, collecting data, conducting a literature review, and even acquiring financial support. Finally, students will find additional resources such as practical information on copyright issues, research methods, case analyses, and teleconferencing. This is an essential book for both graduate psychology students working on their master's theses or doctoral dissertations and their advisors.
ISBN: 9781003013822Publication Date: 2020-12-28
Writing in Biology: a brief guide by Call Number: QH 304 .R65 2016ISBN: 9780199342716Publication Date: 2016-01-26
Writing in Engineering by Call Number: T 11 .I75 2015ISBN: 9780199343553Publication Date: 2016-01-25
Writing in the Biological Sciences, 4th ed. by
"Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication" serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as a free-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components. It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays the foundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice for organizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.
Call Number: QH 304 .H64 2022ISBN: 9780197543580Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Writing in the Sciences by Call Number: T 11 .P393 2010ISBN: 9780205616718Publication Date: 2009-02-23
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences (7th ed.) by Call Number: QH 304 .M36 20021ISBN: 9781319268466Publication Date: 2020-09-30
Writing Science in Plain English by Call Number: T 11 .G6814 2013ISBN: 9780226026374Publication Date: 2013-05-24
Writing the Annotated Bibliography: A Guide for Students and Researchers by
This comprehensive and practical guide covers the elements, style, and use of annotated bibliographies in the research and writing process for any discipline; key disciplinary conventions; and tips for working with digital sources. Written jointly by a library director and a writing center director, this book is packed with examples of individual bibliography entries and full bibliography formats for a wide range of academic needs. Online resources include sample bibliographies, relevant web links, printable versions of checklists and figures, and further resources for instructors and researchers.　 Writing the Annotated Bibliography is an essential resource for first-year and advanced composition classes, courses in writing across the disciplines, graduate programs, library science instruction programs, and academic libraries at the secondary level and beyond. It is suitable for both undergraduate and graduate students and for researchers at all levels.
ISBN: 9780367853051Publication Date: 2020-06-10
- AAS Style GuideStyle guide for the publications of the American Astronomical Society
- ACM Citation Style and Reference FormatsThis webpage describes the citation syle used in ACM journals for computer science and technology.
- ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationThis is the brand-new successor tot he ACS Style Guide, greatly updated and expanded. It is available only online, by institutional subscription (at present. Two sections, the chapter on open access, and the Quick Guide to citation styles, are available free at the site. Note: If you are an ACS member, you can currently log in with your ACS ID and password.
- ACS Inclusivity Style GuideInclusive language, also referred to as bias-free language, is language that avoids excluding or alienating people because of race, gender identity, disability, education level, socioeconomic status, or any other factor. The Linguistic Society of America says, “Inclusive language acknowledges diversity, conveys respect to all people, is sensitive to differences, and promotes equal opportunities.” Also includes a new section on accessibility for all types of limited ability.
- AIP Sthle ManualThe American Institute of Physics style guide.
- AMS Style Guide - JournalsAmerican Mathematical Society style guide.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
An editorial style manual for writers. Includes three main sections: the Publishing Process, Style and Usage, and Documentation. A valuable guide on formatting, grammar and word usage, punctuation, abbreviations, footnote and endnote style, bibliographies, and other topics.
Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers by Publication Date: 2007IEEE Editorial Style Manual by
Publication Date: 2018This style manual provides general editing guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Course Reserves BF 76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019
Scientific Style and Format by Call Number: Reference T11 .S386 2014Publication Date: 2014
- PowerPoint Alternatives: The Best Presentation Software in 2020Consider these alternatives to PowerPoint and Keynote.
- Top 19 Free Presentation AppsPresentation applications give users the tools needed to organize information to be shared with an online or offline audience as slideshows, videos or photo montages. AppAppeal ranks all presentation apps based on worldwide popularity.