Introduction - Peer Review
What is Peer Review? - "The process by which an academic journal passes a paper submitted for publication to independent experts for comments on its suitability and worth; refereeing." (Oxford English Dictionary)
Types of peer review:
| Anonymous (single anonymous, single-blind) | Author doesn't know the identiy of the reviewer., but reviewer knows who the author is. |
| Double anonymous (double-blind) | Reviewer doesn't know the identity of the author, and vice-versa. |
| Open peer review | The identity of the author and the reviewer is known by all participants, during or after the review process. |
| Transparent peer review | Review report is posted with the published article. Reviewer can choose if they want to share their identity. |
| Collaborative peer review |
Two or more reviewers work together to submit a unified report., OR Author revises manuscript under the supervision of one or more reviewers. |
| Post-publication peer review | Review solicited or unsolicited, of a published paper. Does not exclude other forms of peer review. |
Resources for Peer Review
Peer Review in an Era of Evaluation by
This open access volume explores peer review in the scientific community and academia. While peer review is as old as modern science itself, recent changes in the evaluation culture of higher education systems have increased the use of peer review, and its purposes, forms and functions have become more diversified. This book put together a comprehensive set of conceptual and empirical contributions on various peer review practices with relevance for the scientific community and higher education institutions worldwide. Consisting of three parts, the editors and contributors examine the history, problems and developments of peer review, as well as the specificities of various peer review practices. In doing so, this book gives an overview on and examine peer review , and asks how it can move forward. This is an open access book.
Publication Date: 2022
Scientific Peer Revew: Guideline for Informative Peer Review by Publication Date: 2017
Scientific Peer Reviewing: Practical Hints and Best Practices by Publication Date: 2015
Kelly J, Sadeghieh T, Adeli K. Peer Review in Scientific Publications: Benefits, Critiques, & A Survival Guide. EJIFCC. 2014 Oct 24;25(3):227-43. PMID: 27683470; PMCID: PMC4975196. (Available from PubMed Central: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4975196/
How to Write a Peer Review: 12 Things You Need to Know, from Publons Blog, 17 November, 2019. (Note: Publons is a product of Clarivate Analytics that tracks peer reviewing activity. https://publons.com/blog/how-to-write-a-peer-review-12-things-you-need-to-know/
ACS Reviewer Lab https://www.acsreviewerlab.org/
Peer review training for scientific researchers. Includes videos and interactive modules.
AGU Read, Publish & Review https://www.agu.org/Publish-with-AGU/Publish
Includes sections on how to submit; how to review; open access; data policy; scientific integrity and professional ethics; and more.
APA Reviewer Resource Center https://www.apa.org/pubs/journals/resources/reviewers-resources
Includes “Become a reviewer”, “learn how to review a manuscript”, “get recognized for peer review”
BioMed Central Peer Review Process https://www.biomedcentral.com/getpublished/peer-review-process
Brief description of what peer review is and how it works.
CSIRO Publishing for Reviewers https://www.publish.csiro.au/journals/forreviewers
Ways to get recognition for reviewing manuscripts.
Elsevier for Reviewers https://www.elsevier.com/reviewers
Describes the peer review process at Elsevier, includes videos about the reviewer experience.
GSL Guidelines for Reviewers https://www.geolsoc.org.uk/reviewer_guidelines
Includes: Should you review?; Ethics; How to assess; Benefits of reviewing.
IET Resources for Referees https://digital-library.theiet.org/about/referees
Links to referee resources for individual journals
OSA Publishing Reviewer Resource Center https://www.osapublishing.org/reviewer/
Includes videos introducing peer review; peer review criteria, and a course for becoming a certified peer reviewer for OSA.
SAGE Publications Journal Reviewer Gateway https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/journal-reviewer-gateway
Explanation of peer review; peer review guidelines; extensive resources for reviewers.
Wiley Researcher Services https://www.wiley.com/network/researchers
Includes information on peer review and more, in a variety of formats.including videos, podcasts and webinars.
"Explainer: what is peer review?" from The Conversation https://theconversation.com/explainer-what-is-peer-review-27797
"How to be a Good Peer Reviewer" from The Scholarly Kitchen https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2019/09/17/how-to-be-a-good-peer-reviewer/
"Scrutinizing Science: Peer Review" from Understanding Science. https://undsci.berkeley.edu/article/howscienceworks_16
"What is peer review?" - Elsevier https://www.elsevier.com/reviewers
"What is peer review?" - Wiley https://authorservices.wiley.com/Reviewers/journal-reviewers/what-is-peer-review/index.html
"What is Peer Review in Science? A Complete Guide" from Artifacts Researcher Blog https://artifacts.ai/what-is-a-peer-review-in-science/