Architecture ResourcesAuction and Sales ResourcesBiographical ResourcesEncyclopedias and DictionariesIconography ResourcesPhotography ResourcesResearch Strategies and MethodsResources for Artists
Copyright 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Art and Architecture 

Resources in Art and Architecture
Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/art_arch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Resources             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian!

Chat online with a Librarian

  • Open 24 hours a day,
  • 7 days a week.

Email a Librarian

  • Get help by email within 24 hours.

Research 4 U

  • Sign up for personalized research help.
 

Biographical Resources

  • Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Künstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart (Art Reference Blue N40.T5)
    • Most comprehensive biographical dictionary to date
    • Also known as Thieme-Becker
  • Architecture and Design Collection (University Art Museum)
    • Archives over 350 architects and designers mainly from California
  • Artists in Canada
    • Online version of Colin S. MacDonald's Dictionary of Canadian Artists
  • Biography Resource Center
    • Biographical Information on more than 1 million people throughout history
  • Dictionary of Art Historians
  • Dictionary of Artists (Art Reference Blue N40.B4713 2006)
    • English edition of Bénézit's Dictionnaire critique et documentaire
    • Some entries include sales information and signatures or monograms
  • Oxford Art OnlineUCSB only
    • Over 21,000 biographies, capable of searching by name, by date and place of birth, by nationality, and by occupation
  • Union Lists of Artists Names (ULAN)
    • Free resource from the Getty, bringing together variant names and based biographical data
    • Over 118,000 international and historical artists and architects
  • Who's Who in American Art (Art Reference Blue N6536.W5)
    • Bienniel directory good for lesser known artists and non-artists (critics, historians, etc.)


      
     

    Subject Librarian

    Profile ImageChizu Morihara
    Contact Info:
    Arts Library
    Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
    Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
    (805)893-2766
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Art History, Architecture, Art

    Subject Librarian

    Profile ImageSusan Moon
    Contact Info:
    Arts Library
    Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
    Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
    805-893-3613
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts

     

    Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
    Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
    Contact UsPolicies
    Description

      Loading content... please wait