Chem 184/284: Introductory NotesChem 184/284: Term Project DescriptionChem 184/284: Chemical Information Reference Sources in the UCSB Library
Beilstein and Gmelin in Print
Lecture 9: Citations, Part II - Creating and Managing Them, EndNote WebLecture 9: Citations, Part III - Evaluating Using Citations - Impact Factors and Journal Citation Reports
This is the "Home" page of the "CHEM 184/284 (Chemical Literature) - Huber - Winter 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 184/284 (Chemical Literature) - Huber - Winter 2016   Tags: chemical_information, chemical_literature  

A two-credit course in the techniques and tools for effective searching the literature of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related fields.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page


Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Many items are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus!


Chem 184/284 - Chemical Literature

Chemistry 184/284 is a two-credit course in the techniques and tools for effectively searching the literature of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related fields. Students will be introduced to how information is organized in the chemical sciences, including data collections such as Reaxys and indexes to the literature such as SciFinder, as well as the different types of primary literature and other resources useful to the chemical researcher.

Undergraduates should register in Chem 184; graduate students in Chem 284.  The course is taught each Winter Quarter, and meets twice weekly. Winter Quarter 2016, we will be meeting in Room 1575 UCSB Library.  My contact information is in the profile box to the right.


Syllabus - Winter 2016

Note: This is the definitive syllabus for the quarter, and may be updated or changed as necessity requires. Lecture quizzes are to be completed and turned in by the following lecture. Quizzes should be answered in GauchoSpace; however, PDF copies for printing are available on the PDF Files page.

Monday, January 4, 2016 - Winter Quarter begins

Tuesday, January 5 - Lecture 1: Overview of the Organization of Information

Thursday, January 7 - Lecture 2: Techniques of the Efficient Information Searcher

Friday, January 8 - Last day to add a course without approval codes; last day to drop a course without a drop fee.

Tuesday, January 12 - Lecture 3: Part I: Library Catalogs vs. Article Databases vs. Search Engines; Part II: Finding Books in the Library: Call Numbers, and the UCSB and Melvyl Catalogs.

Thursday, January 14 - Lecture 4: Data Collections, Part I

Friday, January 15 - Last day for students to add courses or change grading options without paying a fee.

Monday, January 18 - Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday

Tuesday, January 19 - Lecture 5: Data Collections, Part II: Beilstein + Gmelin = Reaxys

Mid-Term 1 Given Out Today.  Due: Tuesday, February 3!

Thursday, January 21 - Lecture 6: Primary Literature, Part I: Journals, Copyright, Open Access, Repositories, Preprints

Monday, January 25 - Last day for all students to add classes via GOLD by 11:45 p.m.

Tuesday, January 26 - Lecture 7: Primary Literature, Part II: Conference Papers, Patents, Technical Reports, Dissertations

Thursday, January 28 - Lecture 8: Indexes and Databases for Science and Engineering

Brief description of term project topics due by Thursday, Feb. 4!

Monday, February 1 - Last day for undergraduates in LAS or Engineering to drop classes.

Tuesday, February 2 - Lecture 9: Citations Part I- Searching Them, Web of Science, Part II - Creating and Managing Them, EndNote Web, Part III - Evaluating with Citations, Impact Factors and Journal Citation Reports

Mid-term Exam 1: DUE TODAY!!

Thursday, February 4 - Lecture 10: Chemical Abstracts Service and the Legacy of Print

Brief term project descriptions due TODAY!

Tuesday, February 9 - Lecture 11: SciFinder, Part 1 - Introduction and Exploring References by Author

Thursday, February 11 - Lecture 12: SciFinder, Part 2 - Exploring References by Research Topic

Monday, February 15 - Presidents' Day holiday

Tuesday, February 16 - Lecture 13: SciFinder, Part 3 - Exploring Substances: Substance Displays, Name Searching, Molecular Formula Searching and Property Searching

Mid-term Exam 2 given out today; due Tuesday, March 3.

Thursday, February 18 - Lecture 14: SciFinder, Part 4 - Exploring Substances by Structure Searching

Tuesday, February 23 - Lecture 15: SciFinder, Part 5 - Exploring Organic Reactions; SciPlanner

Thursday, February 25 - Lecture 16: The New Web and Mobile Science

Friday, February 26 - Last day for undergraduates in LAS or Engineering to change grading options.

Tuesday, March 1 - Lecture 17: Altmetrics

Mid-term Exam 2 DUE TODAY!!




Friday, March 11 - Last day for graduate students and students in CCS to drop courses or change grading options.

            Chuck Huber leaves for American Chemical Society National Meeting in San Diego.

Thursday, March 17 - Chuck Huber returns from ACS Meeting.

Thursday, March 17, 2016 - WRITTEN FINAL PROJECTS must be turned in NO LATER than 7:00 pm!!

© 2015 Charles F. Huber

Creative Commons License
This work by Charles F. Huber is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at


Profile Image
Chuck Huber
Contact Info
Davidson Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
Send Email

Copyright © 2008-2015 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies

Loading  Loading...