LibGuides: Spanish and Portuguese: Linguistics Resources

Linguistics Resources to support Spanish, Portuguese and Catalan Linguistic Research

Linguistics is the study of human speech including the units, nature, structure, and modification of language. Below are a selection of resources and databases useful for the study of Spanish and Portuguese, as well as Catalan. There are many ebooks, print books, handbooks, and journals available through the UC Library Search. Check the Finding Articles, Books & More tab for tips on how to search for these materials.

Topics in Spanish Linguistic Perceptions (2021)
Topics in Spanish Linguistic Perceptions brings together the most current research on linguistic perceptions of varieties of Spanish. The book includes articles from a range of expert contributors using different methodologies and looking at diverse sociolinguistic settings.
The Routledge Handbook of Translation, Interpreting and Bilingualism (2022)
This book brings together cognitive and behavioral characteristics of the related but disconnected disciplines of Bilingualism and Translation & Interpreting Studies.
The Syntax of Portuguese
This book provides a theoretically grounded overview of the major syntactic properties of Portuguese, focusing on the differences between European and Brazilian Portuguese.
Catalan Sociolinguistics: State of the Art and Future Challenges
This book provides an account of the major topics dealt with by the study of the relation between language and society in the Catalan language community, and the extent to which international approaches have been received and how they have been adapted to the Catalan domain.

Linguistics Databases

Iberoamericana-Vervuert eBook Collection
Iberoamericana Vervuert is a leading scholarly publisher in Spanish and Latin American and Caribbean Studies. The collection covers the history, literature, art, linguistics, and language of Latin America, the Spanish Caribbean and Spain. Most books are in Spanish, German, and English. Few are in Portuguese and French.
- All titles can be accessed from https://www.degruyter.com/partner/vervuert. eBook titles are continually being added to UC Library Search.
  The majority of the eBooks require authentication, however Open Access and free books are available in this collection.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes coverage of various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes journal articles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Blackwell Companion to Phonology This link opens in a new window
Represents a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research. Interdisciplinary connections, such as those with the social and computational sciences, are covered, as well as statistical and experimental techniques. Contains illustrations, maps, and figures that can be opened in full screen size.
Oxford Handbooks in Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Includes essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the structure, use, and history of language. Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and discourse. NOTE: We do not have access to all content in this database; only to material that shows as "unlocked" or "free".