There are thousands of archives in the world, so it is impossible to list all of them! This page offers you a selection of archival collections available online that may help you start your research. If you need help to locate primary sources, please contact me!
This is a great resource if you are looking for records of hearings, bills and related records that document United States positions and/or policies that govern foreign relations in Latin America and Spain.
Date Coverage: 1789-present
Materials Indexed: Government Documents; Legal Literature
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents (primary sources) available to scholars. Includes documents, photographs, and other materials that document U.S. Foreign Policy toward the Americas and other regions in the World. The collection includes materials from post World War II to the 21st century. Content is in English. Some collections available in this database are:
Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970-1990
and much more. Check the "About" page for a list of all collections. Tip: When searching this database, you can limit the search to a specific collection or several. Under "DNSA collection", check off the ones that you want to search!
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region.
Date Coverage: 18th Century - present
Materials Indexed: Books; Monologues; Plays; Poetry
The bulk of the ephemera currently found in the Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera was originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards.
Date Coverage: 20th century to present
Materials Indexed: Artworks; Ephemera; Government Documents; Images; Pamphlets; Primary Sources
This database offers a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century.
Portal digital donde se ofrecen una gran recursos digitales –documentos escritos, fotografías, videos, audios, libros, testimonios orales, tradiciones, entre muchos otros— provenientes de distintos archivos, bibliotecas, acervos federales y municipales, colecciones privadas y familiares, recuerdos personales, con el fin de difundir la riqueza de la memoria histórica y cultural de México.
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Search the collection to access a wide variety of primary sources.
The Cuban Ephemera collection contains materials from partner organizations Instituto de Historia de Cuba and Cinemateca de Cuba as well as collections about Cuba held by UCLA Library. Materials include historical newspapers, Cuban designed movie posters, and tourism related ephemera.
This is a selection of magazines from the Puerto Rican Collection, formerly known as the Géigel Family Collection or Géigel Collection that have been digitized and made freely available to researchers.
This is digitized collection of about 4000 pamphlets held at the Oliveira Lima Library at the Catholic University of America, published chiefly in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Topics include Brazilian and Portuguese history, literature, and politics, but nearly all topics and time periods beginning with the colonial era are represented.
Date Coverage: 19th - early 20th centuries
Materials Indexed: Pamphlets; Plays; Primary Sources
Not all archival collections are online. Therefore, it is important to visit the national library or archive of the country you are researching to locate the primary sources you are looking for. You can search for both bibliographic information and archival collections located in the Biblioteca Nacional do Brasil.
The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
Not all archival collections are online. Therefore, it is important to visit the national library or archive of the country you are researching to locate the primary sources you are looking for. You can search for both bibliographic information and archival collections located in the National Library of Portugal.
The Digital Periodical and Newspaper Library is part of the Hispanic Digital Library project, the aim of which is public reference and internet dissemination of the bibliographic heritage held in the Biblioteca Nacional.
Esta página enumerada y describe sobre 40 colecciones de selectos materiales digitalizadas por la Biblioteca Nacional de España. Incluye carteles, dibujos, grabados, y colecciones de libros de diversos temas literarios, científicos, teatrales, de viaje, etc...
The purpose of this guide is to give free access to a selection of Spanish magazines and newspapers from the UConn's Archives and Special Collections. This selection of digitized periodicals reflect the complex history of Spain through these magazines and newspapers from the XVIIIth, XIXth and early XXth century, with the majority of the collection focusing in the XIXth century. You can research literary, political and gender topics by exploring these digital pages.
Not all archival collections are available online. Below is a list of sites that will help you locate the appropriate archives in Spain that you can contact to arrange a visit to do your research.
This catalog allows you to search across a wide array of libraries and archives in Spain that are under the jurisdiction of the Institute of Culture. It does not provide access to digital content, just bibliographic information, but this is useful if you want to determine which library or archive in Spain have the materials you need for your research.
This guide provides access to the PALABRA Archive, a collection of audio recordings of poets and writers from Latin America, the Iberian Peninsula, the Caribbean, and from other regions with Luso-Hispanic heritage reading from their works.
This is a list of archival initiatives that focus to provide access to a wide variety of archival collections in the region.
Latin American Digital Initiatives (LADI) is a collaborative project between LLILAS Benson and Latin American partner institutions that digitally preserves and provides access to unique archival documents from Latin America, with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights, race, ethnicity, and social exclusion in the region.
The Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz Project consists of an electronic edition of her complete works based on the text of Alfonso Méndez Plancarte and Alberto G. Salceda. Last updated in 2004, but still contains valuable information.
Este portal es una referencia fundamental del teatro español áureo, con una atención preferente al control de sus fuentes textuales. Para ello irá ofreciendo copias digitales de los ejemplares custodiados en la BN, constituyentes del fondo más importante con mucha diferencia de cuantos se han conservado, gracias a la confluencia de colecciones tan destacadas como las de Gayangos, Osuna, Durán o La Barrera.
Este portal trata de ofrecer análisis que puedan arrojar luz sobre las atribuciones de la vasta producción teatral del periodo aurisecular. Gracias a la estilometría podemos averiguar, en una de sus más útiles funcionalidades, qué obras tienen frecuencias en léxico más cercanas a las del texto que nos interesa en el corpus del que dispongamos. Cada autor usa las palabras en unas proporciones distintas, por lo que las obras suelen relacionarse en función de su autoría.
Trabajadores : The Spanish Civil War through the eyes of organised labour
Access more than 13,000 pages of archives about the Spanish Civil War, together with useful background information on the conflict.