Reference Resources
- Real Academia Española (RAE)
RAE online dictionary is one of the best free resources to look-up Spanish words.
You can use the UCSB Library Advance Search to locate language dictionaries for specific countries. Usually, they can be found under the subject headings:
- Spanish language: Provincialisms AND (Name of country or region)
- Example: Spanish language Provincialisms Mexico
- Portuguese language: Provincialisms AND Angola
- UCSB Library Advanced SearchOn the drop-down menu, select Subject and type Provincialism, then in the next line, select AND, and type in the search box type the country, e.g. Mexico.
- Sample Search--Mexican DictionariesThis sample search will show our library holdings of Mexican Spanish dictionaries. You can further refine your search on the result page.
Tip: Most of them will be on the 6th floor of the Main Library in the PC call number range. To find a bilingual dictionary used the following Subject phrases in the Subject search box.
- Spanish Language Dictionaries English
- English Language Dictionaries Spanish
- Portuguese Language Dictionaries English
- English Language Dictionaries Portuguese
If you don't need a bilingual dictionary you can do a subject search for:
- Spanish Language Dictionaries
- Portuguese Language Dictionaries
Sample List of Print Dictionaries at the UCSB Main Library:
- Diccionario de apellidos españoles: (Main Ref CS 2745 .F38 2001)
- Diccionario de la lengua española (RAE): (Main Ref PC 4625 .A3 2001)
- Diccionario panhispánico de refranes: (Main Ref PN 6491 .C34 2002)
- Dicionário da língua portuguesa contemporânea (2 vols.): (Main Ref PC 5327 .D475 2001)
- Dicionário de literatura: portuguesa, brasileira, galega, africana...(3 vols.): (Main Ref PQ 9006 535 2002)
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new windowThe Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. You can use this resource to research critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries in Latin America, the Caribbean and the Iberian pensinsula and historical periods.
- Literature Resource CenterLiterature Resource Center contains critical, biographical and contextual content including full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
- Cervantes ProjectThis digital project includes the following collection:
- Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO): The CIBO is a comprehensive bibliography of studies, editions, and translations of Cervantes's works.
- Cervantes Digital Library (CDL): The CDL contains several electronic editions of Cervantes's complete works, including flexible interfaces and search engines with multiple options for searching and displaying results. Copies of his comedies, plays, and other related works are located in the CDL.
- Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI): The CDAI aims to develop a digital archive of photographic images on Cervantes's times and works suitable for teaching and research purposes. The CDAI is currently being revamped for better search capabilities.
The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel by ISBN: 0521825334Publication Date: 2005-05-26This Companion offers a broad overview of the Latin American novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa.
The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel by ISBN: 0511222165Publication Date: 2006-06-21The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel presents the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present.
Voices from an Empire: A History of Afro-Portuguese Literature by ISBN: 0816662797Publication Date: 1975-01-01This book focuses on the development of literature in Lusophone Africa with special emphasis on Cape Verde archipelago, Guinea-Bissau, the Guinea Gulf islands of Sao Tome and Principe, Angola, and Mozambique.
Letras portuguesas: literatura comparada y estudios ibéricos by Publication Date: 2017Recopilación de obras que en homenaje al profesor Ángel Marcos de Dios, docente de disciplinas de lengua y literatura portuguesas en la Facultad de Filología de la Universidad de Salamanca desde el año 1972, el que ha sido el principal impulsor del crecimiento y representatividad de estos estudios en el marco de la señera institución filológica salmantina.
Multilingualism and Modernity: Barbarisms in Spanish and American Literature by ISBN: 9783319673271Publication Date: 2017-12-21This book explores multilingualism as an imaginative articulation of the experience of modernity in twentieth-century Spanish and American literature. It argues that while individual multilingual practices are highly singular, literary multilingualism exceeds the conventional bounds of modernism to become emblematic of the modern age. The book explores the confluence of multilingualism and modernity in the theme of barbarism, examining the significance of this theme to the relationship between language and modernity in the Spanish-speaking world, and the work of five authors in particular. These authors - Ramón del Valle-Inclán, Ernest Hemingway, José María Arguedas, Jorge Semprún and Juan Goytisolo - explore the stylistic and conceptual potential of the interaction between languages, including Spanish, French, English, Galician, Quechua and Arabic, their work reflecting the eclecticism of literary multilingualism while revealing its significance as a mode of response to modernity.
To learn more and find resources to research Medieval Iberian Peninsula search the databases below:
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowA bibliography of books and journal material pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and Middle Ages (400-1500). Includes materials from the Iberian Peninsula.
- Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new windowThe Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. This is a useful database to explore religion in the Iberian Peninsula.