About this guide
This T&L Tools Guide contains digital learning objects, including short learning video tutorials and self-paced interactive learning tutorials, that you can use for your library instruction. They are created by the Teaching and Learning Department as a way to provide point-of-need and quick learning material for your students.
You will find all of the T&L video tutorials in the left-hand column of this guide. All videos include closed captioning and audio description* (as needed to describe the content*). To view a complete list of T&L's video tutorials, visit the UCSB Library Teaching and Learning's YouTube Playlist (https://bit.ly/librarytl-videos) or view the playlist in the top-right-hand corner of this video player:
The right-hand column contains self-paced, interactive learning tutorials that can be used as a pre-instruction activity, assigned by your liaison faculty instructor, or as supplemental materials after your library instruction/workshop.
We recommend mapping the box from this Tools Guide to your designated Libguide(s) so you can have the most up-to-date learning materials for your students. If you have any questions regarding these tutorials, please contact Teaching&Learning@library.ucsb.edu.
Thank you and Enjoy!
Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources
Learn how you can connect UCSB Library to Google Scholar to easily access the full text of an article through UC Library Search.
Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Transcript:
Title: Connecting Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources: Teaching & Learning Series
Body: Starting on the Google Scholar homepage, login to Google using your UCSB NetID and password. Once you are logged in, find the menu in the top left corner of the screen and select the “settings” option, then the “library links” option. In the search box, enter “University of California, Santa Barbara” and search. Find the “Get it At UC” option and make sure the box is checked, then save your changes. Now, you can search for full-text articles in UCSB Library from Google Scholar! On the Google Scholar homepage, enter your search terms and search. Look for the “Get it at UC” links to access the full-text resource through the Library website. You’ve done it! Having trouble? Ask for help. Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask
Evaluating Sources
Not sure if the article, book, or other source you found will work for your assignment? Use the video below to apply the ACT UP method to evaluate the source.
ACT UP Source Evaluation from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Fact-Checking AI (Lateral Reading)
Learn how to fact-check AI for your research using lateral reading. Find out more about AI and academic research at https://guides.library.ucsb.edu/ai.
Fact-Check AI from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Getting to know UC Library Search
Learn the basics of how to use UC Library Search to locate physical and online resources available in the UC Libraries. Visit https://www.library.ucsb.edu/ to get started.
Getting to know UC Library Search from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Access video transcript: https://bit.ly/UCLibrarySearchTranscript.
Getting Started with ASA Citation Style
Learn how to use the ASA citation style for your research paper.
Getting started with ASA Citation Style from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Body: Who uses the ASA citation style for research papers? Researchers in sociology! What does ASA 7th Edition citation style look like? Visit the ASA Citation Style Guide to learn more about the ASA citation style. Need help with your research? Contact us 24/7 at: www.library.ucsb.edu/ask.
How Can I Get Help at the Library?
Learn how you can get help with your research at the UCSB Library.
Research Help at UCSB Library from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Transcript:
Title: Research Help at UCSB Library: Teaching & Learning Series
Body: Ready for a little boost with your research? Librarians are ready to help! Visit us in person, or online. Go to: library.ucsb.edu/ask. Get assistance by chat, email, or appointment. Whether you need help finding sources, constructing citations, brainstorming keywords, forming a topic, or something else entirely, we're eager to help! Need help with your research? Contact us 24/7 at: library.ucsb.edu/ask
How to Retrieve Full Text of an Article from UC Library Search
Learn the basics for getting the full text for that article you found using UC Library Search. Watch the short video below. If you have any questions or run into trouble, ask for help at library.ucsb.edu/ask.
Retrieving the full text of an article from UC Library Search from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Identifying Peer-Reviewed articles using the UC Library Search
Learn how to find Peer-Reviewed articles from UC Library Search (https://www.library.ucsb.edu/).
Identifying Peer-Reviewed articles using the UC Library Search from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Access video transcript: https://bit.ly/filter-peer-review-transcript.
Identifying Peer-Reviewed Sources in Google Scholar
Learn how to identify Peer-Reviewed articles in Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com/).
Identifying Peer-Reviewed Articles in Google Scholar from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Access video transcript: https://bit.ly/id-peer-review-transcript.
Introducing UCSB Library's Social Justice Zine Collection
We invite you to visit UCSB Library's Social Justice Zine Collection. You are welcome to browse, read, and check out zines from the collection!
For more information, visit the Social Justice Zine Guide (https://guides.library.ucsb.edu/zines). Please note, the collection has moved from the Arts Library (formerly the Art and Architecture Library) to the 2nd Floor, Mountain Side.
Introducing UCSB Library's Social Justice Zine Collection from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Save Search Results and Alerts in UC Library Search
Learn how to save your search results and alerts in UC Library Search and other search tools.
Save Search Results and Alerts from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask.
Use https://bit.ly/save-searches-AD to find an audio description player for this video.
Searching with Boolean
Learn how to use Boolean Operators like AND, OR, and NOT to craft a search strategy in UC Library Search and other search tools.
Searching with Boolean from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube
Need help with your research? Visit us online: library.ucsb.edu/ask.
Use https://bit.ly/search-boolean-AD to find an audio description player for this video.
The Research Process is Complex
The research process is complex -- it's not just you. Learn more about what to expect from the research process in the video below.
The Research Process is Complex from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
UCSB Library Tour
Get to know UCSB Library from your fellow Gauchos!
UCSB Library Tour from UCSB Library Teaching and Learning on YouTube.
Access the Descriptive Transcript for UCSB Library Tour.
For more information about UCSB Library, visit www.library.ucsb.edu.
Need help with your research? Contact us 24/7 at: www.library.ucsb.edu/ask.
Academic Integrity and Plagiarism Tutorial
Learn about the importance of academic integrity and plagiarism at UCSB!
In this tutorial, you will become better equipped with the knowledge and skills to spot and avoid plagiarism in your academic research and writing. You will also learn techniques that you can use to excel in your research. We hope you will share your knowledge (and this tutorial) with your classmates to help them achieve their research goals in our shared learning community.
If you are taking this tutorial for a class, you’ll have an opportunity to print out a certification of completion and score to submit to your instructor.
This tutorial takes about 30-40 minutes to complete. Please be sure to complete this tutorial in one sitting. Navigating away from the tutorial before achieving the certificate will delete your completed responses.
Academic Integrity and Plagiarism Tutorial created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning.
How was your experience with the tutorial? Let us know by completing this survey: https://bit.ly/aipt-survey
Getting Started with Citations Tutorial
Learn about how and why we cite in academic writing with this 20-30 minute interactive tutorial. You will learn some basics of overall citation best practices and then have the opportunity to learn the details of how to cite a website, book, and journal article in either APA, CSE, or MLA. If you're taking this tutorial for a class, you'll have an opportunity to print a certificate of completion to submit to your instructor.
Find help with other citation styles, such as Chicago/Turabian, ASA, or Science Citation Styles, from the Citation Styles Guide.
Getting started with citation styles created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning.
How was your experience with the tutorial? Let us know by completing this survey: https://bit.ly/citation-styles-survey
Start Your Research at UCSB Library
Get started on the research process using library resources and AI tools, including choosing a topic, developing a search strategy, and identifying peer-reviewed articles. Download a digital or physical copy of the Introduction to Academic Research Activity Worksheet to complete as you work through the module activities.
Start Your Research at UCSB Library created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning.
Learning About Peer Review
In many cases, professors or instructors will require that students use articles from “peer-reviewed” journals or "scholarly" journals. But what are peer-reviewed (or scholarly) journal articles, and how can you identify them? This interactive tutorial should take approximately 20 minutes. By the end, you will be able to articulate what peer-review is and identify peer-reviewed sources.
View the tutorial created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning
Escape UCSB Library: A Virtual Escape Room
Can you solve a series of interrelated puzzles in time to escape from the library?
Your mission: Find clues behind every bookshelf, uncover the source of the mysterious sounds from the listening room, and navigate a series of library hallways and stairs to the Pacific View Room. Do you have what it takes to make it out?
View the tutorial created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning
Finding a book in the UCSB Library
Learn the basics of locating a book in the UCSB Library. By the end of this tutorial, you will be able to read a call number, search for a book using the UCSB Library Search, and locate a book using its call number in the library.
View the tutorial created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning
UCSB Library Self-Guided Tour
Ready to embark on a tour to get to know more about the UCSB Library? This tour will feature the library spaces, collections, and services available at the UCSB Library, so take out your mobile device or tablet and get ready to connect with all the amazing things your library has to offer.
View the tutorial created by UCSB Library Teaching and Learning