Find Articles
The research databases below are useful for finding a variety of sources for your research. These databases are licensed by the University of California for our faculty, staff, and students. Starting with a research database is much more efficient than browsing a bunch of journals to identify articles on your topic.
- Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Materials Science and Engineering Database is a combination of a group of engineering databases from ProQuest. Expand “Additional Info” for a list.
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. Indexes reports and provides PDF copies of some reports. Note: While access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
- engrXiv This link opens in a new window
An open access preprint server for all areas of engineering. Articles may be submitted free of charge; all published articles may be downloaded free of charge.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.
Evaluate Journals using Impact Factors
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis of the article publication and citation patterns of major journals in the sciences and social sciences. Information available for each journal includes the total number of article published, total citations to articles from the journal, Impact Factor (ratio of number of citations to number of articles), Immediacy Index, Journal Half-Life, Impact Factor Trends and more. These indices are widely used in comparing and evaluating scholarly journal quality.