Best Places to Start
The library's databases are excellent tools to use for finding scholarly articles. We subscribe to nearly 1,000 of these databases; below is a very small selection that will be especially useful for this class, but you will probably want to explore others as well. The complete list of databases, including their descriptions, is here: A-Z list of databases.
Many of these databases contain the full text of articles. If you do not see a link to the full text, use the 
link to find a different access point or to order a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Articles
To find journals (rather than specific articles within journals), use Browzine or UC Library Journal Search.
To locate an article for which you have a citation, use Google Scholar or Fetch Item (Citation Linker).
To find scholarly articles on your topic, use the library's Databases. See box above.
Tips for Using Library Databases
Here are the basic steps to using a database:
1. Decide which database to use. The complete list of databases, including descriptions, is here: A-Z list of databases.
2. I've listed a few excellent databases to start with on this page, but you will want to explore others as well.
3. Always use the Advanced Search option.
4. Databases don't like full sentences! Build your search using a few words that best describe the main concepts of your topic. These are your "keywords."
4. Select whichever filters are appropriate. You may need to select "peer-reviewed" or "academic articles" in the left margin.
6. Do not select "full text" as one of the filters because this will severely limit your results. Instead, see #7 below.
7. If the full text of an article is not available in the database itself, use the link. This will take you to the article on another platform or will offer you an option to order a scanned copy through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
8. Most article databases allow you to save, email, cite, download, or export citations or full articles.