What are social revolutions?
When we think about revolutions in the context of history and the social sciences, we are referring to what the Merriam-Webster dictionary defines as: "a sudden, radical, or complete change" in the social, political, or economic order of society. Revolutions can happen through armed struggles, think about the American Revolution or the Mexican Revolution, or through rapid changes in technology and societal value, such as the Industrial Revolution. This page focus on how to study revolutions in the context of the history of Latin America by showing you where to find primary sources (both in English and Spanish).
Revolutions can be studied from various perspectives, from the sociopolitical and economic impact on society to their impact on the arts (music, paintings, films, etc.). Consider that as you explore the different primary sources available on this page!
Photo caption: President Francisco I. Madero with his political and military staff, after the First Battle of Juarez. Source: How Peace Came to Mexico, Service Bulletin of the Associated Press, November 1, 1911.
Primary Sources
The databases below offer access to a wide variety of primary sources from various countries in Latin America.
You can search for a wide variety of revolutions, such as:
- La revolucion mexicana
- La insurrectiones de Sendero Luminoso en Peru
- La revolucion sandinista en Nicaragua
- etc.
- ProQuest News and Newspapers Databases This link opens in a new windowIn English. Historical and current newspaper databases and news sources from the Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and other U.S.-based newspapers. You can search for news reports from the U.S. about the different revolutions, civil wars, and insurrections happening in Latin American from the 19th century to the present.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series webpageIn English. The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Search within the volumes, or browse them by administrations.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowIn English. The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available from the U.S. government. Coverage is from World War II through the 21st century. This is a good resource for learning more about contemporary revolutions in Latin American from the point of view of the United States and even their involvement in some of these struggles.
- Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new windowMultiple languages. Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new windowMostly Spanish, with some English materials. This archival database includes primary sources that document events across the border. You can search for the Mexican Revolution and find a wide range of documents, from novels to newspaper articles, written by people on both sides of the border.
Spanish
- Latin American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new windowIn Spanish. Latin American Newspapers is a collection of full-text historical newspapers from all over Latin America. Users may search the entire database, or selected newspapers. Searches may be limited by date, language or place of publication.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series II This link opens in a new windowIn Spanish. Latin American Newspapers is a collection of full-text historical newspapers from all over Latin America. Users may search the entire database, or selected newspapers. Searches may be limited by date, language or place of publication.
- Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online This link opens in a new windowIn Spanish. This is an excellent primary source in Spanish to learn more about the Mexican Revolution from the point of view of the anarchist and labor press in Mexico. Use the Advanced Search option to search for keywords such as revolucionarios, rebeldes, revolucion, etc. Select Country: Mexico, and Dates: 1910-1917 to find relevant records.
The Mexican Revolution (1910-1917) is still the most influential event in the history of Mexico. Below are a variety of primary sources' sites that focus on this event.
- The Mexican Revolution and the United States in the Collections of the Library of Congress Online exhibit“The Mexican Revolution and the United States in the Collections of the Library of Congress” tells the dynamic story of the complex and turbulent relationship between Mexico and the United States during the Mexican Revolution, approximately 1910-1920. The site features extraordinary items from many parts of the Library including letters from U.S. President William Howard Taft (1909-1913), photographs, books, manuscripts, and maps. Other materials covering the U.S. invasion of Veracruz in 1914 and the 1916 U.S. incursion in search of Pancho Villa led by General John J. Pershing, original film footage taken during the fighting, and sheet music and recordings of songs sung at the time in the U.S. and, thanks to Arhoolie Records, the marching songs of both Pancho Villa (“Adelita”) and Venustiano Carranza (“Valentina”). This online exhibition closes with items depicting the impact of the Mexican Revolution on the United States and the consequences of the Revolution on the future of Mexican politics. Many of these items are available online for the first time.
- Woodrow Wilson and the Mexican RevolutionWoodrow Wilson was the sitting president during the Mexican Revolution. These primary documents come from its Presidential Library and Archive.
- Elmer and Diane Powell Collection on Mexico and the Mexican RevolutionThis is a digitized archival collection about Mexico and the Mexican Revolution. The collection strength in their photographic documentation of the revolution. Some images may be upsetting to watch since it documents the deaths of combatants and civilians alike. Viewer discretion is advised.
- Rio Grande Valley Oral HistoriesThis research guide is a treasure trove of primary sources documenting the Mexican Revolution on both sides of the US-Mexican border. Of special interest are oral histories from people that experience the Mexican Revolution and how that affected their lifes.
- Memórica. México, haz memoriaPortal digital donde se ofrecen una gran recursos digitales –documentos escritos, fotografías, videos, audios, libros, testimonios orales, tradiciones, entre muchos otros— provenientes de distintos archivos, bibliotecas, acervos federales y municipales, colecciones privadas y familiares, recuerdos personales, con el fin de difundir la riqueza de la memoria histórica y cultural de México.
The Tupac Amaru indigenous insurrection was one of the most significant events in Colonial Peru back in the 1780s. Most primary resources are in Spanish and accessible online.
Documentos para la historia de la sublevacion de José Gabriel de Tupac-Amaru: cacique de la provincia de Tinta, en el Peru. 1. ed. Buenos Aires: Imprenta del estado. by Publication Date: 1836This original book in Spanish compile all related primary sources about the Tupac Amaru insurrection in Peru.- Genealogía de Tupac Amaru por José Gabriel Tupac Amaru (documento inédito del año de 1777). Causas de la sublevación indígena / por Antonio González Pavón (documento inédito del año de 1788). Daños que se hacen a los indios / por Francisco Falc by Publication Date: 1946In Spanish. This book published several primary sources from the 1700s that document the Tupac Amaru insurrection.
Narra la independencia desde tu pueblo is a portal that offers primary sources, in Spanish, that document the history and trajectory of independence in Peru. One of the most significant events on that road to independence was the insurrection by Tupac Amaru, who not only instigated the most significant indigenous revolt in all the Americas, but also inspired criollos to struggle later on against the Spanish regime. Below are the links to the primary sources that document this historic event.
Sendero Luminoso/Shining Path's insurrection occurred in the late 20th century, and it is considered one of the bloodiest events in the history of Peru. See below for some primary sources' resources.
- Digital Library of the Central Library of the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Peru
The Central Library of the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos, Peru, has an amazing digital collection of personal papers, manuscripts, publications, reports, and topical collections, such as la Colección Documental sobre la violencia política en el Perú which focus on Sendero Luminoso. - Informe Final de la Comisión de la Verdad y Reconciliación (2003)In Spanish. This report, done by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, offer a detailed account of the events, significant players, incidents, testimonies, and final recommendations to move forward in the aftermath of the Shining Path and related state violence in Peru. The files for each volume are saved in zip.files that you need to download and unzip (which is easy since most of your computers have the software to unzip them). Don't hesitate to contact the librarian if you need help or have questions.
Revolutions have a way of inspiring people; one way to study their impact is through the arts. Here is a selection of sites that showcase how revolutions inspired writers, musicians, and artists!
- Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new windowYou can search this site to find music inspired by revolutions. For example, the Mexican Revolution inspired the creation of many Corridos. Corridos are songs that narrate important historical events. The Mexican Revolution inspired the creation of this type of song during and after the war's end. In Cuba, the Nueva Trova was a music genre inspired by the protest song movement and initially exalted the glory of the Cuban revolution.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowRegistration: ARTstor requires users to create an account and login before images can be downloaded. Use the links at upper right of the ARTstor site.
You can search this site for images inspired by revolutions. For example, try searching for Mexican Revolution (with and without quotation marks) to see what images were created and inspired by that event. For contemporary revolutions, you can also find photographs in this database.