Find articles
Find Articles, Citations, Reviews, and more in these Indexes and Databases:
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowContains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications, nearly all available from Volume 1, Issue 1. Note: Virtually all of the same material is searchable in the INSPEC database, along with numerous other journals and conference papers.
-
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. The SPIE Digital library provides access to the papers published in: Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems.
-
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of scientific and technical engineering research covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text repository of papers from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings published, co-published, or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery and other publishers.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
-
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. Note that while access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts.
-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications covering mathematics, statistics, operations research, and econometrics. Combines coverage from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
-
arXivFrom September 2017 forward arXiv includes an archive for Electrical Engineering and Systems Science.
Technical Reports
Technical reports are another form of primary literture in sciences and engineering. Most technical reports are progress reports created by researchers receiving government funding and submitted to the funding agency for publicatgion. Technical reporats are very imporatn sources, especially in aerospace and energy.
Note: Technical reports are NOT peer-reviewed publications Also, there is little standardization of formats in technical reports. Some closely resemble scholarly journal article but not all do.
Full-Text Technical Report Databases
-
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. Indexes reports and provides PDF copies of some reports. Note: While access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
-
Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) This link opens in a new window
A collaborative project from academic libraries working to build a complete collection of digitized technical reports. Most of the technical reports were issued prior to 1976, with some reports as late as 1999.
-
NASA Technical Reports Server This link opens in a new window
Provides access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. The types of information included are NASA STI Series reports, abstracts, book chapters and books, conference papers and presentations, contractor and grantee reports, journal articles, patents, technical reports, technical videos, and white papers – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
-
OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
Portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. OSTI.GOV was developed to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
-
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
-
National Service Center for Environmental PublicationsThis site is EPA's premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 35,000 digital titles, free of charge. EPA’s print publications are available through the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP), and EPA's digital publications are stored in the National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database.
-
DOE OpenNetUse OpenNet to locate over 485,000 bibliographic references and 140,000 recently declassified documents, including information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests received by the Department of Energy.