Finding English Language Articles
Finding research articles is not different from finding books in terms of searching strategies. In both cases you need to develop keywords to be able to search the UC Library Search, our many databases or search engines like Google Scholars. Keywords can be single words or phrases that are combine to narrow down your topic. You can combine a single word with a phrase, e.g., Japan AND “detective novels” or Meiji AND novelists, or Ango Sakaguchi OR 坂口 安吾 AND “anime”.
Pro tip:
- UCSB Journal SearchIf you know the title of a journal and want to search all of it for articles in your topic, you can search for it using the UCSB Journal Search. You can find it by selecting (o the top right side menu) Research ->Journal Search
Below is a selection of English language databases that you can use to start your research!
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowOver 900,000 citations of Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings, chapters in edited volumes, and Festschriften published anywhere in the world that deal with East, Southeast and South Asia and with the overseas Asian communities, dating primarily from 1971 onwards.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowA citation database of articles published in over 2,000 journals on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows searching of articles from its archival collection of journals in a wide range of subject areas by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text.
Note: Newer works published in the recent 3-5 years may not be included. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCitation of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics published from over 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers.
- Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of hundreds of university press and other journals. Older issues of many (but not all) of the journals are available in JSTOR. The Project MUSE advanced search allows you to search and link through to the corresponding JSTOR archives as well.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from hundreds of electronic journals and thousands of electronic books published by Springer and its subsidiaries. Many of the journals and books are available for full-text display.
Finding Japanese Language Articles
Most databases don't provide full-text articles. Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request articles.
- Koseisha Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei: Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present This link opens in a new windowCitation of Japanese journal and magazine articles published from 1868 to present time, including local periodicals not present in other indexes and those published in former Japanese colonies.
- Kingendai shiryō dētabēsu 近現代史料データベース (Must Use VPN)Primary source archive focuses on post-war Japanese political and economic history.
-社会政策エネルギー政策関係資料集 -三木武夫関係資料 -大平正芳関係文書 -大来佐武郎関係文書 -矢部貞治関係文書 -我妻栄関係文書 -楠田實資料 (佐藤栄作官邸文書) -地方制度と地方分権 -二二六事件 東京陸軍軍法会議録 -近代文学作家自筆資料集 -三田文学 -宰治自筆資料集 -性風俗稀少雑誌コレクション -「日本心霊」デジタルアーカイブ - MagazinePlusCitation of over 4.8 million articles published in 8,500 scholarly journals from 1975 to the present.
Note: Ten (10) accesses shared among 5 UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use. - Magazines through JapanKnowledgeGo to JKBooks to discover purchased e-book series.
-太陽 -文芸倶楽部 -近代作家原稿集 -風俗画報 -群書類従 -美術新報 -The ORIENTAL ECONOMIST -弘文荘待賈古書目 -東洋経済アーカイブズ -文藝春秋アーカイブズ
Note: Four (4) accesses shared among 9 UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use.
How to JapanKnowledge video (https://guides.nccjapan.org/outreach/jkworkshop) - Toyo Keizai Digital Content Library-Shūkan Tōyō Keizai 週刊東洋経済 (1997- )
-Japan Company Handbook (2006- )
-Hitotsubashi Bijinesu Rebyū 一橋ビジネスレビュー (2006- )
-東洋経済別冊・臨時増刊・MOOKs (2011- ) - WhoPlusIncludes biographical information on 330,000 people and an e-version of several biographical reference dictionaries covering 280,000 people.
Note: Ten (10) accesses shared among 5 UC campuses. Try again later if refused. Log out after use. - CiNii Research (Articles)Search of information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database and databases.
- NDL Search 国立国会図書館サーチIncludes holdings of the National Diet Library (NDL), other libraries, museums, and archives in Japan, including digital archives.
- 東洋学文献類目検索 [第 7.4 α版]Includes books and articles in Chinese studies published in East Asian countries and the West between 1934 and 1980, and since 2001. For publications between 1981 and 2000, please check: Tōyōgaku Bunken Ruimoku Kensaku 東洋学文献類目検索 [第6.10版].