Local Television News
Bay Area Television News Archive (San Francisco State University) - a selection of material from San Francisco area television stations searchable by keyword and thematic collections is richest in content from the 1960s and 1970s but the footage dates back to 1948 and goes through the 2000s
Boston TV News Digital Library - a digital collection of local news stories produced in and about Boston from the early 1960s to 2000
Southern Methodist University (WFAA) - a selection of footage from the Dallas, Texas news station WFAA (ca. 1960-1978)
Texas Archive of the Moving Image - the digital collections include news footage from different stations and areas in Texas; filter by category "Television News"
UCLA Film & Television Archive - a small selection of material available from the KTLA News Collection (mid 1960s-1980s)
University of South Carolina Moving Image Research Collection (Local TV News Collection) - a selection of outtake footage shot by the news crews of Columbia, South Carolina’s NBC affiliate from 1959 to 1979.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Public Broadcasting
American Archive of Public Broadcasting - historic programs of publicly funded radio and television from across the United States; you can facet by year after your initial search, but note that less than half of all records for digitized assets are currently dated, as cataloging is still in progress.
Anthology Programs
UCLA Film & Television Archive provides access to a selection of episodes from their collection of more than 80 episodes of the anthology drama U.S. Steel Hour (1953-1963)
UCSB Library, Special Research Collections
Robert B. Sinclair Teleplays Collection, 1957-1962 (PA Mss 12) - Annotated teleplays for 1950s and 1960s television series directed by Robert Sinclair.
Other Institutions
The Walter J. Brown Media Archives News Film & Peabody Awards Collection
UCLA Performing Arts Collections - Review their helpful guide to conducting television research within their library's collections.
UCLA Film & Television Archive -TV collections include DuMont TV, the ABC-TV Collection, over 10,000 commercials, Hallmark Hall of Fame, and a collection of Golden Age anthology dramas
USC Warner Bros. Archives - Includes extensive production records for Warner Bros. television series (1955-1968).
Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research - Search archival holdings relating to the entertainment industry include more than 300 collections related to the American film industry (1930-1960), American popular theater (1940s-1950s), and American TV (1940s-1970s). Materials preserved including historical records and personal papers, motion pictures, television shows, photographs and promotional graphics, and sound recordings. Their digital exhibits also offer a glimpse into the breadth of materials available in their collections and how they are being used by researchers.