About Reference Sources
Reference sources (encyclopedias, catalogs, dictionaries etc.) can be useful to get an overview of topics you may be interested in researching and to develop your research question. The more background information you have on a topic of interest, the more you will be able to think of promising research questions.
TV Reference Tools
- Broadcasting & cable yearbook. (1993-2010)Call Number: Main Library HE8689 .B77 [Regular Loan]Publication Date: 1980-1993
- Television & cable factbook. (Library keeps latest edition only)Call Number: MAIN REF HE8700.8 .T45 [Non-circulating]
- International television & video almanacCall Number: MAIN REF HE8698 .I5 [Non-circulating]Publication Date: 1965-present
Selected Media Reference Books
The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows, 1946-Present by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1992.18 .B68 1999 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0345429230Publication Date: 1999- Complete Encyclopedia of Television Programs 1947-1979 byCall Number: Main Library PN1992.3.U5 T46 1979ISBN: 0498021777Publication Date: 1979
Encyclopedia of New Media by Call Number: MAIN REF QA76.575 .E5368 2003 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0761923829Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia of Superheroes on Film and Television by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1995.9.S76 M85 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0786417234Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Television by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1992.18 .E53 2004 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1579583946Publication Date: 2004
The Encyclopedia of Television News by Call Number: MAIN REF PN4888.T4 E53 1999 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1573561088Publication Date: 1998
The Hill and Beyond: children's television drama [an encyclopedia] by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1992.8.C46 M39 2003 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0851708781Publication Date: 2003- Les Brown's Encyclopedia of Television byCall Number: MAIN REF PN1992.18.B7 1992 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0810388715Publication Date: 1992
Multicultural Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1995.9.M56 P37 2003 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0816046042Publication Date: 2003
Special Edition: : a guide to network television documentary series and special news reports, 1980-1989 by Call Number: MAIN REF PN1992.8.D6 E56 1997 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0810832208Publication Date: 1997
Television Program Master Index by Call Number: Main Library PN1992.9.D56 2014 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780786472451Publication Date: 2014
Women and American Television by Call Number: EGS REF PN1992.8.W65 L69 1999 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0874369703Publication Date: 2000
