ARTHI 187A: Approaches to Objects (Boswell, Fall 2024): Primary Sources

Publishes primary source collections from archives around the world.

A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The issues are presented as full-color page images; detailed article-level indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

The Beazley Archive at the University of Oxford is a collection of casts and photographs of classical Greek and Roman art. The digital archive includes extensive collections of images of Greek and Roman sculpture and Greek pottery.

Comprehensive online full-text database for Arabic scholarly output. Full-text database of close to 1.2 million Arabic items, including 65,000 items mainly in English and other languages. Dissertations and theses include full-text and abstracts for about 150,000 titles from 170 schools across the Arab world.

Includes photographs and illustrations of European and American architecture by Prof. Jeffery Howe of the Fine Arts department of Boston College.

Contains digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Offers a fully-searchable database of over 1,800 broadside ballads, mostly of the seventeenth century and mostly in black-letter print. Ballads are accessible as facsimiles, as facsimile transcriptions, and as recorded songs. Also provides full citations for the ballads as well as background essays about ballad culture of the period.

Consists of manuscripts, visual and printed works on the history of travel during 1550-1850 from libraries and archives around the world, including the Beinecke Library, the Paul Melon Centre, the Chaney Library, the British Library, and other selected sources. Topics include European political and religious life; British diplomacy; material culture; everyday life; and life at court.

Access to prominent and lesser-known periodicals published throughout the interwar period, covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world cultural affairs, class, social and welfare issues.

Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Includes digitized, full-image journal articles published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, psychology and geography from 1802-2005.

Contains both serials and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy rare publications, reflecting the varied knowledge production in colonial and early postcolonial India, including: culture and society; industry and economy; science, technology and medicine; urban planning and administration; and politics and the law.