UC Library Search
Perform your search, then select "Peer Reviewed Journals" under "Show Only" on the left side of the results screen.
Find & Evaluate Journals
UCSB E-Journals:
- E-Journals Collection (main search)
Evaluate Journals and Find Impact Factors
Locating Articles:
Click the 
button to find the full text of an article, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the article you need, you can request the article to be sent to you through interlibrary loan.
If you already have a citation, first, use Google Scholar and search for the title of the article. Look for the link to the pdf or Get it at UC button on the right side. You may first need to Connect Google Scholar to UCSB Library Full-Text Resources. If you do not see the article, use the Citation Linker where you should see if the UCSB Library has access to it or use the Request function to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Indexes to Scholarly Journals - Science and Engineering & More
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAccess the printable version of this Syllabus (Links to an external site.), and print it out (or save it electronically).
Read and print out or save the other key documents for the course: Course Outline (Links to an external site.) and List of Assignments (Links to an external site.). - National Agricultural Library Search This link opens in a new windowThe National Agricultural Library's index to the literature of agriculture; good for sustainable farming and forestry.
1970 to present
Note: This database is not limited to UCSB users. This database does not have links to Get it at UC. You will need to look up journals in the UC Library Search to determine availability. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database covering all areas of envirnomental science; excellent for renewable energy, and other sustainability topics.
1967 to present. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides the worldwide scholarly community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scholarly disciplines. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new windowMost important index for marine biology; good for sustainable fisheries, aquaculture, etc.
1971 to present - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Communication Source (including Communication Abstracts) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of articles, books and other resources in communication studies and related disciplines, including communication theory, organizational communication, technology in human communication and public opinion.
Coverage is 1977 to present. - Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowThe premier index for engineering in general; good for sustainable manufacturing.
1884 to present - ERIC This link opens in a new window
Covers education-related literature. Provides access to ERIC documents and journal articles.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Provides citations from journals, serials, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports in the fields of geology and geophysics. Topics include energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, nuclear reactor sites, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of journals and books in a wide range of subject areas. Also includes high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more (including those from Artstor).
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, including millions of works from thousands of universities.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and related disciplines from professional journals, book chapters, books, reports, and dissertations. Most citations include abstracts. In addition, there are millions of cited references in journal articles, books, and chapters.
- U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical InformationProvided by the U.S. Department of Energy; good for renewable energy sources. Includes many full-text technical reports.
1948 to present.
Note: This database is not limited to UCSB users. This database does not have links to Get it at UC. You will need to look up journals in UC Library Search to determine availability.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe major index for sociology, including material on communication.
- Water Rights & Resources
Covers a wide range of water issues, including irrigation, hydropower, riparian rights, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights, encompassing the unique water rights issues that span from the Eastern seaboard to the Great Lakes and across the arid West. Includes congressional documents, books, legislative histories on major legislation, and Supreme Court briefs on related cases.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowVery broad interdisciplinary index to scholarly literature in all fields. Only covers the most heavily cited journals in each field.
Excellent for finding additional information based on key papers by linking to cited, citing and related documents
1900 to present for Social Sciences, 1945 to present for Sciences, 1972 to present for Arts & Humanities.
Find subject-based databases
Select "by Subject" to find databases. Use a database that is most recommended in that subject, listed near the top of the options.