Archaeology of Food: An Encyclopedia by 
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by
This single-source reference will help students and general readers alike understand the most critical issues facing American society today. Featuring the work of almost 200 expert contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues comprises four volumes, each devoted to a particular subject area. Volume one covers business and the economy; volume two, criminal justice; volume three, family and society; and volume four, the environment, science, and technology. Coverage within these volumes ranges from biotechnology to identity theft, from racial profiling to corporate governance, from school choice to food safety. The work brings into focus a broad array of key issues confronting American society today. Approximately 225 in-depth entries lay out the controversies debated in the media, on campuses, in government, in boardrooms, and in homes and neighborhoods across the United States. Critical issues in criminology, medicine, religion, commerce, education, the environment, media, family life, and science are all carefully described and examined in a scholarly yet accessible way. Sidebars, photos, charts, and graphs throughout augment the entries, making them even more compelling and informative. Four volumes divided by subject area 225 entries written by experienced researchers and professionals who are experts in their fields Charts and graphs Comprehensive bibliographies at the end of each topic volume Sidebars containing interesting and useful tangents to the main discussion Further reading section at end of each entry, including Internet links
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by 
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
The third edition contains nearly 800 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. In recognition of the fact that people spend an overwhelming proportion of their time in human-made environments, essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by 
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by 
Encyclopedia of Food Safety by
With the world's growing population, the provision of a safe, nutritious and wholesome food supply for all has become a major challenge. To achieve this, effective risk management based on sound science and unbiased information is required by all stakeholders, including the food industry, governments and consumers themselves. In addition, the globalization of the food supply requires the harmonization of policies and standards based on a common understanding of food safety among authorities in countries around the world. With some 280 chapters, the Encyclopedia of Food Safety provides unbiased and concise overviews which form in total a comprehensive coverage of a broad range of food safety topics, which may be grouped under the following general categories: History and basic sciences that support food safety; Foodborne diseases, including surveillance and investigation; Foodborne hazards, including microbiological and chemical agents; Substances added to food, both directly and indirectly; Food technologies, including the latest developments; Food commodities, including their potential hazards and controls; Food safety management systems, including their elements and the roles of stakeholders. The Encyclopedia provides a platform for experts from the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment to share and learn from state-of-the art expertise with the rest of the food safety community. Assembled with the objective of facilitating the work of those working in the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment - this work covers the entire spectrum of food safety topics into one comprehensive reference work The Editors have made every effort to ensure that this work meets strict quality and pedagogical thresholds such as: contributions by the foremost authorities in their fields; unbiased and concise overviews on a multitude of food safety subjects; references for further information, and specialized and general definitions for food safety terminology In maintaining confidence in the safety of the food supply, sound scientific information is key to effectively and efficiently assessing, managing and communicating on food safety risks. Yet, professionals and other specialists working in this multidisciplinary field are finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with developments outside their immediate areas of expertise. This single source of concise, reliable and authoritative information on food safety has, more than ever, become a necessity
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Justice by
This two-volume Encyclopedia of Global Justice, published by Springer, along with Springer's book series, Studies in Global Justice, is a major publication venture toward a comprehensive coverage of this timely topic. The Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice, and edited and advised by leading scholars from around the world. The wide-ranging entries present the latest ideas on this complex subject by authors who are at the cutting edge of inquiry. The Encyclopedia sets the tone and direction of this increasingly important area of scholarship for years to come. The entries number around 500 and consist of essays of 300 to 5000 words. The inclusion and length of entries are based on their significance to the topic of global justice, regardless of their importance in other areas.
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by
The Encyclopedia of Global Studies is the reference work for the emerging field of global studies. It covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including: the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences by
With the increasing pressures on the availability and exploitation of fresh water resources through population increase, pollution and degradation of resources, and variations in distribution from regional and global change in the climate, compilation of knowledge in this area has become a prerequisite for education and training of practising and research hydrologists. The Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences is the definitive research level multi-volume treatment of this important topic. Written and edited by leading worldwide authorities in the field, and comprising nearly 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, informed coverage of the subject. Organised into 17 themed parts for the reader's ease of navigation, it offers up-to-date, scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale, in a convenient and credible manner. * Written by over 200 contributors * Available both in print and online * Ideal for researchers in both academia and industry
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2e is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past. *Approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field *Greater coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with greater consideration of economic and political aspects provides a broad view of the field *Online availability facilitates easier research and increased productivity
Encyclopedia of Organic, Sustainable, and Local Food by
A comprehensive compilation of entries illuminates the key trends, activities, and themes in organic, sustainable, and local food, covering consumers, organizations, farming, policies, and much more. * 150 comprehensive, A-Z entries cover all aspects of organic food and farming, local food production and consumption, and sustainable food initiatives * A chronology of the years 1860-2009 includes over 40 events, detailing the history and evolution of organic and local food * 30 photographs depict current themes in sustainable farming and organic/local food * A bibliography lists key references for readers who wish to follow up on a specific theme
Encyclopedia of Public Health by
The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. The work includes more than 2,500 alphabetical entries. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions. Numerous figures and tables enhance understanding of this little-understood topic. Solidly structured and inclusive, this two-volume reference is an invaluable tool for clinical scientists and practitioners in academia, health care and industry, as well as students, teachers and interested laypersons.
Encyclopedia of Quality of Life and Well-Being Research by
The aim of this encyclopedia is to provide a comprehensive reference work on scientific and other scholarly research on the quality of life, including health-related quality of life research or also called patient-reported outcomes research. Since the 1960s two overlapping but fairly distinct research communities and traditions have developed concerning ideas about the quality of life, individually and collectively, one with a fairly narrow focus on health-related issues and one with a quite broad focus. In many ways, the central issues of these fields have roots extending to the observations and speculations of ancient philosophers, creating a continuous exploration by diverse explorers in diverse historic and cultural circumstances over several centuries of the qualities of human existence. What we have not had so far is a single, multidimensional reference work connecting the most salient and important contributions to the relevant fields. Entries are organized alphabetically and cover basic concepts, relatively well established facts, lawlike and causal relations, theories, methods, standardized tests, biographic entries on significant figures, organizational profiles, indicators and indexes of qualities of individuals and of communities of diverse sizes, including rural areas, towns, cities, counties, provinces, states, regions, countries and groups of countries.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy In the United States by
aThe Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States is the most comprehensive reference source available that analyzes water-related issues in America."
Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate by
Praise for the previous edition:Booklist/RBB "Top Ten Science Reference Source, 2002"Society of School Librarians International "Honor Book, 2002""This book stands out because it is an easy-to-understand
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - Europe by
This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world--including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. * Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world * More than 100 expert contributors * Vignettes * An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. This encyclopedia will cover all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies. A significant percentage of the articles will cover public health aspects of diseases and conditions. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues. Edited and written by a distinguished international group of editors and contributors Heavily illustrated and abundantly cross-referenced Via ScienceDirect platform, multimedia files will provide an enhanced online experience Includes 'Further Reading' lists at the end of each article A complete subject index contained in one volume
Nuclear Energy Encyclopedia: Science, Technology, and Applications
Water Encyclopedia by
The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects.
Applied Survey Sampling by
Applied Survey Samplingaddresses the conceptual and practical aspects of sampling for social science, health science, and business researchers. It aims to provide applied and non-technical explanations of conceptual and practical aspects of sampling for the non-statistician. This book addresses the rapidly changing technology landscape of survey research, including non-response rates, the internet, cell phones, and social media. It also includes coverage of big data, using cases and diverse examples to illustrate key findings.
Cases in Online Interview Research by
In an era of constrained research budgets, online interviewing opens up immense possibilities: a researcher can literally conduct a global study without ever leaving home. But more than a decade after these technologies started to become available, there are still few studies on how to utilize online interviews in research. This book provides 10 cases of research conducted using online interviews, with data collected through text-based, videoconferencing, multichannel meetings, and immersive 3-D environments. Each case is followed by two commentaries: one from another expert contributor, the second from Janet Salmons, as editor.
Doing Conversation, Discourse and Document Analysis by
Introducing the theory and practice of conversation, discourse and document analysis, this text demonstrates the usefulness of these methods in addressing key questions in the social sciences. Tim Rapley also provides an overview of the particular challenges involved in collecting and analysing data from these sources.
Doing Ethnographic and Observational Research by
Including coverage of the selection of cases, observation and interviewing, recording data, and takes into account ethical issues, Doing Ethnographic and Observational Research introduces the reader to the practice of producing data through ethnographic fieldwork and observational research.
A Guide to Research Methodology: An Overview of Research Problems, Tasks and Methods by
Research Methodology is meant to provide a broad guideline to facilitate and steer the whole of a research activity in any discipline. With the ambit and amount of research increasing by the day, the need for Research Methodology is being widely appreciated. Against this backdrop, we notice the dearth of well-written books on the subject. A Guide to Research Methodology attempts a balance between the generic approach to research in any domain and the wide array of research methods which are to be used in carrying out different tasks in any research. Discussions on these research methods appropriate in various disciplines have focused on the research tasks, keeping in mind the fact that a single such task like a comparison among alternatives may involve several methods from seemingly distinct areas. Unique features of this volume, as will be evident to a discerning reader, include: A detailed discussion on problem areas for research in several domains An illustrative and ampliated list of research problems drawn from different disciplines which can be pursued by interested research workers A comprehensive delineation of Research Design supported by illustrations An elaborate engagement with models with a note on model uncertainty Focus on recent and emerging models, methods and techniques A novel treatment of data analysis where the nature of data and the objective(s) of analysis justify drawing upon a variety of techniques for analysis This book will serve the purpose of a pre-PhD or a Master-level course-work for students of any discipline with a basic knowledge of quantitative analysis. In fact, anyone aspiring to take up meaningful research work will find the content useful and interesting.
The Handbook of Visual Analysis by
The Handbook of Visual Analysis is a rich methodological resource for students, academics, researchers and professionals interested in investigating the visual representation of socially significant issues. The Handbook: · Offers a wide-range of methods for visual analysis: content analysis, historical analysis, structuralist analysis, iconography, psychoanalysis, social semiotic analysis, film analysis and ethnomethodology · Shows how each method can be applied for the purposes of specific research projects. · Exemplifies each approach through detailed analyses of a variety of data, including, newspaper images, family photos, drawings, art works and cartoons. · Includes examples from the authors′ own research and professional practice. The Handbook of Visual Analysis which demonstrates the importance of visual data within the social sciences offers an essential guide to those working in a range of disciplines including: media and communication studies, sociology, anthropology, education, psychoanalysis, and health studies.
Methods for Policy Research: Taking Socially Responsible Action by
Methods for Policy Research, Second Edition, by Ann Majchrzak and M. Lynne Markus, is a book about responsible and evidence-based policy decision making written for those interested in improving the decisions that affect people's lives. It describes how to define policy research questions so that evidence can be applied to policy decisions, how to find and synthesize existing evidence, how to generate new evidence if needed, how to make acceptable recommendations that can solve policy problems without negative side effects, and how to describe evidence and policy recommendations in a manner that changes minds. The suggestions made throughout the book are based on the fundamental belief that evidence-based decision making is superior to decisions based purely on opinion, intuition, and emotion.
Plastics and Microplastics: A Reference Handbook by
Beginning with a history of plastic--from the first scientific discovery of the material to its diversity of forms and uses in the present day--Plastics and Microplastics: A Reference Handbook discusses the history and evolution of plastic and its many uses, both in the United States and around the world. Importantly, it delves into the problems and controversies concerning plastic and microplastics, such as the pollution of oceans, rivers, and streams; its exceptionally long shelf life; its contribution to air pollution; and ingestion of microplastics by marine life. One of the most valuable aspects of the book is its survey of the history of plastics and microplastics conducted in a manner that helps readers to identify key issues to address. Moreover, it discusses both implemented and proposed solutions. A perspectives chapter includes a broad range of voices, allowing crucial, diverse perspectives to round out the author's expertise.
Qualitative-Quantitative Research Methodology by
Rejecting the artificial dichotomy between qualitative and quantitative research strategies in the social and behavioral sciences, Isadore Newman and Carolyn R. Benz argue that the two approaches are neither mutually exclusive nor interchangeable; rather, the actual relationship between the two paradigms is one of isolated events on a continuum of scientific inquiry. Through graphic and narrative descriptions, Newman and Benz show research to be a holistic endeavor in the world of inquiry. To clarify their argument, they provide a diagram of the "qualitative-quantitative interactive continuum" showing that qualitative analysis with its feedback loops can easily modify the types of research questions asked in quantitative research and that the quantitative results and its feedback can change what will be asked qualitatively. In their model for research--an "interactive continuum"--Newman and Benz emphasize four major points: the research question dictates the selection of research methods; consistency between question and design can lead to a method of critiquing research studies in professional journals; the interactive continuum model is built around the place of theory; and the assurance of "validity" of research is central to all studies.
Research Data Management and Data Literacies by
Research Data Management and Data Literacies help researchers familiarize themselves with RDM, and with the services increasingly offered by libraries. This new volume looks at data-intensive science, or 'Science 2.0' as it is sometimes termed in commentary, from a number of perspectives, including the tasks academic libraries need to fulfil, new services that will come online in the near future, data literacy and its relation to other literacies, research support and the need to connect researchers across the academy, and other key issues, such as 'data deluge,' the importance of citations, metadata and data repositories. This book presents a solid resource that contextualizes RDM, including good theory and practice for researchers and professionals who find themselves tasked with managing research data. Gives guidance on organizing, storing, preserving and sharing research data using Research Data Management (RDM) Contextualizes RDM within the global shift to data-intensive research Helps researchers and information professionals understand and optimize data-intensive ways of working Considers RDM in relation to varying needs of researchers across the sciences and humanities Presents key issues surrounding RDM, including data literacy, citations, metadata and data repositories
Research Methodology by
This book offers a standardized approach for research aspirants working in the various areas. At the same time, all the major topics in social research have also been detailed thoroughly which makes this book a very good frame of study for students and researchers in diverse fields. This book charts new and evolving terrain of social research by covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed approach. The chapters has extensive number of case studies that help researchers to understand practical implications of the research and includes plenty of diagrammatic representations for easy understanding of various theories and procedures. Each phase of research is explained in detail so that even beginners can also effectively utilize this book. It is written in a highly interactive manner, which makes for an interesting read. Templates of technical report, business report and research reports are also included in the book. This provides the reader with a hands-on experience.
Research Methodology: A Practical and Scientific Approach by
This book offers a design research methodology intended to improve the quality of design research- its academic credibility, industrial significance and societal contribution by enabling more thorough, efficient and effective procedures.
Research Methodology: A Step-by-step Guide for Beginners by
This immensely practical book is designed for anyone new to research and planning to undertake a research project. The textbook is organized around eight operational steps that constitute the research process: formulating a research problem; conceptualizing a research design; constructing an instrument for data collection; selecting a sample; writing a research proposal; collecting data; processing data; and writing a research report. Ranjit Kumar has drawn on 20 years of teaching experience to demystify the research process and give students a helpful and informative guide.
Research Methodology: From Philosophy of Science to Research Design by
Research Methodology: From Philosophy of Science to Research Design distinguishes itself from many other works devoted to research methodology and the philosophy of science in its integrated approach towards scientific research, which is regarded as the scientific project on all levels from philosophy of science to research design. This work studie
Research Methodology in the Social, Behavioural and Life Sciences by
This is an ideal text for advanced courses in research methods and experimental design. It argues that the methodology of quantitative research is a unified discipline with basic notions, procedures and ways of reasoning which can be applied across the social, behavioural and life sciences. Key designs, models and methods in research are covered by leading contributors in their field who seek to explain the fundamentals of the research process to enable the student to understand the broader implications and unifying themes.
Research Methods: the Key Concepts by
This invaluable resource provides a comprehensive overview of the many methods and methodologies of social research. Each entry provides a critical definition and examines the value and difficulties of a particular method or methodology of concept across different fields of social research. Concepts include: Action research Chaos theory Discourse analysis Epistemology Literature review Interviewing Social constructivism World view With thematic further reading stretching across the social sciences, Research Methods: The Key Concepts will help readers develop a firm understanding of the rationale and principles behind key research methods, and is a must-have for new researchers at all levels, from undergraduate to postgraduate and beyond.
Research Methods for the Digital Humantities by
This volume introduces the reader to the wide range of methods that digital humanities employ, and offers a practical guide to the study, interpretation, and presentation of cultural material and practices. In this instance, the editors consider digital humanities to include both the use of computing to understand cultural material in new ways, and the application of theories and methods from the humanities to interpret new technologies. Each chapter provides a step-by-step guide to cutting-edge methodologies so that students can make informed decisions about the methods they use, consider ethical practices, follow practical procedures, and present their work effectively. Readers will develop practical and reflexive understandings of the software and digital devices that they study and use for research, and the book will help new researchers collaborate and contribute to their scholarly communities, and to public discourse. As contemporary humanities work becomes increasingly interdisciplinary, and increasingly permeated by and with digital technologies, this volume helps new researchers navigate an evolving academic environment. Humanities and social sciences students will find this textbook an invaluable resource for assessing and creating digital projects.
Using Visual Data in Qualitative Research by
Examining the wide range of uses of visual images in qualitative research, Using Visual Data in Qualitative Research incorporates discussion of visual data produced by the researcher, and that produced by those under study. It provides a comprehensive introduction to the practice of visually-orientated research.
Visual Research Methods by
Visual Research Methods: Image, Society, and Representation translates abstract concepts into visually-compelling elements of everyday life. Differing from photographs as illustration, this edited volume synthesizes images with analytic questions about the world "out there." Editor Gregory C. Stanczak crisscrosses disciplines in ways that highlight the multiple manifestations of a new interdisciplinary trend.
What Is Online Research? Using the Internet for Social Science Research by
This book is available as open access through the Bloomsbury Open Access programme and is available on www.bloomsburycollections.com.The massive expansion of the internet into every aspect of our lives creates a challenge for social researchers: can they simply transfer their traditional methods and techniques online or do they need to reinvent research methods for the new environment? As online research becomes increasingly prevalent it becomes more important for researchers to have an answer to these questions and an approach to conducting research online. This book is a straightforward, accessible introduction to social research online. It covers the key issues and concerns for social scientists: online surveys, focus groups, interviews, ethnographies and experiments, as well as discussing the implications of social media, and of online research ethics. It provides a detailed, up-to-date glossary and bibliography for those new to the area. Short, clear case studies throughout allow students to see examples of the research in practice. Wide-ranging and interdisciplinary, What is Online Research? shows social scientists of all levels - from undergraduates to established researchers - how to engage in the online environment in appropriate ways, and points the way forward for future research.
Blending Qualitative and Quantitative Research Methods in Theses and Dissertations by
`Aimed at empowering students with the information necessary to choose the best approach to fit their needs, the text outlines numerous research options from varying viewpoints, and highlights the procedures involved with putting each method into practice′ - Qualitative Research Journal `This book offers a broad spectrum of research methodologies within one text that is easy to understand. R Murray Thomas examines educational research as a series of simple and complex questions. This integrated presentation of research methodologies makes this a unique text′ - Roxana Della Vecchia, Assistant Dean, College of Education, Towson University Traditionally, graduate students have written theses and dissertations that take either qualitative or quantitative approach. But in the current environment, many students are opting for a mixed-methods approach that combines some quantitative methods with qualitative methods. This is a growing trend, yet no book exists that applies mixed methods to writing the dissertation or theses. This book aims to fill that gap.
Conducting Research in Conservation: Social Science Methods and Practice by
Conducting Research in Conservation is the first textbook on social science research methods written specifically for use in the expanding and increasingly multidisciplinary field of environmental conservation. The first section on planning a research project includes chapters on the need for social science research in conservation, defining a research topic, methodology, and sampling. Sectionnbsp;two focuses on practical issues in carrying out fieldwork with local communities, from fieldwork preparation and data collection to the relationships between the researcher and the study community. Sectionnbsp;three provides an in-depth focus on a range of social science methods including standard qualitative and quantitative methods such as participant observation, interviewing and questionnaires, and more advanced methods, such as ethnobiological methods for documenting local environmental knowledge and change, and participatory methods such as the 'PRA' toolbox. Sectionnbsp;four then demonstrates how to analyze social science data qualitatively and quantitatively; and the final section outlines the writing-up process and what should happen after the end of the formal research project. This book is a comprehensive and accessible guide to social science research methods for students of conservation related subjects and practitioners trained in the natural sciences. It features practical worldwide examples of conservation-related research in different ecosystems such as forests; grasslands; marine and riverine systems; and farmland. Boxes provide definitions of key terms, practical tips, and brief narratives from students and practitioners describe the practical issues that they have faced in the field.
Creating Digital Resources for the Visual Arts by
This guide provides advice on legal issues such as Copyright and Rights Management when creating and using digital picture resources, technical advice on software and producing good quality images, standards for data documentation, project management, storage and preservation, and innovative creative techniques, including web design and virtual reality.
Data Collection and Management by
Tired of a trial-and-error approach to collecting and managing data? Data Collection and Management offers helpful information on managing research projects. By stressing how to use good standards for data collecting and processing, the authors cover such important how-tos as planning research activities; making budgetary decisions and keeping the budget under control; hiring, training, and supervising field interviewing staff; establishing whether interviewers are ready to start interviewing; and ensuring high participant acquisition and retention rates. The book also covers using computerized information systems for tracking data collected and the data management process. Proposal writers, principal investigators, graduate research students, and project coordinators of research requiring large-scale field data collection will find the book to be an indispensable tool.
Data Literacy: A User's Guide by
We are swimming in a world of data, and this handy guide will keep students afloat while they learn to make sense of it all. David Herzog, a journalist with more than 15 years of experience using data analysis to transform information into captivating storytelling, introduces readers to the fundamentals of data literacy. Assuming the reader has no advanced knowledge of data analysis or statistics, the book shows how to create insight from publicly-available data. Extensively illustrated, step-by-step instructions within a concise, yet comprehensive, reference will help readers to master: What data is and what it isn't, How to develop a "database set of mind," How to gather data, How to evaluate data, How to clean up "dirty data," How to visualize data, and How to use tools for data analysis and visualization.
Doing a Successful Research Project: Using Qualitative or Quantitative Methods by
Doing a Successful Research Project is a realistic, user-friendly guide on how to conduct a research project that talks at the student's level; akin to having a tutor right at one's side. It offers an accessible, even-handed introduction to carrying out research methods for undergraduate and postgraduate students conducting a research project for the first time. The research process--from planning, through design and implementation, to completion--is described simply and succinctly, with the emphasis throughout on good preparation. The book provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to carry out their own research project, as well as enabling them to assess for themselves the advantages and disadvantages of the differing strategies available.
Environmental Social Sciences: Methods and Research Design by
The relationship between human communities and the environment is extremely complex. In order to resolve the issues involved with this relationship, interdisciplinary research combining natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities is necessary. In this 2010 book, specialists summarise methods and research strategies for various aspects of social research devoted to environmental issues. Each chapter is illustrated with ethnographic and environmental examples, ranging from Australia to Amazonia, from Madagascar to the United States, and from prehistoric and historic cases to contemporary rural and urban ones. It deals with climate change, deforestation, environmental knowledge, natural reserves, politics and ownership of natural resources, and the effect of differing spatial and temporal scales. Contributing to the intellectual project of interdisciplinary environmental social science, this book shows the possibilities social science can provide to environmental studies and to larger global problems and thus will be of equal interest to social and natural scientists and policy makers.
Getting to Know Web GIS by
Contents:
Get started with Web GIS -- Hosted feature layers and storytelling with GIS -- ArcGIS Experience Builder and ArcGIS Web Appbuilder -- Mobile GIS -- Tile layers and on-premises Web GIS -- Spatialtemporal data and real-time GIS -- 3D web scenes -- Spatial analysis and geoprocessing -- Image service and online raster analysis -- Web GIS programming with ArcGIS API for JavaScript.
A Guide to Field Research by
This volume provides the new student with an accurate picture of the realities of doing field research. The author demonstrates that the stages in doing field research are not linear and step-by-step but rather overlapping, ongoing and reciprocal. Emphasis is placed on ethical issues and the many ways that status characteristics affect the process of field research.
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research: Essays & Bibliographic Sources on Research Design and Methods by
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research provides both novice and experienced researcher with valuable insights into a key list of critical texts pertaining to a wide array of social science methods useful when doing fieldwork. Through essays on everything from ethnography to case study, archival research, oral history, surveys, secondary data analysis and ethics, this refreshing new collection offers `tales from the field′ by renowned scholars across various disciplines.
Improving Survey Questions by
What is a good question? Although there are several potential sources for error in survey data, the validity of surveys depends on the design of the questions asked. This book shows how to word and format a question, write questions that will evoke the kind of answers for which they were designed, and empirically evaluate survey questions. In addition, the book covers topics such as how to write good questions aimed at collecting information about objective facts and events, how to measure subjective phenomena, some alternative methods for attacking common measurement problems; shows how to evaluate the extent to which questions are consistently understood and administered, and explains how to evaluate the data resulting from a set of questions. A clearly written book, Improving Survey Questions enables researchers and practitioners to write better survey questions and helps users of survey data to evaluate their data more critically.
Methodology: Who Needs It? by
The literature on social science methods and the issues surrounding them has grown massively and continues to increase. Yet many social scientists are ambivalent about methodology. For some, it plays a central, perhaps even an all-encompassing, role; while, for others, it is desirable only in small amounts, or indeed is regarded as an irrelevance, as a distraction from actually doing research. In this book, Hammersley argues that, in large part, this reflects and is part of a wider problem: the gradual decline of a previously influential academic model of inquiry. This has occurred as a result of ideological challenges and the erosion of the institutional conditions that support academic work. He defends this model, spelling out the demands it places upon social scientists, and examining such issues as the proper role of methodology, the nature of objectivity, the false idea that social scientists should be intellectuals or social critics, the dialectic of academic discussion, the ethics of belief, and the limits of academic freedom. More broadly, he also questions the role of the social research within society and what it means to be a social scientist in the 21st century. Hammersley′s book is engagingly written and controversial. It tackles the major issues of contemporary social research methodology head on and is an essential read for anyone with an interest in this field.
Pro Data Visualization Using R and JavaScript by
Pro Data Visualization using R and JavaScript makes the R language approachable, and promotes the idea of data gathering and analysis. You'll see how to use R to interrogate and analyze your data, and then use the D3 JavaScript library to format and display that data in an elegant, informative, and interactive way. You will learn how to gather data effectively, and also how to understand the philosophy and implementation of each type of chart, so as to be able to represent the results visually. With the popularity of the R language, the art and practice of creating data visualizations is no longer the preserve of mathematicians, statisticians, or cartographers. As technology leaders, we can gather metrics around what we do and use data visualizations to communicate that information. Pro Data Visualization using R and JavaScript combines the power of the R language with the simplicity and familiarity of JavaScript to display clear and informative data visualizations. Gathering and analyzing empirical data is the key to truly understanding anything. We can track operational metrics to quantify the health of our products in production. We can track quality metrics of our projects, and even use our data to identify bad code. Visualizing this data allows anyone to read our analysis and easily get a deep understanding of the story the data tells.
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods: From Hypothesis to Results by
Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods This user-friendly textbook teaches students to understand and apply procedural steps in completing quantitative studies. It explains statistics while progressing through the steps of the hypothesis-testing process from hypothesis to results. The research problems used in the book reflect statistical applications related to interesting and important topics. In addition, the book provides a Research Analysis and Interpretation Guide to help students analyze research articles. Designed as a hands-on resource, each chapter covers a single research problem and offers directions for implementing the research method from start to finish. Readers will learn how to: Pinpoint research questions and hypotheses Identify, classify, and operationally define the study variables Choose appropriate research designs Conduct power analysis Select an appropriate statistic for the problem Use a data set Conduct data screening and analyses using SPSS Interpret the statistics Write the results related to the problem Quantitative and Statistical Research Methods allows students to immediately, independently, and successfully apply quantitative methods to their own research projects.
Quantitative Research Methods for Communication by
Quantitative Research Methods for Communication: A Hands-On Approach, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and engaging guide to quantitative research. Drawing on their extensive research and teaching experience in the field of communication, authors Jason S. Wrench, Candice Thomas-Maddox,Virginia Peck Richmond, and James C. McCroskey encourage students to take an active, hands-on role in the learning process. After giving students the tools they need to locate, conduct, collect, and present their research, the text provides them with the opportunity to immediately apply these skillsin research scenarios.
Quantitative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by
A strong understanding and appreciation of statistics and quantitative research methods is vital to any graduate student of the social sciences, yet most similar texts do not adequately cover this subject. With this in mind, the author has designed a text suitable for first-year graduatesurvey courses that reviews general statistical theory and methods and explores the problems that quantitative social scientists face in conducting research. The topics covered in this book range from the philosophical basis of scientific research to issues of statistical inference, measurement,scaling, research design, sampling, and problems with missing data. Numerous examples are drawn from a range of specialties to illustrate a variety of practical applications. After providing an overview of the philosophical basis of quantitative social science, the book presents the concepts oftheory formalization and causality. It then moves into more specific areas, focusing extensively on issues of design and data collection. Quantitative Research Methods in the Social Sciences is accessible to students with an intermediate-level background in social statistics and research methods.Professionals will find this detailed yet concise book to be an excellent reference. With over 350 classical and up-to-date citations, Quantitative Research Methods in the Social Sciences has something to offer all social science researchers.
Quantitative Social Research Methods by
Quantitative Social Research Methods explores the entire spectrum of quantitative social research methods and their application, with special reference to the development sector. It provides detailed coverage of all statistical research and analysis method with an emphasis on multivariate analysis techniques, such as regression discriminant analysis, logistic regression, factor, factor, cluster, correspondence and conjoint analysis.The book is thematically arranged in two sections: the first section introduces development research techniques, explores the genesis and scope of social research, research processes and then goes on to explain univariate, bivariate and multivariate data analysis with the help of software packages such as SPSS and STATA. The second focuses on the application of social and development research methods in the development sector. It explores research method application and the issues relevant to aspects of development such as population, health and nutrition, poverty and rural development, education, water and sanitation, and environment and natural resource management.
Research Design by
This book provides the basis for deciding whether to use a qualitative or quantitative approach for the design of a research study and how to write up the results of a study for a journal article or dissertation. Addressing these issues, the author offers a guide to the major design decisions, such as deciding upon a paradigm, stating the purpose of the study, identifying the research questions and hypotheses, using theory and defining and stating the significance of the study.
Research Methods: the Key Concepts by
This invaluable resource provides a comprehensive overview of the many methods and methodologies of social research. Each entry provides a critical definition and examines the value and difficulties of a particular method or methodology of concept across different fields of social research. Concepts include: Action research Chaos theory Discourse analysis Epistemology Literature review Interviewing Social constructivism World view With thematic further reading stretching across the social sciences, Research Methods: The Key Concepts will help readers develop a firm understanding of the rationale and principles behind key research methods, and is a must-have for new researchers at all levels, from undergraduate to postgraduate and beyond.
Social Research Methods: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches by
At last, a social research methods text for students and future researchers who will need to use both words and numbers in their research. Using actual examples from psychology, sociology, anthropology, health, and education, the book provides readers with both a conceptual understanding of each technique as well as showing them how to use the technique.
H. Russell Bernard, author of the best-selling textbook Research Methods in Anthropology and a world figure in the social sciences, brings to the researcher and the student the excitement of the research act as never before.
Social Research Methods: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches by
This work offers balanced coverage of both the qualitative and quantative approaches to social research. New features for the second edition include a new glossary based on reviewer and student suggestions, and an expanded chapter on library research and writing reports.
Survey Research Methods by
Survey Research Methods presents the very latest methodological knowledge on surveys. Author Floyd Fowler provides students and researchers who want to collect, analyze, or read about survey data with a sound basis for evaluating how each aspect of a survey can affect its precision, accuracy, and credibility. The Fourth Edition has been updated in four primary ways: it much more prominently addresses the growth of the Internet for data collection and the subsequent rapid expansion of online survey usage; it addresses the precipitous drop in response rates for telephone surveys, particularly those based on random-digit dialing; it offers new and expanded coverage monitoring the continued improvement in techniques for presurvey evaluation of questions; and it addresses the growing role of individual cell phone in addition - and often instead of - household landlines. Two new chapters, "The Nature of Error in Surveys" and "Issues in Analyzing Survey Data," further emphasize the importance of minimizing nonsampling errors through superior question design, quality interviewing, and high response rates.
Theory and Methods in Social Research by
This new edition provides a scholarly and readable introduction to all the key qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and methods, enabling postgraduate and masters-level students and new researchers to reflect on which ones suit their needs and to receive guidance on how to find out more. With chapters written by experienced research practitioners, this second edition has been extensively expanded and updated. There are seven completely new chapters, as well as: new material on literature reviews a new introduction to quantitative methods an expanded glossary weblinks with free access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journal articles an annotated bibliography with conversational notes from authors in each chapter. This book will act as your 'expert friend' throughout your research project, providing advice, explaining key concepts and the implications for your research design, and illustrating these with examples of real research studies. Praise for the first edition: "Not merely a how-to book, it reviews the conceptual framework of research methods in the social and behavioural sciences and provides tangible stories from the field that illustrate the application of specific techniques and the process of conducting research. . . . This work affords a concise overview of qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the social science. . . . Highly recommended." R.V. Labaree University of Southern California CHOICE Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Turning Ideas into Research: Theory, Design, and Practice by
How do you turn a really good idea into a really good question, and how do you turn this into successful research? Barbara Fawcett and Rosalie Pockett use their expertise as supervisors and researchers to provide you with the frameworks and the theoretical and practical guidance you need to design, carry out and communicate your research effectively. Using a range of examples that relate research to the real world, they demonstrate: how to develop research questions how to select appropriate theoretical frameworks how to integrate theoretical perspectives with empirical research how to gather and interpret data how to ensure that the research undertaken makes a difference. The authors' user-friendly approach emphasizes the importance of participation, collaboration and inclusivity, and examines worldviews and understandings of knowledge in order to enable greater critical reflection. Chapters provide guidance on achieving impact with your research, and feature reflective questions to enhance your engagement with the issues covered. This text is the ideal companion as you set about transforming your ideas into robust research.
