Industry Background
- IBISWorld
Provides access to Industry Reports—full-text, fully searchable U.S. industry analyses, covering over 790 industries at the 5-digit NAICS level. Search or browse by industry (by NAICS code number classifications), or search by keyword or company name. UCSB's subscription also includes access to the U.S. Specialized Industry Reports; Industry Data Wizard; State Industry Reports; and the U.S. Business Environment Profiles (these are found under the tab "Industry Risk Ratings").
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging IndustriesCovers the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile global industries.
This was published in 2011, so not all industries are covered.
To do research on your industry, you must know EXACTLY what that industry is, and what vocabulary is used within the industry. Start by getting some background:
• Find your NAICS code
• Find your keywords - Encyclopedia of Global IndustriesCovers the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile global industries.
Tips for Business Source Complete: In the Search Options section, limit the Publication type to Industry Profile and/or Market Research Report to find reports on specific industries such as Food & Drink, Confectionery, and Menswear.
Trade Associations: Trade association web sites can be another excellent source of information on current industry trends and issues , marketing strategies, and other industry data. Use a search engine such as Google to look for trade associations by keyword (e.g., “beverage trade association”).
Industry Surveys and Websites
- Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys.These are IN PRINT in the Reference Section of the Library.
HC106.6 .S74 [Non-circulating] - Roper iPollSearch for public opinion on your topic using Roper iPoll. They will find questions that have been asked based on the keyword you search. To view responses, click on the magnifying glass.
- Market Research Guides 2015/2016Market research reports! Presents dozens of surveys analyzing consumer spending characteristics, behavioral responses, and preferences.
- Industrial Quick Search (IQS) DirectoryFind leading manufacturers, suppliers and distributors by industry
- ArcGIS OnlineA great way to pull up information about spending, demographics, and behaviors of people within a specific geography. Sign in with your NetID and password.
- California LaborMarketInfoThe State of California’s Employment Development Department offers a link to InfoUSA’s employer directory for the state as part of its Data Library. This database can be searched by keyword, NAICS code, county, or industry.
Business/Industry Codes
Industry codes are used to identify and define individual industries. Some of our business databases allow you to search by NAICS or SIC codes as a keyword. To find the appropriate industry code, please use the NAICS and SIC sources below.
- NAICS: North American Industrial Classification System (U.S. Census Bureau)[Ref HF1042 N67 2007]
Used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS replaced the SIC system in 1997. Use the NAICS Search to find the 2-6 digit code for your industry. - SIC: Standard Industrial Classification (U.S. Department of Labor)Last updated in 1987 and replaced by NAICS in 1997, SIC codes are 2-4 digit codes that define specific industries in North America.
Economic Census: Industry Snapshot
The Industry Snapshots present key statistics from the Economic Census and per capita ratios using data from Population Estimates for a user-selected industry.
Industry Statistics Portal: Business Data from the U.S. Census Bureau: This application provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry.
Citing Industry Reports
If using IBISWorld Industry Reports:
APA Format:
Last name (Year). Report Number: Report Name. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.
MLA Format:
Last name, First name. “Report Number: Report Name”. IBISWorld. Month of report. Year of report. Web. Date accessed.