Getting Started
The resources on this page will help you get started researching private equity and venture capital. You can find some information on companies, news, deals, statistics, and trends.
UC Library Search
Search suggestion
Find even more books in the UC Library Search catalog, try these searches:
Books
The Business of Venture Capital by
The new edition of the definitive guide for venture capital practitioners--covers the entire process of venture firm formation & management, fund-raising, portfolio construction, value creation, and exit strategies Since its initial publication, The Business of Venture Capital has been hailed as the definitive, most comprehensive book on the subject. Now in its third edition, this market-leading text explains the multiple facets of the business of venture capital, from raising venture funds, to structuring investments, to generating consistent returns, to evaluating exit strategies. Author and VC Mahendra Ramsinghani who has invested in startups and venture funds for over a decade, offers best practices from experts on the front lines of this business. This fully-updated edition includes fresh perspectives on the Softbank effect, career paths for young professionals, case studies and cultural disasters, investment models, epic failures, and more. Readers are guided through each stage of the VC process, supported by a companion website containing tools such as the LP-GP Fund Due Diligence Checklist, the Investment Due Diligence Checklist, an Investment Summary format, and links to white papers and other industry guidelines. Designed for experienced practitioners, angels, devils, and novices alike, this valuable resource: Identifies the key attributes of a VC professional and the arc of an investor's career Covers the art of raising a venture fund, identifying anchor investors, fund due diligence, negotiating fund investment terms with limited partners, and more Examines the distinct aspects of portfolio construction and value creation Balances technical analyses and real-world insights Features interviews, personal stories, anecdotes, and wisdom from leading venture capitalists The Business of Venture Capital, Third Edition is a must-read book for anyone seeking to raise a venture fund or pursue a career in venture capital, as well as practicing venture capitalists, angel investors or devils alike, limited partners, attorneys, start-up entrepreneurs, and MBA students.
ISBN: 1119639689Publication Date: 2021
Private Equity by
"Private Equity" is an advanced corporate finance book that integrates a range of topics from a private equity investor's perspective. The book presents a set of cases used in the Private Equity Finance class, an advanced elective course offered in the Harvard Business School MBA elective curriculum. The structure of the book follows the timeline of a typical investment. Starting with deal sourcing, due diligence and valuation, followed by execution of the transaction, including issues related to capital structure and governance, the book transitions to examining operational changes and management of the capital structure, closing with a set of cases related to exit. Intended for readers interested in working for private equity firms, investing in private equity as limited partners or providing investment banking or consulting services to private equity firms, "Private Equity" is also appropriate for readers who are interested in a more detailed exploration of corporate finance.
ISBN: 9781783089161Publication Date: 2019
Venture Deals by
Get the inside scoop on what venture capitalists want to see in your startup as you hit the fundraising trail. This is the highly anticipated third edition of the best-selling book which has become the definitive resource for understanding venture capital fundraising. Whether you are an entrepreneur, lawyer, student or just have an interest in the venture capital ecosystem, Venture Deals is for you. The book dives deeply into how deals are constructed, why certain terms matter (and others don't), and more importantly, what motivates venture capitalists to propose certain outcomes. You'll see the process of negotiating from the eyes of two seasoned venture capitalists who have over 40 years of investing experience as VCs, LPs, angels, and founders. They will teach you how to develop a fundraising strategy that will be a win for all parties involved. This book is designed to bring transparency to the venture capital funding process and includes such topics as: How to raise money; What terms matter and which ones don't; How to negotiate a fair deal for everyo≠ What makes venture capitalists tick, including how they are compensated and motivated; How companies are valued by venture capitalists; How all current structures of funding work, including convertible debt, crowdfunding, pre-sales and other non-traditional methods; How these particular issues change through different stages of financing (seed, early, mid and late); and How to avoid business and legal pitfalls that many entrepreneurs make. And as in the previous editions, this book isn't just a one-sided opinion from venture capitalists, but also has helpful commentary throughout from a veteran CEO who has raised many rounds of financing from many different investors. If you are ready to learn all the secrets and ins and outs of fundraising, Venture Deals is an essential read.
ISBN: 1119259754Publication Date: 2016
Venture capital : the impact of asymmetric information on optimal investments, learning and exit outcomes by
1 online resource (151 pages)
ISBN: 9783896737533Publication Date: 2019
Vc by
A major exploration of venture financing, from its origins in the whaling industry to Silicon Valley, that shows how venture capital created an epicenter for the development of high-tech innovation. VC tells the riveting story of how the industry arose from the United States' long-running orientation toward entrepreneurship. Venture capital has been driven from the start by the pull of outsized returns through a skewed distribution of payoffs?a faith in low-probability but substantial financial rewards that rarely materialize. Whether the gamble is a whaling voyage setting sail from New Bedford or the newest startup in Silicon Valley, VC is not just a model of finance that has proven difficult to replicate in other countries. It is a state of mind exemplified by an appetite for risk-taking, a bold spirit of adventure, and an unbridled quest for improbable wealth through investment in innovation. Tom Nicholas's history of the venture capital industry offers readers a ride on the roller coaster of setbacks and success in America's pursuit of financial gain.
Call Number: Main Library HG4751 .N525 2019ISBN: 9780674988002Publication Date: 2019
Venture Capital and the Inventive Process by
The inventive process is the most important driver of economic growth. Venture capital (VC) funds have contributed a small, but critical, part to the inventive process. VC funds boost the inventive process by selecting a small number of radical ideas out a large flow of ideas and invest in their testing, development and commercialization. They bring together capital from general savings, management capabilities and business experience. When successful, VC-backed companies can contribute substantially to the welfare of society. In this book, VC funds are discussed in the context of macroeconomics, industrial organization, financial intermediation and financial economics. The authors adopt a comprehensive overview to provide clearer insight into the role of VC funds in the capital market and the way they operate.
Call Number: Main Library HG4751 .A37 2016ISBN: 9781137536594Publication Date: 2016
Article Search
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Provides company information including market data, competitors, company profiles, financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
General Outlook
- Amerrican Investment Council (AIC)"The American Investment Council (AIC) is an advocacy and resource organization established to develop and provide information about the private investment industry and its contributions to the long-term growth of the U.S. economy and retirement security of American workers."
- The Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness IndexThe website has the results of a comprehensive and long-term research project on how to measure the attractiveness of a country for investors in Venture Capital and Private Equity assets. The project was initiated at IESE Business School Barcelona in 2006 with a European pilot study.
- International Private Equity and Venture Capital Valuation (IPEV) GuidelinesThe guidelines set out recommendations, intended to represent current best practices, on the valuation of Private Capital Investments.
- Wharton Private Equity ReviewThe Wharton Private Equity Review, published annually by Knowledge@Wharton in conjunction with the Wharton Private Equity Club, has an overview of recent trends in private equity investment.
- Invest EuropeInvest Europe is the world’s largest association of private capital providers.
Statistics
- American Investment Company ReportsThe AIC produces reports that inform readers about private equity investments.
- National Venture Capital Association (NVCA)The National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) is the voice of the U.S. venture capital and startup community. The NVCA advocates for public policy that supports the American entrepreneurial ecosystem.
- Angel Market Analysis ReportsUNH Center for Venture Research has some market analysis reports.