Company Information
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, websites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Provides company information including market data, competitors, company profiles, financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Includes 3 primary collections: 1) full-text news sources (U.S. and international) 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents - U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews.
- Business FilingsList of each state's database of available business filings.
- EDGAR (Company Filings from SEC.gov)Annual reports from 1994-present are often available here. 10-K filings are Annual Reports, 10-Q filings are Quarterly Reports.
- Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys [Ref HC 106.6 S74]Classifies U.S. economy into 52 industries, with detailed essays on each. Includes statistics on major companies in each industry. Includes index by named company.
- Standard & Poor's analysts' handbook [Ref HG4905 .A66]For 100 sector/industries, stock prices, volume, dividends, etc.
- PrivCoA platform with company profiles, industry reports, basic investor search, company financials and many more. The basic subscription is free but has limited information.
Free Websites for Company Profiles
Company directory that covers startups and other private companies. It also offers free or discounted access to its data through its Academic Research Access Program (faculty and graduate students only).
IQS is a directory of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada. Industrial engineers and buyers rely on IQS Directory to specify products within categories and buy products directly from manufacturers.
Kompass is an International directory of producers, distributors, service providers, exporters, and importers.
This is a directory of US manufacturers, distributors, and service providers. Searchable by brand, product, and company name.
Comprises company information (description, financials, news, etc.) and market data (stock and mutual fund performance).
An open database of companies in the world
Business/Industry Codes
- North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS)[Ref HF1042 N67 2007]
Used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC was replaced by the NAICS starting in 1997, but data is still available with SIC-based codes.