LibGuides: Chemical Engineering: Articles

Find Articles

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
New user? You must register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to begin. Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. Searches Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area. Also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature.
SciFinderⁿ allows searching by author, topic or chemical substance in the Chemical Abstracts Service databases:
- CAPLUS: covers journal articles, patents, conference papers, technical reports, dissertations and more.
- CAS REGISTRY: covers over 100 million substances with links to commercial availability information and regulatory information for many substances, and an ever-growing array of calculated and experimental property data for many substances.
- CASREACT file: includes single and multi-step organic reaction records and detailed reaction information for selected reactions.
- MARPAT file: includes searchable Markush structures from chemical patents. Many patents are linked to PatentPak full text.
- MEDLINE database: the world's biomedical literature.
SciFinderⁿ includes structure drawing tools for structure and substructure searching of chemicals and reactions, and similarity searching of organic compounds. It also provides a Retrosynthetic Plan tool to help you create synthetic paths to a desired substance.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering thousands of journals and other publications. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, and indexing/abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, chemoreception, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, oncogenes, entomology, and endocrinology neuroscience.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. Includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to US Federal government technical reports in science and technology. Indexes reports and provides PDF copies of some reports. Note: While access is free to the public, you must register with NTRL to gain access, and you may only download five reports per session. Also, free access is only available within the borders of the United States of America.
Date Coverage: 1964 - present (index); 1995 - present (full-text PDFs)
Materials Indexed: Technical Reports
Preprint Citation Index
Indexes preprints from five major repositories: arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv and Preprints.org. It provides a version history of preprints (where applicable) and links to citing preprint references as well as to citing references in journal articles, conference papers, and patents.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Indexes the work of authors from graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Starting with the 1980s records include abstracts of the works. Our subscription gives UCSB users access to UC dissertations in full text 1997 forward.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books across hundreds of disciplines.
Web of Science consists of the following databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Sciences
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities
- Book Citation Index - Science
- Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Index Chemicus
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
- Zoological Record

Collect and Organize Your References in a Personal Database

EndNoteWeb
- Create a personal database file of your favorite references by importing answer sets from catalogs and article indexes
- Generate bibliographies automatically formatted in your desired style (e.g. ACS, CSE, APA)
- Access your fles from any Web-connected computer.

Evaluate Journals by Impact Factor

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis of the article publication and citation patterns of major journals in the sciences and social sciences. Information available for each journal includes the total number of article published, total citations to articles from the journal, Impact Factor (ratio of number of citations to number of articles), Immediacy Index, Journal Half-Life, Impact Factor Trends and more. These indices are widely used in comparing and evaluating scholarly journal quality.