Streaming Media at UCSB Library
The UCSB Library provides access to streaming videos, including educational and feature films, through its subscription services and databases.
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new windowThis online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts plus 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies in Video is a collection of more than 200 featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowContains dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowContains more than 500 hours of classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
- Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy provides streaming access to educational videos from producers including Criterion Collection, PBS, Great Courses, Kino Lorber, BBC, A&E, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and others. Only videos currently licensed by UCSB Library will be listed after UCSB patrons are authenticated.
- Academic Video Online (AVON)
Provides on demand access to videos spanning a wide range of subject areas, including documentaries, instructional videos, clinical videos, news, and artistic performances.
- Docuseek Complete CollectionOver 2,000 streaming films with a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more. Films have a perpetual license and features include closed captions, subtitles, searchable and interactive transcripts, capability for clipping, citation, and playlist creation.
- Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowContains five hundred hours of 290 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International PropagandaComprised of 20th century documentaries, newsreels, and feature films created in the communist world and later modified with English language enhancements for distribution to Western audiences. All 2,000 films come from 16mm and 35mm reels held in the ETV-Plato Films collection which was donated to British Film Institute (BFI) archives in 2003 by British communist Stanley Forman.
- Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of television news from major U.S. national broadcast networks, covering special reports and periodic news broadcasts. Most any content that is not available to stream online can be requested for loan in a physical format. Contact your Subject Librarian for assistance.
- medici.tv
Audio-visual collection of classical music with concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films, and artist profiles, available on demand.
Need Help?
Ask a Librarian!
- 24 hours a day
- 7 days a week
- Note: You will be chatting with a librarian from another library
- Get help by email within 24 hours
- Your question will be answered by a UCSB librarian
- A list of common library questions arranged by popularity, or search for your particular need.