TV Forecast (January 10, 1953)
Trade magazines and other industry literature are
key primary sources for the study of television history.
These sources are good places to start for many research topics including finding reviews, ratings and box office data, advertisements, and information about production and distribution.
Trade magazines are written by industry representatives, and it's not uncommon that an author is not named. Articles are written to share industry information including trends, products, and techniques. Articles in these publications are written for people within the industry using technical language or jargon. References are provided via contextual referrals to other works, and the publications are reviewed by one or more editors employed by the publication.
Popular magazines are written by journalists, or a writer whose specialty is writing, not necessarily in the field that they are reporting. Articles are aimed at a general audience and written without using technical terms, or will define technical terms if used. The articles are reviewed by editors employed by the magazine, and referrals to other works rely on contextual information in the text.
Search Tips
Search these magazines for the names of people, places, and things.
Examples: production titles, directors or actors, TV network call-signs, the name of a production company or studio, etc.
Pay attention to the dates of the articles and use your date filters to make sure the results fit your time period of study.
Selected Resources
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Billboard (1894-1960)
Broadcasting (1931-1933)
Broadcasting, Combined with Broadcast Advertising (1933-1936)
Broadcasting, Broadcast Advertising (1936-1945)
Broadcasting, Telecasting (1945-1957)
Broadcasting (1957-1993)
The Stage and Television Today (1959-1994)
Broadcasting & Cable (1993-2000)
Variety (1905-2000)
Broadcast (1973 -2000) -- UK
Television Mail (1960-1973) -- UK - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowBillboard (1994-2017)
Broadcasting and Cable (1996-2020)
Television Quarterly (1989-2010, 1998-2010) -- citation/abstract only
Variety (2000-2017)
Box Office (2006-2017)
Broadcast (2010-2015)--UK
- Media History Digital LibraryMost of the resources focus on early Hollywood or motion picture films rather than television and some publications have only limited issues available online, but there is some cross over, especially in the Broadcasting & Recorded Sound Collection.
Hollywood Studio Magazine (1966-1972)
National Association of Educational Broadcasters Newsletter (1930-1967)
Radio Age (1942-1957)
The Radio Annual and Television Year Book (1949-1964)
Sponsor (1946-1964)
Television Digest (1945-1963)
TV Forecast (1948-1953)
TV Guide (1953)
NBC Chimes (1947-1956)
Television Programming Catalogues (1957)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowAdvertising Age (1992-present) -- full text
AdWeek -- select full text available
Hollywood Reporter (2008-present) -- abstract only 1995-2008
Box Office Pro -- provides access from 2014-present on their website
Broadcasting & Cable -- look to the Entertainment Industry Archive for historical publications
Hollywood Reporter - look to Business Source Complete for older publications
TV Week (previously TelevisionWeek) -- moved exclusively online in 2009
Variety -- look to the Entertainment Industry Archive for historical publications
Video Age International -- provides access to content from 2015-present on their current website and 2002-2015 on their old website.
Although some trade magazines are available in full-text through online databases, others are only available through the library in print or on microfilm. Some magazines, such as American Cinematographer (1920-present), can be found on different formats for different time periods of the magazine's publication.
Example:
American Cinematographer
Microfilm: Microfilm Area TR1 .A5335
Print: Sciences & Engineering TR1 .A5335
Online: Performing Arts Periodical Database (1972-present) and Hathi Trust Digital Library (limited)
- Bioscope
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .B57
1908-1932
- Dramatic Mirror
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN2000 .D73
1879-1922
- Educational Screen / Educational Screen & Audio-visual Guide
Call Number: Microfilm Area LB1044.A2 E4
1922-1971
The second title has the same call number and will be in the same drawer. - Exhibitor’s Herald / Motion Picture Herald
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .E93
1915-1950
Changed names many times, all have same call number and will be in sequential order in the drawers. - Film Daily Yearbook
Call Number: Microfilm Area PB1993.3 .F53
Including Wid’s Yearbook (1918-1922), Film Yearbook (1922-1927), and Film Daily Yearbook (1928-1969).
- Hollywood Reporter
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .H5
(1930-1958) Microfilm: PN1993 .H5
(1959-1990): NO ACCESS
(1999+) Online - The Kinematograph weekly
Call Number: Microfilm Area TR845 .K47
1919-1959
- Motion Picture Classic
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .M4
1915-1931
- Motion Picture Herald, see Exhibitor's Herald
- Motion Picture Magazine
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .M86
1911-1928
Motion Picture Story Magazine / Motion Picture / Motion Picture Magazine - Moving picture stories, a weekly magazine devoted to photoplays and players
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .M85
1913-1929
Not to be confused with Motion Picture Story, above. - Moving Picture World
Call Number: Microfilm Area PN1993 .M88
1907-1927
- Photoplay
Call Number: Special Collections PN1993 .P52 [Non-circulating]
1916-1940
To view materials from Special Collections, please make an appointment with that department.
Need Help?
Ask a Librarian!
- Open 24 hours a day,
- 7 days a week.
- Get help by email within 24 hours.
- A list of common library questions arranged by popularity, or search for your particular need.