Oral History Interviews
American Masters Digital Archive includes unreleased interviews with musicians, filmmakers, artists, historians, writers, comedians, journalists and others that were originally recorded for PBS American Masters documentaries. The collection includes 1000+ records from more than 40 episodes.
British Entertainment History Project - "For the past thirty years, The British Entertainment History Project has been recording the stories of men and women working in the UK film, television, theatre, and radio industries to ensure that information on their lives and experiences is preserved for future generations."
The Hauser Oral History Collection (The Cable Center) -- audiovisual histories from more than 360 industry members
The Interviews: An Oral History of Television (Television Academy Foundation) -- includes video recordings of oral histories from individuals involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry.
Directors Guild of America Visual History Program - Founded in 2000, the DGA’s Visual History Program has conducted more than 200 interviews with directors and director’s team members discussing their careers and creative processes in film, television and other media.
The Living Room Candidate (Museum of the Moving Image) -- presidential campaign commercials (1952-2020)
Television News & Public Affairs
Vanderbilt Television News Archive - The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
Firing Line (Television program) broadcast records (1966-1999) - includes digital copies of select records from the larger collection
American Archive of Public Broadcasting - Search the AAPB Online Reading Room for online access to some of the digitized collection for private research, educational and informational purposes. The AAPB has also curated exhibits that feature content on topics of historical significance.
Community Access and Independent Television
Preserving Guerrilla Television (UC Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive) - View raw footage that was recorded for three of Top Value Television's broadcast documentaries: Four More Years (1972) follows the well-oiled Republican convention that nominated Richard Nixon and Spiro Agnew, and The World's Largest TV Studio (1972) documents the Democratic convention that put George McGovern and Thomas Eagleton on the ballot. Gerald Ford's America (1975) finds these Portapak-toting "freex" embedded in the White House during the turbulent one hundred days following Nixon's resignation. As part of this project, several thousand pages of archival papers, including scrapbooks and snapshots by TVTV, have also been digitized and made available online.
Just for the Record (Amistad Research Center, New Orleans, LA) - Just for the Record, "Lesbian and Gay Television," was a monthly program produced on Cox Cable Channels 42 and 49 in New Orleans from 1987 to 1993, and was one of the city’s first LGBT+ television shows, covering both local and national topics of interest to the gay and lesbian community.
UCLA Film & Television Archive provides access to a selection of episodes from Insight (1960-1983), a religious anthology program and a highlights from their collection of more than 80 episodes of the anthology drama U.S. Steel Hour (1953-1963)
KEYT-TV Television News Tape Library - A collection of more than 2,5000 videotapes created by the Santa Barbara ABC affiliate, KEYT-Channel 3 from 1982-1995. They contain the archived copies of local television news segments, news magazines, and other programming. Scans of inventories from 1986-1995 can be viewed online. The KEYT-TV News Film Collection held by the Film & Media Studies Department Archive does not yet have a publicly searchable inventory. Contact Laura Treat (firstname.lastname@example.org) for more information or with questions about the news film archive.
Brad Lemack Collection, 1970-1985 (PA Mss 58) - Collection of teleplays, press kits, syndication kits and pilot production notebooks from Embassy Television and Tandem/T.A.T., including scripts for 227, Little house: a new beginning, and press kits for Archie Bunker's place, Diff'rent strokes, Gloria, One day at a time, Silver spoons, The Facts of Life and more
Cal Naylor Production Files, 1981-1982 (PA Mss 16) - Production files for 18 episodes of the 1981 television show, “Hill Street Blues” including the budget, location information, cast and crew, production reports, miscellaneous memos, and scripts.
Dame Judith Anderson Collection, 1915-1980s (PA Mss 6) - Papers of the Australian born actress noted for her stage, radio, and television work, includes scripts, photographs, scrapbooks, and correspondence.
Law & Order production scripts (PA Mss 86) - Production script library for the Law & Order franchise includes scripts, shooting and location schedules and other production information
Robert B. Sinclair Teleplays Collection, 1957-1962 (PA Mss 12) - Annotated teleplays for 1950s and 1960s television series directed by Robert Sinclair.
UCLA Performing Arts Collections - Review their helpful guide to conducting television research within their library's collections.
UCLA Film & Television Archive -TV collections include DuMont TV, the ABC-TV Collection, over 10,000 commercials, Hallmark Hall of Fame, and a collection of Golden Age anthology dramas
USC Warner Bros. Archives - Includes extensive production records for Warner Bros. television series (1955-1968).
Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archive, Asian CineVision Records (Chinese Cable Television, 1977-1983)
The Walter J. Brown Media Archives News Film & Peabody Awards Collection
Wisconsin Center for Film & Theater Research - Search archival holdings relating to the entertainment industry include more than 300 collections related to the American film industry (1930-1960), American popular theater (1940s-1950s), and American TV (1940s-1970s). Materials preserved including historical records and personal papers, motion pictures, television shows, photographs and promotional graphics, and sound recordings. Their digital exhibits also offer a glimpse into the breadth of materials available in their collections and how they are being used by researchers.